We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sri Lanka Restaurant”
Review of Rice & Spice

Rice & Spice
Ranked #25 of 357 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Rotherham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Sri Lanka Restaurant”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Have eaten there on 2 or 3 occasions with friends. Not only is the food excellent but very interesting and diverse - a great gastronomic experience. The staff who served us were always polite, friendly and helpful. To top it all the food is not too expensive either. Excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    94
    32
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb meal ”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

First time at the curry leaf and it won't be the last Sri Lankan cuisine at it's best sea food thalli was out of this world once I had been told how to eat it it was presented on a stainless steel tray with a dozen small crucibles I was waiting for a plate when the waiter told me to empty the crucibles on to the tray and mix them all together the result was beautiful textures and flavors I will be back in September as as I am a auto 66 Marshall at Oliver's mount for the Steve Henshaw international gold cup races

Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, Co Durham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best food in Scarborough”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Visited our son in Scarborough and again visited this restaurant for the fourth time. The owner and chef Dharma is in a class of her own and a lovely person.
The three of us had the Thali again, two chicken and one lamb, and it was superb as usual. I mentioned that I was going to try the Khari lamb, so Dharma made my lamb in that style, beautiful.
There was a lovely atmosphere, with most tables being used. It was also nice to see families with children trying the food.
I would recommend the Curry Leaf to all lovers of Indian/Sri Lankan food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharpleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
284 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“IF YOU LIKE INDIAN FOOD YOU WILL LOVE SRI LANKAN CUISINE!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Visited again last night. The food once again was out of this world. The chef and owner is a genius with spices and flavours and the Thali is exceptional. Wine was great and not expensive and the service was very good. I only had Thali as my main course having tried and failed previously to have starters and desserts and a Thali. To anyone who has loves Indian food you really want to try Sri Lankan cuisine. It has so much more flavours and is equal to a great Indian meal if not better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireFellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

I rarely leave reviews on trip advisor which should be a good indication as to the quality of this restaurant.
Looks can be deceiving and it easy to miss The Curry Leaf nestled away in the back streets of Scarborough. I am so glad I found it, what food!!! Without question the best Indian food I've ever eaten and I've eaten a lot!
So many interesting flavours rarely found in the "usual" curry house.
Authentic home cooked Indian food.
You've gotta try this one!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank alistairjbown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice & Spice also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Rice & Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing