We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great grub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antons Cafe Bar Grill

Antons Cafe Bar Grill
Ranked #89 of 353 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a brand new restuarant it used to be called cielos but been taken over and it is lovely, complete refurb with quality furnishings and we went there last night the food was brilliant and service second to nonewant to wish Anton and all his staff all the best for there new venture.Ken & Irene
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We've been here a couple of times now and enjoyed the food both times. Steaks and the surf and turf have been had both times and they've been top notch! Nice decor and friendly staff. A bit on the pricy side but if you're on holiday it's ok!

Helpful?
3 Thank Andrewefoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    75
    40
    23
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service and excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

The staff were all friendly and helpful. Great coffee at lunch time so we returned the same evening for food. It tasted as good as it looked!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Steaks in town!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

My favourite restaurant in Scarborough the steaks are supplied by a local farm and cooked to perfection!! The scampi as a starter or a main dish is fantastic, it was cooked in a crisp delicate batter and very succulent. The Spanish music also adds to the atmosphere of this fabulous building. Can’t wait to return !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 406adriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OK.. for Scarborough!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Saturday night visit, this place is acceptable at best.

Don't get me wrong, its fantastic for Scarborough - but nothing more - and compared to what else is on offer within the town, it is over priced for the food quality received.. but the atmosphere and environment is good.

The staff are all extremely friendly and the service is simple and no fuss approach - and just about the right speed.

We both had a enjoyable night in the there, but I do think more focus has been placed on the look and style of the building, and not enough focus on the food.

The meals we had were good - but I wasn't wowed and they certainly didn't have the long lasting memory factor - which is why I mentioned about being slightly overpriced for what it is, I have eaton in many places like this, with better food and much cheaper. Most bistro pubs offer more.

I think the menu needs to reviewed, and certainly as it overlooks the harbour more effort could be put in to a specials board - not just one item.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank atunstall-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

have reviewed here before but quite a while ago, it's just as good as before, brilliant steaks done to perfection for me, atmosphere is good, staff friendly. Careful you have to book in advance though but we'll worth it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank darkymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antons Cafe Bar Grill also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Antons Cafe Bar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing