We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely visit”
Review of The Beaches

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Beaches
Ranked #8 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just spent six nights at The Beeches. it was lovely to be with Sharon, Dave and their family again.

Made to feel as welcome as ever, it was really comfy and breakfasts were yummy. Looking forward to reurning in August.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for The Beaches
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 270 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Spent 2 nights at this great guest house. Dave and Sharon were lovely people nothing was too much trouble. Room was fantastic nice king size bed,tea and coffee was available in your room. Breakfast was great, made the weekend all the more enjoyable. Would recommend it too any one.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tray1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msharon131, Owner at The Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

You are so kind to take the time to review us...thanks! and hope we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Me & my family spent 3 nights at The Beaches Guest House. Fantastic!!!! Family room plenty of space, beds so comfortable with tea & coffee facilities.Breakfast amazing!!! Many thanx to Sharon & Dave cant wait to return in Aug.. Great value for money woudnt stay anywhere else!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 41michelle41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msharon131, Owner at The Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you! Such high praise...really glad you had a great time, despite the weather!!! See you in August.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were all made very welcome and breakfast was excellent. Beds are very comfortable and plenty of space in the family room. Love the dispensers of shower gel and shampoo in the shower. Plenty of coffee and tea facilities in the room and some nice little extra touches, well good value for money, would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msharon131, Owner at The Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thanks for your kind words...we are really pleased you had a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous 3 night stay at The Beaches guest house. It is perfectly located for the park and North Bay, with a lovely coastal walk to South Bay. We were given a large family room which was perfect for our family of 3. The hosts, Sharon and Dave, create a relaxed, welcoming, and friendly ambience and are extremely helpful. We shall certainly be staying there again when we return to Scarborough.
Thank you from Judith, Roy, Jacob.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msharon131, Owner at The Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

So pleased you were happy with your stay and our facilities! Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

we have just had a 4day hols at the beeches guest house, the room was spotless food was fab, but most of all sharon and dave were great nothing was to much trouble for the nothing. they even offer to take you were you need to go, they let us have our room longer on the day we were coming home, also brough pour luggage to us at the station never ever had this kindness anywere, they are true gems they really are nothing any probs to them so so down to earth we would highly recomend this true gem of a guest house a must to try many many thanx sharon & dave for all your kindness we were really really gratefull to you both keep up the good work you are doing thanx san xxxxxxxx dave smith xxxxxxxxx from wigan {{ come on wigan rugby}}

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msharon131, Owner at The Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us...pleased you enjoyed yourselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We arrived late one evening and spotted the beaches as it looked the most welcoming on the road. Kindly greeted by dave who happily helped me and my partner out for the weekend. The room was lush with and en suit. Great couple to chat with and very helpful! The area was lovley and not to far from main town. We was lucky with the weather so was able to visit some nice places near by. Yummy food in the morning. Overall a perfect break away. Planning to book again soon but next time with our lil boy. Looking forward. Kim and dave :-D

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDIAMVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msharon131, Owner at The Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thanks for your lovely words of appreciation! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and importantly, you enjoyed Scarborough! We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,911 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
1.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
784 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 184 in Scarborough
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 184 in Scarborough
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaches

Address: 167 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $69 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beaches 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Beaches, a cosy yet contemporary guest house offering quality accommodation in Scarborough's North Bay area. We have five rooms, each with their own individual characters, and can accommodate every type of visitor from couples and business travellers to large families or groups. We're in a fantastic location in the beautiful North Bay area, just a short walk from Peasholm Park, Scarborough Cricket Club and the wonderful Open Air Theatre, the largest of its kind in Europe. The Blue Flag-awarded North Bay beach is five minutes' stroll away; from here you can walk along to the Scarborough Sea Life Centre or take a miniature railway carriage through the Theatre. After a day of exploring Scarborough, you can look forward to relaxing in our comfortable, warm and bright en suite rooms, which all have flat screen televisions and free WiFi, and not to mention our much praised memory foam beds! Plentiful tea and coffee is provided in your room, along with some extra touches for your comfort and convenience. In the morning, head down to our dining room for a hearty cooked breakfast, served at a time that suits you. For those with smaller appetites, we also offer a selection of cereals, yoghurt and fresh fruit. Of course, we can accommodate any dietary requirements too, including vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free - just let us know any special requests when you make your booking and we'll be ready for your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing