We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treat”

The Scarborough Fair Collection
Ranked #3 of 87 things to do in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Scarborough Fair Collection hosts a magnificent working collection of Vintage Cars, Steam Engines, Vintage Fairground Rides and Mechanical Organs topped off with a 2 'Mighty' Wurlitzer Organs in our spacious ballroom. We host tea dances every Wednesday afternoon and Michael Lester playing the "Mighty" Wurlitzer every Thursday afternoon.Our unique venue is also available for private hire and wedding receptions. We have special events throughout the year and a Christmas Spectacular Show
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden treat”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Great attraction, wonderful cars, bikes, traction engines and tradiational fair ground rides, oh and the odd organ! Friendly staff and a good value cafe.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebecca r, Public Relations Manager at The Scarborough Fair Collection, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Glad you liked it. If you are particularly interested in organs we have mechanical organs playing every day we are open and the best time to catch the Wurlitzer in action is Wednesday and Thursday Afternoons or all day Saturday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    90
    26
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“interesting visit”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

good day out not that expensive i found very interesting and kids like it too, got free tokens for ride on hobbie horses, cafe on site not to expensive with home baking and very nice sandwiches

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nightnursescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebecca r, Public Relations Manager at The Scarborough Fair Collection, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
You probably spoke to one of our fantastic volunteers who are always happy to chat and show you round. You will be glad to hear we now have a card machine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting, Helpful Staff”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a very interesting collection of old fairground rides, organs and steam machines of various kinds. It was quiet when we visited and one of the staff members took an interest in us and operated the rides and organs and explained about the history of various machines. Excellent service - it made our visit. There is a nice café and they do organ recitals and tea dances at various times if that's your sort of thing. The only slight downside was that they don't take cards so make sure you take enough cash with you (£20 for a family of 4 plus a few pound coins for ride tokens).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahbarnes52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best trip we have had”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I took a group of elderly people here yesterday as they hold tea dances on Wednesdays and Sundays and we had a fantastic time. The museum was great and we have never laughed so much for a long time getting some of them on the carousel horses. The food at the tea dance was excellent and plentiful. An unusual and very good place for a trip. The tea dance is from 1-4 so we arrived around 12.30 looked round the museum then ate and listened to the music and watched the dancing then went back into thee museum for the rides. We left just after 3 which allowed time for a couple of hours in Scarborough too.

Although this was a party for ages between 65 - 93 all ages would enjoy the museum and rides

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank polibrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebecca r, Public Relations Manager at The Scarborough Fair Collection, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your trip. We are always happy to help people on and off rides - there's no rush.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

What was there was good, but didn't entertain us for long, especially as literature mentioned 'day out' - more like 1 - 2 hors max!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jillybuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scarborough Fair Collection also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Scarborough Fair Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing