We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great and helpful staff”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed for one night with two children aged five and two and my mum. Wish we had booked for longer, lovely hotel, easy parking and helpful staff.

When checked in little girl was playing up and the bar staff brought over ice cream and biscuits. We were also the only family with kids staying in the hotel but didn't feel uncomfortable being the only one with kids. Lovely restaurant and nice bar to relax in.

Family room was spacious which you need when travelling with small children as always lots of luggage. Room was clean, basic but adequate for our needs. Lift a bit old but not really a concern as just used to get the bags to the room.

Kids loved the swimming pool, which we had it to ourselves. Would stay again and would recommend as a great hotel for a stay in Scarborough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Wellysam,

In regards to your review concerning you and your family staying here at the Hotel I must thank you for such positive comments of your experience here. I will ensure that staff see your kind words and we all look forward to wwelcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 644 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

Informed reception the lack of soap in the gents toilet, told it would be rectified, but two hours later it hadn't been.
Public rooms too warm.
On this occasion enjoyed a good dinner with ample vegetables for a change, unfortunately had to search out serving staff to obtain a knife for our cheeseboards.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Jim M,

Thank you for your recent review of your experience and enjoyment of your meal here at the Hotel. Firstly I must apologise for the oversight in regards to the soap in the Gentlemans restroom.

Your feedback will be used to ensure we maintain ourselves as the highest rated 3 star Hotel in Scarborough. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel / Restaurant in the future.

Kind regards


Mr Jay Clements
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have taken my twin grandsons to this hotel many times over the last few years we have found the family rooms at all times to be a good size and spotless the pool could do with up dating but is well used the meals are above 3star ,
Ifind evert one of the staff from jay and kevin. The managers to the waitress,s dave the barman and everyone I and my family have come in contact with during our stay polite and helpful and we will be back in aug ,
Maybe some revuers should go to specsavers

Room Tip: Ask to se the room before you accept
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sagger71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear "Stuart S"

Thank you for you recent review of the Palm Court. We look forward to seeing you once again after you travels to Florida. In the meantime I will relay your comments on to all of the staff here.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We booked a family room for one night including dinner... The pictures on the hotel look amazing... We drove for two hours, can't park outside hotel as it is owned by the council... We walked into the hotel, looks okay downstairs, staff are very nice, went to our room...OMG !!! What a dirty awful room, dusty, dirty, damp and noisy. You can't turn the heating up or down.
We went down for dinner... Seemed lovely until we where served cold scallops... Very cold.
Sent them back, heard the chef saying ... What's up !!!! He wasn't happy... They came back two minutes later.... Still very cold !!! Seared scallops should be a little on the warm side at least !!!!
The swimming pool ..... Is a dingy hell hole ... Dark and dirty... My poor son was so excited about having a swim ... The place should be rated as a guest house ... Not hotel !!
Please don't waste your time, money and fuel .... You will be gutted !!!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother ! This is a guest house ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vivienne25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear "Vivienne25",


I review that your fabricates a great deal concerning your stay, and fails to mention anything from our discussion prior to your departure. Soon after checking in I personally spoke to you whereby you were offered a larger room as a free upgrade or a full refund as it was clear to me and colleagues that you were not going to enjoy your experience here. This was declined requesting to remain in your room that was originally booked.

I do apologise for your experience within our restaurant. Having sent back your starter my head chef personally sent you a replacement starter. Our "seared" scallops are very popular but unfortunately were not to your taste. You did leave the restaurant before finishing your starter leaving the rest of your table to dine alone for 2 further courses. Having received feedback the next morning we did receive compliments from your table just on how nice the three courses were.

From our discussion I did refund the cost of your meal and the focus soon moved towards embroiling the Hotel into a dutch auction over refunding a larger amount before posting your reviews on Tripadvisor. I do feel it important to mention that you were abusive to the restaurant staff and the Hotel received comments concerning your demeanour from fellow guests.

I apologise that we failed to meet your expectations and hope you find more suitable accommodation in future visits.


Kind regards




Mr Jay Clements
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Three star hotel rooms very comfortable warm ample storage only down side no room safe which was inconvenient as we had chains of office to keep safe. Service in the restaurant was on the whole excellent tho many of the staff were untrained and did tend to serve and clear across the guests. Food was good except portions of meat/fish were very small.

Room Tip: No sea views as far as we could tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenlanders_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Fenlanders_13,

Thank you for you comments in relation to your experience here at the Hotel for your recent conference. I will certainly take your comments on board concerning room safes for any future alterations that the hotel may embark on.

Thank you also for your comments concerning service overall. Unfortunately due to the layout and sizes of the tables requested our trained staff may have found it somewhat encroaching for you to manoeuvre around the rear of the table as we would normally approach service. I will certainly bear your comments in mind for future training and inductions of service staff.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We popped in on a whim really as we had lost touch with part of our group. We found a lovely, airy and welcoming ambience. We had food and drinks from the bar lounge menu. Everything was well presented and as advertised. Prices reasonable. Surprisingly quiet for Sunday morning, which suited us well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DLR181147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear DLR181147,

Thank you for you review concerning your visit to our Lounge recently. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

2 day break at short notice through Booking.com - 20/21 May 2014
We have been to Scarborough many times but not previously stayed at The Palm Court.
Very pleased we "tried it out" - excellent in all respects, including Central Location; Free Car Parking in covered car park (seagull free!) and to start the day a superb Breakfast.
Particularly impressed at being able to check-in well before the official time. Highly courteous staff on reception and on breakfast duty - very good ambassadors for the hotel.
Room was adequate for a 2 night stay, but would have liked one a bit larger had we been staying longer (Room 26).
All in all, satisfied customers who will return in the not too distant future.
Many thanks.
Paul &Pat

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zetec66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear zetec66,

Thank you for your review of your experience here at the Hotel. I will ensure that all staff receive your kind words. We do allocate a certain number of rooms on third party websites so may I suggest that if you wish to book again in the future then we guarantee our best available rate directly. And reception would be more than happy to inform you of other rooms that may be available and more conducive to your expectations.

Best regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,929 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
596 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,267 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $124 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years our family owned, highly rated, AA 3 star hotel is the perfect place to explore, relax and enjoy all that Scarborough and the North York Moors National Park has to offer. Currently rated the highest 3 star hotel. Commanding a wonderful central position, the elegant Palm Court Hotel boasts one of the most prestigious locations in Scarborough. Set against a backdrop of beautiful heritage coastline, the hotel venue offers an invigorating experience, whether your stay involves pure pleasure or business. Experience a high standard of service from our friendly, professional and welcoming team. Upon arrival, there is guaranteed FREE parking available to all hotel residents, which is unique for Scarborough town centre. FREE use of Internet throughout the Hotel. Also during your stay, relax in our indoor swimming pool, for the use of hotel residents only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Scarborough
Hotel Palm Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing