We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not spectacular”
Review of Mother Hubbard's

Mother Hubbard's
Ranked #13 of 363 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok, but not spectacular”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Called in about 5pm. Restaurant was about half full. Clean and tidy although the table I chose needed a wipe.
Order - fish cakes and chips (£6.25), a slice of bread and butter (40p) and a pot of tea (£1.20) - was taken promptly and tea (two bags - good and strong) arrived straight away.
The fish cakes, although quite thin, lived up to their description - lots of fish in fluffy potato. The chips were rather average (cooked but pale) and the plate quite small. The salad garnish was a waste of space.
Reasonable value for Scarborough.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    123
    33
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“worth the walk from the front”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

we normally have our fish and chips on the front at scarborough but we are finding it difficult to get any sort of quality now..harry ramsdens has been awfull both times we visited so we usually use bamfords wich are ok but that's like most now they are ok.this was lovely.i have walked past it for years looking in window and only seeing stairs..this time we went inside and was shocked by how big it was ..we got the lunchtime special which was fish and chips tea and bread and butter for a great price of £7.95 I didn't notice at the time we could have included pudding at an extra £1..very good value and very good quality..service was great and now we know we will use everytime we visit..so much better than the front and if you go by train you will go past it as you walk down ...highly reccomend

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank markrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“If you love fish & chips then go to Mother Hubbards.”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Quite simply the best fish & chips in town. The tea time meal deal is a bargain at £6.50 which includes fish & chips, bread & butter, and a pot of tea.
If you love fish & chips then go to Mother Hubbard's.
The restaurant is on the first floor, but they have recently installed a lift.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The food is freshly cooked and of excellent quality and value. The fish and chips are delicious. This restaurant is centrally located and has been recently refurbished. There is a modern glass lift access for people with mobility difficulties and is tastefully decorated with plenty of tables. Service is very good. The restaurant closes at 6.30pm.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Artannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent alternative to the sea front restaurants”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Despite being an hour from closing Mother Hubbards was bustling with a wide range of people. Our group of 9 was quickly seated and the evening special at a little over £6 each wad exceptionally good value. The three children all ate their entire meals and children and adults alike enjoyed their food. A few more staff would have speeded up the meal but otherwise excellent!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother Hubbard's also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Mother Hubbard's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing