We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good coffee”

Clayton's tea rooms
Ranked #27 of 30 Coffee & Tea in Scarborough
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: lovely welcoming, freshly made sandwiches, good value for money
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“good coffee”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

managed to get a table on armed forces day, everywhere very busy, two coffee,s and home made scones with jam and cream, under £7, good value. scones really nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julieh629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Traditional Tea Room”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Clayton's Tea Room is a small tea room/café. The food menu is as you would expect from a small tea room sandwiches, cream teas, jacket potato. Drink again are tea, coffee, hot chocolate, squash, pop etc. The food and drink was good which is the main thing, the café itself is a little dated, and the toilet is like an outside toilet but inside!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious Fresh Scones, Friendly Service and Little Evidence of 'Portion Control'”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Three of us popped in to this small, independent cafe 29/7 during our first visit to Scarborough; what an interesting resort! We needed something light before a pre-lunch boat trip around the bay. The fresh, plain scones with strawberry jam and cream on offer really did fit our bill to a 't'. Simply delicious they were - and good value. Two teas and a coffee met our expectations. The sandwiches we saw coming out from the adjacent food preparation area to other customers were nicely presented and of good size. Well worth a visit, the cafe is located a short walk away from the hustle and bustle of the front and enjoys the mid-day sun (a point to bear in mind when considering where to sit). The menu was easy to read, a good selection of items - and the staff we spoke to were pleasant and helpful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnandkathbiscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“How not to treat your customers”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The tea and coffee we ordered were fine but the proprietress was extremely rude, we got told off for putting our bags in the wrong place, and another customer got told off because their order had been taken down incorrectly, as if it was the customer's fault! Meanwhile in the kitchen, which is in the same room but partitioned off, another staff member was cursing the cling film which wouldn't cling. There was a bad atmosphere; we wanted to use the toilet before we left but didn't dare ask where it was - going down to the sea front and paying 40p for the public ones was a better option!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loughrigg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe shop”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Behind foreshore behind leeds chip whop off busy main road. Friendly staff decent choice of meals but lovely cakes worth visit alone.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clayton's tea rooms also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Clayton's tea rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing