We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our must do things is fish and chips here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbour View Cafe

Harbour View Cafe
Ranked #25 of 352 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Barnsley
Level Contributor
113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“One of our must do things is fish and chips here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Lovely fish and chips, large portions and friendly staff. We return every time we visit Scarborough. The entrance puts people off but go up its worth it :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbinsandBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    72
    17
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good Fish And Chips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I went to this Cafe with my mum and my friend and it is not really a fish and chip shop, however it is probably the best place to eat fish and chips in Scarborough compared to the other cafes. it should be where the other fish shops are... So if you're in Scarborough go to the harbor veiw for fish and chips!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great little cafe overlooking the harbour. Don't be put off by the iron steps to the first floor, this is definitely worth a visit. The fish and chips were cooked to order and were excellent and at 2 meals for £10 fantastic value. The staff were friendly and welcoming too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rbscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was the best fish and chips we have ever had in Scarborough. Big portion and really good value. Beautiful fresh fish with crispy batter and the best chips on the East Coast! (Apparently the breakfasts are great too) You must visit the Harbour View before going anywhere else - its better and cheaper than those on the main promenade.Dont get drawn in by anywhere else! Overlooks the harbour, behind the lifeboat house above the fish market. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend were visiting for the day and decided to go for dinner we looked up on trip advisor to find the best place to eat. We seen this cafe was number 1 so we decided to give it a go. The staff were very friendly and the cafe was nice and warm after being out in the cold. We ordered fish and chips with bread and butter and I can honestly say its the best fish and chips I have ever had so tasty! If we are in the area again we will definitely be back really good value for money too! Thankyou

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour View Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Harbour View Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing