We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best steaks we've eaten in years!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steps Steak Restaurant - CLOSED

Steps Steak Restaurant
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: Eastern European
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best steaks we've eaten in years!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Called in on the off chance with no reservation, drawn in by their 'steak night for 2 with a bottle of wine for £35' on a Wed or Thurs night. Waiter was very friendly, polite, welcoming and there was nothing that was too much trouble. The steaks ( and indeed the whole meal) was fantastic, chips crunchy but fluffy and the best steaks my husband and I have eaten for years, the knife just slid through it!! Would definitely recommend you visit there!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    26
    2
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Fancying something fishy, we were recommended to Cafe Fish which was unfortunately fully booked, but we were taken a few yards away to their sister restaurant, Steps where we could choose from their own and Cafe Fish's menu. We both chose fish dishes which were beautifully cooked and presented, and in fact all courses were delicious. Matt, the young waiter, was attentive and friendly and the restaurant small but superb in every way. It was our first night in Scarborough and Steps made it one we will never forget.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will be back soon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Have been to this place twice now and it's great. Has the best waiter in Scarborough and the food is delicious. It's worth a visit just for the house pate and warm bread!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york uk
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, lovely little restaurant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Decided to see if there was a steak place in scarborough, Phoned Step around 2115, they advised that the normally shut at 10pm but they would wait for us. The food was excellent. Loved that it is a tiny place, my husband and I could sit and chat and actually hear each other. Definately going again!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank babiblu1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
315 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Variable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were looking for a great steak, and Steps was the top rated on TripAdvisor. It’s in the basement of a terrace by the corner, just around from Cafe Fish which is under the same ownership and shares a kitchen. (so you can order from the Cafe Fish menu in Steps and vice versa).

Because it doesn’t have a street level presence it’s easy to walk past. You go down steps to it. Lots of pine wood, bare wood table, little bar by the entrance.

There was one other couple eating when we arrived. We both ordered fillet steak from the young friendly waitress. Interesting and not overpriced wine list, personally chosen by the owner. Had a delicious Italian Primitivo (labelled as Zinfandel).

The steaks came with lovely onion rings – not at all greasy, mushrooms, grilled tomatoes and good chips. In fact you could barely see the steak for the onion rings.

My steak was delicious, almost two inches high and round. After a while my wife said she thought she’d got the wrong steak and she was eating rump. Hers was oval, thin and chewy, I am no expert but we’ve both eaten a great many steaks in our lifetime and this didn’t look like any fillet we’d previously had. She asked the waitress who went down to the kitchen and said that the chef confirmed it was fillet.

She brought an uncooked fillet – two inches tall and circular - on a plate to show us. We put the cooked thin oval meat on the same plate and asked her to ask the chef why it didn’t match. She came back with the story that because Mrs Pontac had asked for it cooked medium the steak had been squashed down so that it would cook.

We were polite, just asked the questions. After that the waitress wouldn’t come to our table but subsequently sent another waitress who’d just arrived.

I didn’t think our complaint had been dealt with. No alternative had been offered. The chef – who’d come into the restaurant at least twice while we’d been there – stayed in his kitchen and sent the young inexperienced waitress to deal with us.

The story might have been true – if one table orders two fillets who would not send two – but why didn’t the chef explain or why wasn’t Mrs Pontac offered another or alternative?

The full bill was presented, which we paid, but we didn’t leave a tip. Sorry to the waitress but her job is to serve the customer and we left unhappy.

So, regrettably, although I was pleased with my food and wine, the meal was spoiled. I can’t give a good mark and we will not be returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonPontac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steps Steak Restaurant also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing