We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful - and free to boot”

The Spa Scarborough
Ranked #8 of 82 things to do in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: North Yorkshire's premier Entertainment & Conference venue. The Spa is home to the Scarborough Jazz Festival, The Scarborough Spa Orchestra & hosts entertainment all year round. 2016 highlights include The Proclaimers, Russell Watson & The Billy Pearce Laughter Show.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“wonderful - and free to boot”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were staying a couple of nights in Scarborough at the beginning of September and visited the Spa on Sunday for the first time. The weather was glorious and so we decided to have a coffee outside and enjoy the sunshine. We were lucky enough to catch one of the free Sunday concerts in the bandstand and were in our element, partaking of the excellent fare from the coffee shop and being serenaded by a superb choir at the same time. Wonderful!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JGleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    159
    46
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
knutsford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beatles Festival”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was performing at the Beatles Festival at the Spa , 15th/16th Sept . What a GREAT venue . Superb Sound and Light system ,VERY competent engineers ( Thanks Dave ) Excellent back stage facilities , and really classy front of house . I understand Millions have been spent on a renovation and it shows . Really enjoyed my 2 days.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bjl257Knutsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely Views”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had a coffee and a sandwich here whilst watching the band. Lovely! Cheap also! I would recommend to anyone!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vinniee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

How enjoyable to "promanade", loved the lift up to the esplanade. Lovely cafe to rest and enjoy the views of the sea

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annjam03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argenton-les-Vallees, France
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A superb wedding venue with views out over the sea”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our friends' daughter chose this as her wedding venue. We were slightly anxious about the weather in Scarborough at the beginning of September, as the main Spa court is open air. The weather behaved beautifully. The Spa court looked beautiful (my friend had hired prettier chairs than the ones which were offered by the spa, and had put up very pretty pastel bunting - the effect was 'fairy tale' - perfect). The ceremony was delightful - the right mix of formal and informal. We moved indoors for the wedding breakfast. The food was simply perfect. I have been to dozens of weddings in my time, and occasionally the food has been okay or even good, but usually mass catering is just that - not so at the Spa. Every element of the wedding breakfast was superb. We had superb salmon tian starters; as our main course, a traditional carvery with all the trimmings - all three meats were succulent (not dried as is so often the case) - the four vegetables were cooked absolutely to perfection - not a hint of school dinner about any of it. The waiting and serving staff were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble - plenty of smiles all round - and they really worked hard. Constantly watching our wine glasses to ensure we always had a drink if we wanted, plenty of water refreshed frequently, delicious bread. Glorious bucks fizz sorbet between courses, and a cognac and chocolate torte with white chocolate sauce for dessert. Finally coffee and home made truffles. We all said it was the best wedding food we had any of us had. I really wish I had a daughter as I would encourage her to pick this as a venue for a wedding any day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DebraKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spa Scarborough also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Spa Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing