We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait for your Meal”
Review of Gourmet Meat Company - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gourmet Meat Company
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wait for your Meal”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Your meal is cooked to order.The food was well worth the wait.The hog roast and chips were lovely.And the gammon was tasty and tender.Will definately eat in this establishment again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie_norris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“firt timers”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good central location. Breakfasts were good but they use VERY cheap nasty margarine on the toast - this really spoiled the food and I could not get rid of the taste.
If they cant afford butter or at least buttery spread, they should offer fried bread instead.
Took ages to get served but the waitress was very apologetic and courteous.
Huge pot of tea and more sugar on request :)
On paying, the other young girl at the till began arguing over what we had eaten, insisting we had 2 large instead of 1 small 1 large. This was a bit embarrassing as the downstairs till area was packed with diner.
Toilets were nice and clean but rude waitress at the till combined with the veryyyyy slow service has put us off returning

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brits-on-a-Budget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lost the will to live”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We went here for lunch with my mum, dad, sister, brother-in-law, niece and 16 month old son. we had booked a table in advance and When we arrived there was one other person in the restaurant. We were shown to the table and the waitress took our order. We specifically asked for our starters and the children's meals to come out ASAP. Despite this after a one hour wait there was no sign of any food. We had to ask where the food was and after a further 15 minute wait some of our food arrived. However the order was incorrect and so some of our party had to wait even longer to get their food - still incorrect but at least it was food! The waitress was utterly hopeless and there was no apology for either the wait or the wrong food. She is completely in the wrong job! The food was ok but not as good as the previous year when we visited. We will not be returning and I would recommend that you avoid this unless you have hours and hours to kill. Really disppointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank candyfloss507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We travel over to Filey from Manchester throughout the holiday season and have only just discoverd this place. The only thing I can say is that the burgers are the best I have ever tasted. The kids meals are made fresh as well not cheap processed rubbish. Try it - you won't be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macca123c2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best tasting burgers, breakfasts & hog roasts!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Cannot sing the praises of this establishment high enough! at last a reasonably cheap cafe/restaurant in scarborough that really delivers on it's promises, the breakfast's are the best in the area, the burgers are the best I've ever tasted! and I'm sat here drooling just thinking about the hog roast sandwich!
Can't wait til the weekend when I get my weekly fix of fresh tasty quality meat..... nom nom nom

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Meat Company also viewed

 
Potter Brompton, Scarborough
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing