We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference trip”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Conference trip”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Three star hotel rooms very comfortable warm ample storage only down side no room safe which was inconvenient as we had chains of office to keep safe. Service in the restaurant was on the whole excellent tho many of the staff were untrained and did tend to serve and clear across the guests. Food was good except portions of meat/fish were very small.

Room Tip: No sea views as far as we could tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenlanders_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Fenlanders_13,

Thank you for you comments in relation to your experience here at the Hotel for your recent conference. I will certainly take your comments on board concerning room safes for any future alterations that the hotel may embark on.

Thank you also for your comments concerning service overall. Unfortunately due to the layout and sizes of the tables requested our trained staff may have found it somewhat encroaching for you to manoeuvre around the rear of the table as we would normally approach service. I will certainly bear your comments in mind for future training and inductions of service staff.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    214
    89
    26
    15
See reviews for
139
284
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We popped in on a whim really as we had lost touch with part of our group. We found a lovely, airy and welcoming ambience. We had food and drinks from the bar lounge menu. Everything was well presented and as advertised. Prices reasonable. Surprisingly quiet for Sunday morning, which suited us well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLR181147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear DLR181147,

Thank you for you review concerning your visit to our Lounge recently. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2014

2 day break at short notice through Booking.com - 20/21 May 2014
We have been to Scarborough many times but not previously stayed at The Palm Court.
Very pleased we "tried it out" - excellent in all respects, including Central Location; Free Car Parking in covered car park (seagull free!) and to start the day a superb Breakfast.
Particularly impressed at being able to check-in well before the official time. Highly courteous staff on reception and on breakfast duty - very good ambassadors for the hotel.
Room was adequate for a 2 night stay, but would have liked one a bit larger had we been staying longer (Room 26).
All in all, satisfied customers who will return in the not too distant future.
Many thanks.
Paul &Pat

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zetec66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear zetec66,

Thank you for your review of your experience here at the Hotel. I will ensure that all staff receive your kind words. We do allocate a certain number of rooms on third party websites so may I suggest that if you wish to book again in the future then we guarantee our best available rate directly. And reception would be more than happy to inform you of other rooms that may be available and more conducive to your expectations.

Best regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here with my elderly mother and we were not disappointed finding it just as good as last year.The staff are so helpful and friendly.The food is far better than
any similar hotel I have stayed in - lovely porridge and smoked haddock and poached egg at breakfast.The rooms are very clean and the hotel is very centrally situated.Free car parking is an added bonus as parking is tricky.We will definitely return again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie15390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear julie15390,

Thank you for your kind comments in relation to your return visit here at the Hotel. I will ensure that all staff receive your feedback so that we can consistently endeavour to be your headline. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards


Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Just returned from a lovely weekend with a party of 8 past golf captains and their partners. Great hotel, excellent food, friendly staff. Hotel ideally located near to shops and beach. Also good golf courses nearby. Free parking at the hotel was an excellent bonus. Thank you to everyone who looked after us during our stay. Would recommend the hotel, hopefully will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Executive rooms excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Andre B,

Thank you for your review concerning your groups stay with us here at the Palm Court. Your comments will be passed on to all staff. We hopefully look forward to seeing you and your fellow captains once again in the future.

best regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

I would recomend palm court hotel to every 1 exellent value exellent food great service nice warm welcome nice rooms ideal for any of the shops and beach the place to stay in Scarborough free parking will be staying again and will recomend to all thanks for the lovley stay

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank danielrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Daniel,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review in relation to your stay with us here over the weekend. Your comments will be relayed onto all staff throughout all departments. We hope to see you once again at the Palm Court in the future.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

What a gem of a place in Scarborough. I believe the restaurant has rosettes and it well deserved. The food was exceptional and the service was excellent. We went just for a meal as there was an offer on (two meals and house wine for £50). Yes the wine was rough! Maybe worth paying for better quality wine if you were splashing out, but we couldn't fault the amazing three course dinner that we were served. It was imaginative and beautifully presented and we were not kept waiting. We did book (it was a Saturday night) but it wasn't anywhere near full which was a shame because it deserved to be.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Julie R,

Thank you for your review concerning your meal with us here in the restaurant at the Hotel. Our popular "come dine" offer does include a bottle of house wine which I am sorry that it wasnt to your taste.

We are currently reviewing our wine list along with seasonal offerings and ingredients throughout the restairant and lounge. May I take this opportunity to thank you and hope to see you again once again in the future.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,789 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
832 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,835 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Property: Palm Court Hotel
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#12 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years our family owned, highly rated, AA 3 star hotel is the perfect place to explore, relax and enjoy all that Scarborough and the North York Moors National Park has to offer. Currently rated the highest 3 star hotel. Commanding a wonderful central position, the elegant Palm Court Hotel boasts one of the most prestigious locations in Scarborough. Set against a backdrop of beautiful heritage coastline, the hotel venue offers an invigorating experience, whether your stay involves pure pleasure or business. Experience a high standard of service from our friendly, professional and welcoming team. Upon arrival, there is guaranteed FREE parking available to all hotel residents, which is unique for Scarborough town centre. FREE use of Internet throughout the Hotel. Also during your stay, relax in our indoor swimming pool, for the use of hotel residents only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Scarborough
Hotel Palm Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing