We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Meltham Guesthouse
Ranked #51 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lovely Guesthouse”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed one night Friday 13th.
Arrived 10:30am, having phoned the night before to say we would be arriving early to maximise our visit. The Owner gave us a warm welcome, allowing us to put our belongings in the room (3), she also gave us a parking permit for our stay.
The room was on the 1st loor at the back, so reasonably quiet, clean & comfortable.
Breakfast was cooked really well, with good quality produce. Filter coffee was good (not bitter).
Nothing was too much trouble, we chatted to the Owner at the end of breakfast about all the amazing places to eat & drink.
We will definately book again for our next jaunt to Scarborough.

Room Tip: Room 3 matress was a bit soft for us. Advised to book Room 5 next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeessideTurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
27
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I recently stayed for 3 nights at The Meltham. I found it spotlessly clean, lovely room everything I needed was there. I was made to feel very welcome by Alison. All in all exceptional value for money and highly recommendable. Have stayed in a few places in Scarborough and this is the best. I will be back here again when am in Scarborough.
Thanks Steven...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed with my daughter, granddaughter, and little dog and I cannot fault this guesthouse. It has to be the cleanest place I have ever stayed in. It looked as though it had been fully decorated throughout, and it met all our needs. Breakfasts were yummy......first class! Alison and Mark made us feel very welcome and they did all they could to make our stay a pleasant one. It is just five minutes from the beach, and Peasolm Park is only five minutes away too. The weather was fantastic, it just couldn't have been any better. We had a great stay and we will definitely be back. Thank you so much Alison and Mark for everything.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but I would just say, book early if you can as they seem to get full quite q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twoladiesandadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our second visit to the Meltham was just as good as the first .

Alison is a fantastic host , so accomodating and friendly -nothing seems too much trouble .

Once again she arranged early breakfasts for the swimmers which set them up nicely for the day before their early start. Very handy for the beach, peasholme park,open air theatre and the pool .We recommended this b&b to others in our squad who also stayed - all of us have already booked in again for next year !

immaculate rooms , comfy beds and lovely freshly cooked food -what more could you want !

Room Tip: room 4 has kitchenette facilities in little adjoining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GATEFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Meltham is a wonderful guesthouse. Everything you could want in a guest house. The hosts are very friendly and happy to help. Good rooms and breakfast. I would definately stay again and can't recommend it enough. EXCELLENT! And only a short distance from the open air theatre (about 5 - 10 minute walk).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tartanlass-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

A great little guests house in scarbourgh go there every year for the last few years.
Welcoming clean and a great breakfast.
The location is good for the north side just down the road to park and just round the corner to the front and beech

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank honda1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just had our 2nd stay at the Meltham, and again it was excellent. Clean room with a good size bathroom. Breakfast is fab...cereals full English toast ect normally at 9am, however Alison is very accommodating and will do breakfast earlier if required. Location is ideal for Alexander Bowl, cricket and near to to Peasholme Park. Parking permits are available for the length of your stay and are free. Highly recommend guest house, we will be returning in the near future.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gailcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Almar
The Almar
#7 of 183 in Scarborough
552 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#9 of 183 in Scarborough
316 reviews
1.2 mi away
Powys Lodge
Powys Lodge
#33 of 183 in Scarborough
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 183 in Scarborough
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beaches Bed and Breakfast
The Beaches Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 183 in Scarborough
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 183 in Scarborough
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meltham Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meltham Guesthouse

Property: The Meltham Guesthouse
Address: 3 Victoria Park Avenue, Scarborough YO12 7TR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meltham Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Meltham Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing