We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!!”

The Albemarle Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Albemarle Hotel
Ranked #176 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by what seemed to be a crazy guy with a sanitary towel on his elbow explaining he had fallen from the scaffolding outside. Was not checked in had to ask a guest when breakfast was. There was drug paraphernalia and residue in the drawer in the room in which my son found. No hot water, shower running hot and cold no toilet tissue in toilet and breakfast was small and cold.The crazy guy was loitering outside our room at 2 am we could hear him pacing up and down outside our room laughing and turning taps on and off was really scary had to close window as he appeared to like climbing.

Room Tip: Would nor recommend any rooms here was more like an asylum
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulietteHowick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

when i booked a room for me and my boyfriend for august bank hol i stressed that we would not be arriving until late evening as we were both working a full day. i was told this would not be a problem but when we arrived at 7pm our room had been let to someone else, we were shown another room but just as we were about to say ok were told we could not have that either as the people who had booked it had now arrived . no appologies staff very un friendly un helpful and didnt give a dam!! we had travelled 120 miles and now had to go back home as all other hotels were fully booked due to it being bank hol

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michellehollingworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed at the Albemarle Hotel in January 2012 with another couple for 2 nights. We were told that there was parking and a permit would be provided - this did not happen and unless you have a permit you have to move you car after 3 hours - not good - thoguh the owner did give us some money back to park our car at a local car park within walking distance.
Our bedrooms was poor, not particularly clean [though luckily the bedding was] and we had no hot water on the second day.
Breakfast was interesting... I could not face eating anything apart from the toast and an egg on the first day [but no egg on the second as it tasted 'odd'], my husband and the other couple did eat their breakfasts but were all ill afterwards with bad stomachs.
Also, at the time we stayed, the owner of the hotel had a contract with the local social services to house homeless persons, this made us feel very uncomfortable on the first night we stayed as one of these persons kicked off in the hotel and outside and the police had to be called.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeicesterBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: wszystkie pokoje sa z widokiem na kamienice z naprzeciwka - ostatnie pietro, to czesciowo widac morz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GrzegorzCyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
4.1 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
50 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,935 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#53 of 183 in Scarborough
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albemarle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albemarle Hotel

Address: 22-23 Albemarle Crescent, Scarborough YO11 1XX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $73 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Albemarle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Albemarle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing