We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to break up a shopping trip”
Review of Taylors

Taylors
Ranked #80 of 357 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place to break up a shopping trip”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This place gets so busy at lunchtime, quite often you have to navigate chairs and bags. For a fmaily this place doesn't really work. The backroom has low chairs and tables and you can't really eat lunch easily, but since the food is good you make do.

Recommend stopping by when the weather is cold for my favourite thing on the menu which is the hot chocolate. I hope they never change it, its so good!!

I had a cheese and mustard scone that was so huge. the portions of cake was massive and a little off-putting by the size. However the food is always good and would recommend for a light lunch. This place also has the added benefit of being licensed - another plus for lunchtimes ;-)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mistykerry8015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    32
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Haven +heaven +amazing”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Where to start ? Absolutely amazing place , friendly ,clean and outstanding service
This is my little get away that I found by mistake a year ago well just after it opened and since have shared with friends
Recommend cakes (fab) hummus pitta delicious ;-)
Sadly I never made the evenings but much looking forward to this place opening again for evening drinks, meals so cosy and relaxing

Honestly don't just take my word for it find this little haven on bar street your be so pleased you did !

Ps don't forget to venture upstairs and have a look at the books and gifts

Helpful?
Thank darranjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“What a classy little cafe!”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Taylors is a delightful, relaxing and stylish family-run cafe right in the centre of town. It gets busy as it is very popular but if you glance through the windows and all the tables are full don't despair, there is more seating further inside. It has a period and cosmopolitan feel to it. We had ciabattas with salad, and coffees which were delicious. My cappuccino was one of the best I've tasted. The home-made cakes also looked very tempting - next time! Taylors has an alcohol licence, is open some evenings, hosts literary events regularly and also has a book and gift shop. What a classy little cafe!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank has2bperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“If its full, be patient, it's worth it”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Taylor's appeals to all generations, it is always busy because it offers so much choice, quality food at good value.
The staff are young and vibrant but so happy to chat and answer any questions. Upstairs there is a small book store and local produce can be bought from a central table display.

Give this delight a try, I would say it really is worth a visit, during the day and for an evening meal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great by day and by night.”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Visited Taylors at lunchtime. The atmosphere was buzzy and service friendly and efficient. The nettle soup was delicious and complimented by the warm bread made on the premises. We enjoyed it so much that we returned for an evening. The house red was great value and the menu of english 'tapas' was a welcome change - the 'mini-burgers' are to die for. My husband - not normally a 'desert' fan - is still waxing lyrical about the chocolate torte with rum and raisins. The local art work on display adds to the ambience - we will definitely return on our next visit to Scarborough.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sybil2932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylors also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Taylors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing