We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing compares”
Review of Harbour View Cafe

Harbour View Cafe
Ranked #20 of 358 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing compares”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stumbled upon this cafe when it started to rain whilst on Scarborough beach and decided to have some lunch whilst taking cover. I have to be honest, this isn't the most appealing place to look at and seeing the steps up to it and the surrounding harbour buildings we nearly turned around but figured the advertised fish and chips in this place must be the ultimate in fresh - and we were right! These were the most beautiful fish and chips we've ever tasted. The fish, which was bigger than any I've had on Scarborough seafront, and anywhere else for that matter, still smelt of the sea and was melt in the mouth, the batter was light and crisp and the chips were proper homemade, perfectly cooked chips. The staff were lovely and unpretentious, only interested in getting the food cooked and served, and, as there was a wait for the food to be cooked to order, without being asked, brought our toddler son a few chips to keep him going until our order was ready - a kind, thoughtful and appreciated gesture.
The cafe is small so I can appreciate that at peak times it will be full but it is well worth the wait. The reviewer that walked out and was never going to return as it was 'not their kind of cafe' really shot themselves in the foot and obviously didn't think things through properly (cafe serving fish and chips on Scarborough harbourside full, ummmmhh??!!)
We will definitely be going back next time we're in Scarborough and will be recommending it to all fish and chip lovers. Can't imagine anything will ever compare.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank sore_fingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    74
    17
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“......Must have picked an 'off day'”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

'Read our reviews on Trip Advisor' the back of the menu says, which I did and had great expectations.
Entry is via metal steps and on opening the door you are greeted by surroundings akin to a clean greasy spoon.
Four of us visited here, we all plumped for fish and chips, mushy peas, bread & butter & a mug of tea. The mug of tea was excellent, the fish and chips mediocre.
Very small portions of chips, fish looked ok, but the batter was rock hard and there was far too much of it. It encased a very small thin portion of fish. Everyones was the same, mine was not a one off.
Left disappointed. I wanted to show my friend who was across from Florida decent fish and chips, this place did not live up to expectations.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Annual pilgrimage. Great to be back again”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were recommended this place on our first family holiday in this area. We've never been disappointed and today marked our 4th annual visit to fill up on the beautifully fresh fish and chips. The fact that it was cooked to order so quickly this year was a bonus. Staff are lovely and if you happen to stumble into here on a busy day, it's well worth the wait! Can't wait for next time. The kids won't ever let us come to Scarborough without eating here!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never disappoints.”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We live in Scarborough and use this and several other cafes in the area. The Harbour View Cafe is one place where you can be assured of a good, freshly cooked meal at a very reasonable price.
I can not understand a recent reviewer saying that they walked in and back out because every seat was taken and they would never go there again without even trying the food.
In my opinion a rather pointless review. Surely the fact that every seat was taken speaks volumes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KeefyGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

On a daytrip to Scarborough and on arrival needed a quick coffee and bacon sandwich so tried the Harbour View Cafe. The welcome was great, all smiles and very helpful, great sandwich and great value, so good that we returned after our photo shoots around the harbour area and tried the fish, chips, mushy peas with a slice of bread. This was incredible and beat anything we had experienced in Whitby or anywhere. The chips were obviously made from fresh potatoes and tasted just like my mother used to make! The batter was light and crisp and the fish melted in the mouth. Ok I can see some people may be put off from the stairs and layout but they will have missed out. One point is get there before 2pm or you will miss probably the best fish and chips in Yorkshire.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour View Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Harbour View Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing