We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go there”
Review of The Anvil Inn

The Anvil Inn
Ranked #55 of 363 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $58
Cuisines: European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: 300 Year old former forge now a beautiful country dining pub. On edge of forestry in a typical Yorkshire village. We serve stylish modern European food and a wide selection of drinks including cask ales from North Yorkshire. We are Good Food Guide and Michelin recommended. Booking essential.
Haemeenlinna, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just go there”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We ate there twice and went to a party where Anvil Inn did the catering. None of these was a dissapointment but an experience I can recommend to anyone.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    42
    20
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hämeenlinna, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“My best gastronomical (and otherwise) pub experience this far”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I would not have believed that I could find this kind of great experience 8 km's from the nearest small town centre in a small village couple of kilometers from the nearest little bit bigger road...

This pub itself is a reason for a trip.

We ate here twice - or actually three times: first birthday dinner, then there was a wedding party which catering was served by the restaurant, and finally bbq-party after the wedding in the pub and its courtyard.

Everything worked fine: the service was fast and exact, the meals were great combinations of both in visual and tasteful meanings.

This is a restaurant I can easily recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CrossroadsObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“favorite place to eat”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We have been visiting the Anvil for many years and are never disappointed amazing food and and great service one the best places in the area

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kersty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
741 reviews
525 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Very good food but need to book”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This was our first visit to The Anvil having read others reviews it lived up to expectations. It is very popular and a couple who arrived at the same time as having not booked were disappointed not to able to get a table. It is closed on a Monday and Tuesday. The menu was excellent and our food was lovely though we did have to wait a long time, we were told because they were very busy. The food was worth waiting for and went down well with a delicious glass of Malbec sold by the glass. We would recommend it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A terrific find - booking essential!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We found The Anvil with an optimistic Google Maps search on our last day staying in Scaborough and were lucky enough to snaffle a table for two in the bar that night. Booking is not just advised but absolutely essential, as we witnessed some disappointed visitors unable to get a table that evening.

It always bodes well for the food when you arrive to find the chef pottering about in the herb garden, picking handfuls of parsley and salad. The welcome was delightful and - in the bar at least - The Anvil clearly pride themselves on being a village pub as well as a high-quality food producer. A number of local real ales are on tap, but the landlady is clearly knowledgeable about wine, and I gather there is a substantial champagne cellar as well.

We both had three courses of excellent quality. I visited a Michelin-starred gastropub a few days later, and the food at the Anvil was equal, if not better. The stand-out for me was the home-cured salmon starter, served with sushi-style accompaniments. It didn't really need them: the salmon is rich, fresh-tasting and sweet and only needs a slice of rye bread really. My pork-belly main was served on a deliciously-rich lentil stew, and the cheeseboard ticked all the right boxes, serving three excellent cheeses at room temperature with plain biscuits (thankfully, not an assortment of Jacobs) and not too many frills. My wife enjoyed all three of her courses, from a pig's cheek fritter, through chicken in lemon butter (although the potato-and-bacon rosti stole the show), and a novel and fun passion-fruit baked alaska.

It was busy in the bar and easier to order extra drinks at the bar rather than wait for service, but I have no problem with that at all.

Given the quality of the food, the prices were very reasonable indeed and I have been recommending The Anvil to all and sundry ever since.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ousgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anvil Inn also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Anvil Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing