We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Talented performances of the highest standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of YMCA Theatre

YMCA Theatre
Ranked #29 of 79 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The YMCA Theatre is very popular with locals and tourists alike. It is very youth and community orientated and see's performances presented throughout the year by local groups of all age ranges. The theatre also boasts its own in house production company (YMCA Productions) whom present many productions; including Pantomime, Easter Production and Summer Season. It has a very busy schedule. The auditorium seats 290 patrons on tiered seating. It is fully Air Conditioned and has a deaf loop installed. It is very well equipped technically with computerised lighting and sound systems. The Theatre is also fully licensed serving wines, beers and sprites 1 hour before each performance.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Talented performances of the highest standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Can be a great night (or afternoon) out. The standards are far higher than you will go expecting so be prepared to be astounded. In a good spot and excellent venue all round.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank juliejules2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCATheatre, Manager at YMCA Theatre, responded to this review, June 22, 2015
HI juliejules2 - thanks for your kind words. I'm glad you enjoy your visits to the YMCA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    16
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Kids and adults having fun.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

When we first moved to Scarborough my wife signed the kids up to various drama groups including at the YMCA. We ahve since been to numerous events here. It is an amateur theatre but it has professional standards and a great work ethic. They run a summer production and a pantomime both of which are well worth seeing. They also have numerous evenings of other entertainment. If you are in Scarborough with kids and it's miserable out get down there and cheer yourself up. It is a great little theatre and has a cafe. It is all run by amateurs but what a great institution it has become!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCATheatre, Manager at YMCA Theatre, responded to this review, June 22, 2015
Hi Jon b - many thanks for your kind comments. I'm glad you enjoy visiting us at the YMCA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hmm not the usual quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We go to the YMCA Theatre to see a show each time we visit Scarborough. Usually we have a brilliant time but this time felt a little let down I am sad to say. This show on over Easter was just not up to their usually shiny, polished and fast moving pace we have come to expect. It wasn't that we didn't have a good time, it just left us feeling let down some how after seeing much, much better productions previously. Hopefully this was just a blip and the performances will be tip top and zipping again for the summer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank YorkshirePonygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCATheatre, Manager at YMCA Theatre, responded to this review, June 22, 2015
Hi YorkshirePonygirl - I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy this particular production. I hope on all of your other visits that you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great show for teenagers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Came across this theatre on our short break. So glad we booked tickets for the show that evening. My two teenage daughters loved it as it featured St Trinians and Shrek, while I was extremely pleased with the Les Mis section of the show (although Master of the House was missed!). There are some Weak vocalists but they seem to know where their strengths are and give more floor space to the more talented. It was good to see a full range of ages and sizes although the one adult male was kept rather busy - come on the males of Scarbrough, put on your dancing shoes ...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teachertourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCATheatre, Manager at YMCA Theatre, responded to this review, June 22, 2015
Hi Teachertourer - thanks for your kind words. I hope you've had the chance to come and see one of our shows again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Always a good night of entertainment, a lot of talented people, the shows are always of a first class performance. Reasonably priced too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank laurin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCATheatre, Manager at YMCA Theatre, responded to this review, June 22, 2015
Hi laurin m thanks for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed YMCA Theatre also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to YMCA Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing