We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet and peaceful but very well located for...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Croft

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful but very well located for amenities and coast”
Reviewed March 3, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Many refurbishments and updates since my last stay in October 2017. Wonderfully warm on arrival despite the Beast from the East in full swing .Cosy cosy. Thanks to Simon. Everything one needed on site . Had lovely meals at the Plough , including the dogs,and nearby pubs. Very friendly village. Shop a bonus too.

Visited with three old friends and hope to visit again when weather is better as there are lots of things to do for all ages in the area. Garden space for dogs and good walks nearby. Bempton Cliffs well worth a trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2018
I'm pleased that this guest appreciates the improvements which have been
made recently. More improvements to come.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
4
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Natalie C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good size, needs a good clean”
Reviewed November 2, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
4
people found this review helpful

the positives about this house, great location in a lovely village with 2 lovely pubs and a great location for day trips to whitby and Scarborough. but the negatives do outway all of this.
the house is a great size but its in desperate need of an update, like furniture, wallpaper, kitchen and bathroom.
we could cope with the drowny musty appearance but it was dirty and full of cobwebs. all the stuff in kitchen needed a good scrub b4 use and none of us darent use the shower in main bathroom because small and filthy used on in ensuite instead.
my mother-in-laws quote was would b good if saw some cillit bang and elbow grease.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2018
Problems at the time finding a good cleaner. Now resolved.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“COMFORTABLE STAY”
Reviewed October 20, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I have to admit that after reading the last review, I was rather apprehensive as to what The Croft would be like. I can't say I was pleasantly surprised, but the house wasn't too bad. There were 8 of us staying there, plus my 1 year old granddaughter.
We all agreed that the house had character. The lounge was a good size and very comfortable, as were the bedrooms and kitchen. The grass had been cut in the garden, so was good enough for us. Our criticisms would be, the shower cubicle is very small, and the water pressure isn't great. The shower over the bath is only good for hair washing really. The house could be cleaner I have to say.
The lighting in the kitchen and dining room is dim. Could do with a light over the cooker. And on our last night, while making sure that no toys had rolled under the sofa, discovering a load of slug pellets. Not a good idea with young children staying in the house.
As a family we did enjoy our stay. The area is lovely and the people friendly.
The house is definitely in need of some TLC though.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrinkledT...
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tired Old House”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
11
people found this review helpful

10 of us (six adults and four young children) stayed at The Croft for a week in Aug. to celebrate my wife’s 65th birthday.
On arrival we were surprised to find it was in fact a themed house.
Having never stayed in one before we were amazed how accurate the owner had managed to replicate The Bates Motel from the film Psycho. The peeling wallpaper, dead flies and spiders in the corners of the rooms, cob webs everywhere... a touch of genius.
The overgrown garden added to the authenticity.
The one criticism I would have on the accuracy of the illusion concerns the showers. Unfortunately this let down the whole theme.
The shower cubicle in the main bathroom although smelly and unclean ,anti slip mat mouldy with piles of hair underneath, still failed to accurately replicate the shower in the film as the water only came out very intermittently and when it did only in a dribble. The same problem in the en suite of the master bedroom (Although this shower was over a bath and did have the authentic shower curtain)
It would appear from previous reviews of The Croft that the poor water pressure in the showers has been a problem for some time but unfortunately has still not been rectified. I believe a new boiler will soon be installed so this may improve the problem.
Some people, in their reviews, thought the whole themed concept fun and thought the house was “characterful “or “quirky”
I’m afraid that we, unfortunately, didn’t buy into the fantasy and just thought the house was tatty and grubby.
I’m sure that had we fully embraced the spirit of the illusion it would have made our stay more enjoyable.
We did in fact though look forward, in eager anticipation, every morning to following the shiny silver trails on the lounge carpets, left overnight by the resident slugs. If you stay at The Croft look out for them. !!! (Hours of educational fun for the children)
On a positive note the house is in an ideal quiet location in a charming village. The bedding was clean as were the towels and the owner, Mr. Dawson, was a very affable chap and was quick to reply, by email, to any queries we had.
There are two pubs within a short stroll and The Plough does excellent food although the menu is limited what they offer is good. The landlord at The Nags Head is a friendly chap and although the pub is not one of the more modern types it’s a good place to have a drink. (A proper pub)
Would we stay again? We would all have to say no.
We all agreed that conventional, boring, clean and tidy is for us and leave the concept houses for those who enjoy the experience. If the owner were to consider abandoning the idea of a themed house and reverted The Croft back to a more traditional let we would, maybe, have a rethink as the whole area is great.
I would just like to say that my review isn’t entirely accurate as the rooms and shower in The Bates Motel weren’t in fact that bad.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnP1969
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky and comfy”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My family and I Stayed in this lovely house for a long weekend It was lovely.
There is plenty of space for all 10 of us to roam around either staying together or having our own privacy. The gardens are large with plenty of space for children to play and dogs to run around. The bedding was clean and the beds were comfy. The kitchen was clean as were the bathrooms
The only let down was the shower it is very slow with very little pressure but the bath fills very quickly.
It is an old building and does need TLC in some areas but we were very comfy and cosy and overall very happy with our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2017
Good that this party were happy with the house.
I will look into the shower issue. It might be that the pump
is not kicking in as it should, in order to increase pressure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2017
Glad this party enjoyed their stay.
I hope they will come back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing