We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not enjoy the meal” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mother Hubbard's

Mother Hubbard's
Ranked #18 of 353 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
scarborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Did not enjoy the meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

My son treated me to a meal at mother hubbards in scarborough all that i can say is we both did not enjoy our meal the peas where cold and did not taste very nice , the chips tasted like they had been cooked and then been cooked again and were very tough and cold, the fish was not hot but warm . The only thing i can say is that the pot of tea was very nice the bread and butter was nice and the staff where very good. but dont think i want to visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    111
    31
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tea Time Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

One of the great pleasures of a visit to the seaside is Fish and Chips. In the summer best from the paper looking out to sea but December means going the whole hog. Inside a restaurant with tea bread and butter. There is no better 'Plaice' than Mother Hubbard's in Scarborough. It's just down from the Railway Station on Westborough. I recommend the tea time special after 3pm. Not too crowded so the service was very prompt. I recommend the haddock(creamy white fish in a light crispy batter) chunky thick chips(not greasy) good strong tea and a choice of brown or white bread and butter. Great prices great food great reataurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnA56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dewsbury
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“scrummy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

When we visit Scarborough, we almost always visit mother Hubbards, where the fish and chips are A1, but also the bread and butter pudding with custard is to die for

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirepudding64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent fish & chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was my first visit and was recommended by a friend. I found it very busy but the service was reasonably quick. The fish & chips were very well cooked, with a lovely crisp batter on the fish. With tea/coffee and bread and butter, the price was very reaonable too so will definately go again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Recommended to me..And having been I now recommend as this was a truly wonderful meal and the staff were so helpful. Other Fish and chip restaurants could take a leaf out of this establishments running. Thank you to all staff.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chapelfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother Hubbard's also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Mother Hubbard's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing