We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of Miaz - CLOSED

Miaz
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Recently opened new restaurant
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visited this new Indian Restaurant twice . First night excellent. Second night we turned up after walking out of Tuscany Ristorante earlier in disgust, and went straight to Miaz as we knew we wouldn't be disappointed. Food is fantastic! Whilst they have a standard Indian menu, the chef specials are unusual and tasty. Be beware..... Huge portions, good quality meats and fish. House wine good too. Service second to none, and the whole place is immaculate! I would recommend this place to anyone, and can't wait to go back, litho ugh I won't order as much food! Ps prices very fair!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HOLIDAYNANA198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“VERY POOR FOOD”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

on a weekend trip to scarborough with friends. went to miaz on friday night, restaurant itself very nice but the waiter we had was a bit unfriendly to say the least . lager he brought was lifeless and went flat very quick.Beware of chicken puree,, which is chicken chaat, it was half prawn,, if you are allergic to prawn ,, like me, then it is not for you, other starters ok, main course, i had south indian garlic, which was tasteless, no garlic of any kind,really very bland, all 4 of us found their food tasteless, what is the point of having nice crockery if food poor, most off the maincourse was left, a big disappointment, we just paid our bill and left , not even a goodbye.
Just have to say as we found, not impressed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DTBluebells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

After going to see The Happy Monday we decided to go for an Indian, and this was the first one we came to we got the set menu the one that starts at 10: o clock we did have to ask for it and I do think they were a bit reluctant that we did not order off the normal menu and I can see why, it is excellent value for money we had loads and we left without us having dessert which was also included in the price It was one of the nicest Indians I have had in along time (apart from when I was in Goa), and would go again when in Scarborough

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshire9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A tsunami of oil”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having had a little spare time to browse the various Asian Restaurants of central Scarborough on Easter Friday we decided on Miaz. The prices looked good but as the saying goes "You get what you pay for"

The starters were very very poor, for instance my choice of Anarkoli Chicken was missing several ingredients but made up for this by providing me with an unbelievably large coating of oil over the dish. I don't like to make a fuss so decided to let it pass & made the best of the dish whilst looking forward to our choice of main courses.

We had decided on a Miaz house special, basically a sizzling dish comprising of chicken, lamb, prawns, onions & more oil than Zero Piper Alfa had ever mined. My Wife's Chicken Jalfrazzi was once again another dish completely ruined by a crazy amount of oil.

This all got too much & we pretty much picked at the meal for a while trying to salvage what we could from the puddles of grease.

As mentioned I don't like to make a fuss but as the manager came to enquire as to how the meal was? I decided to tell him. Unfortunately his idea of dealing with my complaint was to chuckle a little whilst telling me the Chef must be over run & was being a little heavy handed. The "little heavy handed" statement was very patronizing. No apology or offer to make amends in any way shape or form was offered.

We were so annoyed we just paid the bill & left. Also watch out for the trick of charging you for the un-ordered pickle tray that comes as standard at most of the restaurants we use.

The one good thing to come from the experience was that I thought I would make my first ever Trip Advisor review.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankSpanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bland takeaway but pleasant onion bhajis”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Ordered takeaway, and it was mostly poor, with almost totally milk Butter chicken and a chewy chicken rogan josh. A shame really, it actually looks lovely inside, and very polite staff, and good prices and efficient service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msnickybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miaz also viewed

 
Potter Brompton, Scarborough
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing