We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good fish and chips”
Review of Mother Hubbard's

Mother Hubbard's
Ranked #15 of 358 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good fish and chips”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We found this restaurant quite by accident and I'm so glad we did. As the other reviewer said they are in the middle of refurbishment, but you really wouldn't know as it doesn't affect the good service. The lift is in place now and the regulars seem to like it, the staff are helping them use it until they get used to it.
We had the seasonal special also, lovely freshh cooked fish, delicious, but we were in for a real treat as there was rhubarb crumble on the menu for dessert and it was just lovely, the custard came in a jug on the side and was rich and creamy and the crumble looked like it was wholemeal, it was delicious, and another good cup of tea!
They do other things on their menu also, not just fish and chips, and they have a bar too.
Will definitely visit again

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LellyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    121
    33
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Possibly the best fish and chips ever.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were in Scarborough waiting for our tyres to be fixed after getting a puncture in Whitby. We were recommended Mother Hubbards when we said we would go and get some lunch whilst waiting. We chose the seasonal special; Medium haddock and chips with bread and butter, tea or coffee and bread and butter pudding or lemon possett to follow. All for £8.25. The batter was so light and crisp with the largest, whitest flakes of fish and delicious chips. We chose the lemon possett as a light dessert to finish and the citrus cream was a perfect finish to a beautiful meal. If we are ever in the area again we will be sure to visit.
The restaurant is upstairs but do not be put off if you have walking difficulties as they are in the process of total refurbishment which includes putting in a lift.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“This place gets better and better !”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is where to go in Scarborough for the best fish & chips ! My husband and I both had the lunch time special, which is fish, chips, mushy peas, bread and butter plus a pot of tea. The fish is so white, flaky & delicious ! Yummy chips and hot enough to make a delicious chip butty so the butter melts. ...... Go and see for yourself ......

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Best Fish and Chips!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have been visiting lovely Scarborough for many years, and since we discovered this wonderful fish and chip restaurant we always make sure we go to Mother Hubbards every trip.Lovely fresh fish and chips with bread and butter and a pot of tea, this time we chose the lightly battered fish which was absolutely delicious. Its always spotless and is great value for money.There are always plenty of regulars in there, a sure sign of quality. I wish it was nearer home!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 52redfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“fish and chips”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Lovely fish and chip restaurant in Scarborough center, worth a visit for fresh fish and chips, good value too

Helpful?
Thank gaynor w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother Hubbard's also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Mother Hubbard's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing