We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Guest House”
Review of The Beaches

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Beaches
Ranked #7 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at The Beaches Guest House. The room was lovely and modern and extremely clean.

Sharon and her hubby were lovely moving their cars to ensure we could park our car and went our of their way to give us a lift to a nearby country fair.

We will be staying again next time we visit Scarborough and would recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Scarborough.

Room Tip: No 5 was a beautiful room with a little balcony and a sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael Wayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 280 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

The rooms are lovely arranged. Everything is clean and at the moment we arrived, we felt very comfortable. Breakfast was my favourite. The owners are very friendly and sympathetically. There is just a five minutes walk to the beach and the town centre is about 10 minutes walk away. This is the best B&B I've ever been to. We had a great time in Scarborough at the Beaches! There is no better adress to stay at!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antje K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay. From the moment you walk through the door, you are made to feel welcome.
The room that we stayed in was light and airy and most importantly, very clean.
The bed was very comfortable. There is plenty of choice at breakfast and really sets you up for the day. All in all, it is a proper home from home.
Nothing is to much trouble for Sharon or Dave.
This is the 3rd time we have stayed here and I'm sure it won't be the last.
Bruce & Kay , Grimsby

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce_O406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We arrived on a Sunday evening took a chance on the beaches,was made to feel very welcome & relaxed in our room.dave & Sharon are great people with a lovely clean homely b&b and serve a lovely breakfast. My 2 yr old is already asking to visit them again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrysparks1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This place is definitely home from home for us. Great breakfast along with great hospitality from Sharon and Dave where we were treated like royalty. Will be seeing you soon. Tiggy and Gill from Mansfield.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigletTighe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just got home after a lovely 3 night stay in the family room, lots of room even with 3 granddaughters (5,8,9) beds the best we have slept in, home from home, Sharon and Dave are really nice, enjoyed our little chats over breakfast, the girls couldn't eat a full breakfast, so Sharon was kind enough to make the girls an individual breakfast each , they loved the giant watermelon and fruit at breakfast, and the TOFFEES!! Hope to see you both again, thanks for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The owners of the beaches, Dave and Sharon, were extremely hospitable and made us feel very welcome. They were very attentive to our needs with Sharon even giving up her parking space for us when we arrived. We picked this property due to the very good reviews so having now been there it was easy to see why this was the case. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dempsy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#6 of 184 in Scarborough
466 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 184 in Scarborough
962 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#15 of 184 in Scarborough
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaches

Address: 167 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $64 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beaches 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Beaches, a cosy yet contemporary guest house offering quality accommodation in Scarborough's North Bay area. We have five rooms, each with their own individual characters, and can accommodate every type of visitor from couples and business travellers to large families or groups. We're in a fantastic location in the beautiful North Bay area, just a short walk from Peasholm Park, Scarborough Cricket Club and the wonderful Open Air Theatre, the largest of its kind in Europe. The Blue Flag-awarded North Bay beach is five minutes' stroll away; from here you can walk along to the Scarborough Sea Life Centre or take a miniature railway carriage through the Theatre. After a day of exploring Scarborough, you can look forward to relaxing in our comfortable, warm and bright en suite rooms, which all have flat screen televisions and free WiFi, and not to mention our much praised memory foam beds! Plentiful tea and coffee is provided in your room, along with some extra touches for your comfort and convenience. In the morning, head down to our dining room for a hearty cooked breakfast, served at a time that suits you. For those with smaller appetites, we also offer a selection of cereals, yoghurt and fresh fruit. Of course, we can accommodate any dietary requirements too, including vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free - just let us know any special requests when you make your booking and we'll be ready for your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing