We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame the inside doesn't live upto the outside”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Shame the inside doesn't live upto the outside”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our first stay at the palm court,I have always thought it looked a very luxourious hotel.The bedroom looked a little tired the carpet was in need of a good vacuum and the general cleaning could do with a overall,please do not be tempted by the pool it is a small pool in need of a clean with a lean to as a roof,and only 2 deck chairs to seat any potential visitors.at breakfast we waited at least twenty minutes for our coffee and toast to be told someone had moved our order yet the empty table next to us had coffee and toast delivered with no guests seated their.if you would like a nice hotel with a pool visit the crown spa a much cleaner and luxourious hotel by far

Room Tip: Stay at the crown spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    218
    91
    26
    17
See reviews for
139
290
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Spacious room with very friendly attentive staff made our weekend stay very enjoyable. A great lounge to relax in with great afternoon teas available. The swimming pool was warm and the setting pleasant. Will stop again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWLegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

After a slight miscommunication with Sue the receptionist who had me going round in circles parking my car the rest of my stay was fantastic. The service the young team offer was brilliant. Simon behind the bar is a credit to himself and the hotel - what a professional he is, very attentive with excellent key customer service skills. The restaurant staff at breakfast again flawless on service. Whomever is training or recruiting these people needs a pat on the back. I would have any if them in my business. The Food quality is also of very high standard and locally produced - The bacon at breakfast was delightful. Downstairs of the hotel is first class, decor tasteful and inviting. However the bedrooms which I'm sure the manager would agree need some work - very clean but dated, they need to be brought up to date and I understand this cost money and in time I'm sure this will be a priority. Keep up the great work on service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamieandstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear jamieandstephen,

Thank you for taking the time to give us and readers feedback of your stay here in Scarborough. As a family owned hotel for over 30 years we endeavour to meet and exceed all guest requirements and expectations. I will pass you all of your comments to staff and the incumbents of the Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Palm Court in the future.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Had little trouble with reception checking in - being instructed to park in various places and getting them wrong Sue on reception trying to blame myself for her instructions was very frustrating. After this the service from the staff is 2nd to none it is amazing big shout out to Simon who works on the bar who will offer his personal service to every customer even if they are moaning. What a great team member, the ladies on breakfast also fabulous the food is stunning. Down Stairs looks great but the rooms are dated and need updating ASAP. Very clean and tidy but downstairs makes the rooms look even worst. Wouldn't stay here for pleasure but the service is outstanding well done Simon!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jamieandstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Jamieandstephen,

Thank you once again for taking the time not only to give feedback once but leave a second review based on one stay. I must thank you for the points raised and will pass on all of your feedback. I will relay your comments also to Simon who I am sure will be delighted with your compliments.

We hope to see you once again.

Kind regards


Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in the hotel at the end of half term week May 30 - 1 June 2013. We would definately return as we enjoyed a fabulous meal in the hotel restaurant and both mornings, we had lovely breakfasts too.
The staff were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us.

The room we had was spacious with everything that you needed for a two night stay - we had views of the street as the hotel is in a central location.

The pool could do with some money spending on but that would be our only criticism.

Lovely hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahL22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed 2 nights including Saturday May 11th for my birthday party. Amazing night dinner in the Farndale room preceded by drinks reception. A few visits prior to agree menu's and arrangements. Without exception the staff led by Kevin the Asst. Manager were kind and helpful, nothing too much trouble. The food divine even had wonderful macaroons made by chef with our coffee. 21 one of us stayed the night and our room was so spacious. The hotel is ideally situated and the bonus of a car park for residents is the icing on the cake

Room Tip: Being central no views but a front room as ours was gives a lookout on to the street to people watch
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edithg436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Mrs Green,

Thank you for your kind comments in regards to your celebration here at The Palm Court Hotel. Your compliments have been passed onto all staff who served you and your party and as feedback goes I could not ask for better ahead of a busy summer season.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future maybe for some more homemade macaroons ?!

Kind regards,

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We only stayed for one night (4th July 2011) as we had our wedding lunch at The Palm Court and were off to France the next day.
Being second time round for both of us we just had a lunch for immediate family and spent the afternoon in the lounge, which being a Monday was nice and quiet.

The food was excellent, everyone that had the sirloin steak commented on how good it was. The staff were very helpfuland attentive. Our room (The Glaisedale Suite) was everything we wanted and caused the only problem of the day as my future brother-in-law had attemted to book it only to find I'd got there first.
Several of our guests stayed the night at this hotel and we all breakfasted together, which was also very good.

We also had afternoon tea at the Palm Court on our first anniversary which was everything an afternoon tea should be.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear "Stevebar"

Having read your feedback for the Palm Court I must thank you for such kind words for your visit and more importantly congratulate you once again on your marriage.

As a family owned hotel our sole aim is to provide , quality of product, service , great food with a home from home ethos that continues to please both new and existing customers. So thank you for your kind words and on behalf of all of the management and staff we look forward to welcoming you back to the Palm Court (possibly for a renewal of vows ceremony in years to come?)

kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,837 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
858 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,854 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Property: Palm Court Hotel
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#12 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years our family owned, highly rated, AA 3 star hotel is the perfect place to explore, relax and enjoy all that Scarborough and the North York Moors National Park has to offer. Currently rated the highest 3 star hotel. Commanding a wonderful central position, the elegant Palm Court Hotel boasts one of the most prestigious locations in Scarborough. Set against a backdrop of beautiful heritage coastline, the hotel venue offers an invigorating experience, whether your stay involves pure pleasure or business. Experience a high standard of service from our friendly, professional and welcoming team. Upon arrival, there is guaranteed FREE parking available to all hotel residents, which is unique for Scarborough town centre. FREE use of Internet throughout the Hotel. Also during your stay, relax in our indoor swimming pool, for the use of hotel residents only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Scarborough
Hotel Palm Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing