We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A curry with a difference”
Review of Rice & Spice

Rice & Spice
Ranked #26 of 357 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A curry with a difference”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Having lived in Bradford and Huddersfield this restaurant offers something quite unique. We had the Sri Lankan curry which was very aromatic and tasty. The service was brilliant and very friendly, with good advice on what to choose. We would highly recommend this for something a little different. The only negative is that is that it is cash only other wise it would be a 5 star.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    93
    32
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Really Excellent Meal”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I went to Scarborough for the Cricket Festival and had planned to viusit several restaurants with good reviews on Trip Advisor. The Curry Leaf was far and away the best. I was there early on a Thursday evening so was the only customer. I received very good service. I started with Chilli Paneer, wehich came in a very generous portion and was beautifully cooked. I had a Sri Lankan lamb curry which was also exactly spiced and the lamb was very tender. I don't usually have a dessert, but on this occasion I tried Watalappam. Which was sweet confection of coconut, cinammon and other tasty ingredients. It made an excellent finish to the meal, all washed down with a pint of draught Cobra.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanPHurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“top notch food”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

been here twice now and both times excellent
went last night and it was very busy but didn't need wait long for the food
the food was excellent
well worth a visit if your in Scarborough
Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PoPpEr1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Interesting place - spicy!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Went here for an early evening meal one Saturday. There were only us and 1 other table in.
Service was really quick and the food was good - it is very spicy though so be warned. I asked for a mild dish and still had to ask for extra yoghurt as it was so spicy - still tasted good though.
There wasn't much atmosphere when we were there but I think that was because we ate so early!
Nice place and would recommend to others.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Sri Lanka Restaurant”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Have eaten there on 2 or 3 occasions with friends. Not only is the food excellent but very interesting and diverse - a great gastronomic experience. The staff who served us were always polite, friendly and helpful. To top it all the food is not too expensive either. Excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice & Spice also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Rice & Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing