We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value weekend stay”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value weekend stay”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Palm Court Hotel at the beginning of April and we booked the current offer weekend break availalble. Ideal for a relaxing break. We had a fantastic lunch on arrival in the hotels lounge, then a four course meal on boths nights, with a full English breakfast each morning and afternoon tea on the saturday too. The food was fantastic! The room was clean well apointed and the bathroom was a good size with a good selection of toiletries.
We received great service, helpful staff with a really nice atmosphere. Staff very friendly and helpful... overall a really relaxing weekend. Loved it!

Room Tip: Dave the Bar Manager
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lord N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Lord N,

As a daily routine of checking guest feedback may I take this opportunity of thanking you for your kind comments concerning your stay with us here at the Palm Court. The weekend break that you booked forms part of our discounted offers that we promote throughout the year. We do encourage all guests to contact the Hotel directly to receive our Best Available Rate.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.

Kind regards


Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    214
    89
    26
    15
See reviews for
139
284
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
472 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A lovely hotel very convenient for the railway station, theatres and main shopping area. The beach is a 15 minute downhill stroll away or the lift is close by.

Parking is free in their dedicated car park around the corner. We arrived a few hours before official check-in time but the hotel reception was happy to give us a car pass for that day. Be careful not to go into the ‘Palm Court Car Park’ with the barriers, this is NOT the hotel car park and you will be charged. The hotel’s car park is a few yards along Vernon Road at street level and without barriers.

We stayed B&B in room 40 on the top floor. Being adjacent to the lift and stairway door it may be noisy when the hotel is busy but we had no problems on this occasion. The room was a little tired looking but had all the facilities that you would reasonably expect – tea/coffee, TV (but no Sky), complimentary toiletries etc.

The staff were professional, friendly and cheerful and the extensive breakfast set us up for the rest of the day.

There are numerous bars and restaurants within a few minutes’ walk of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WirralTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We booked the hotel through a recommendation of family friends. The Hotel staff were extremely welcoming. We chose the Hotel primarily because of its location. Everything about this hotel is excellent, the car parking is right next door and free also!.
All staff that we saw were professional, friendly and could not do enough for you, the rooms are modern, clean, comfortable and excellent value for money, the location is perfect, the hotel has its own lounge and restauarant but sadly we didnt get to eat as we were attending a family meal.
Breakfast was well presented, plenty of choice with a huge selection from the continental buffet with homemade jam on display!. The cooked plated breakfast was plentiful served quickly but not rushed. I highly recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to be central and next to the beach and shops, stylish and thoroughly relaxing stay in Scarborough.

Will be back very soon

Room Tip: front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Madeline,

Thank you for your review of us here at the Palm Court Hotel in Scarborough. Your kind words will be passed onto all staff. We look forward to welcoming you back here again in the not too distant future.

kind regards,

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hands down the nicest hotel room I've ever stayed in for a number of years. Luxurious, spacious and comfortable. We stayed in one of the executive rooms. The feel and atmosphere was quite formal, but the staff were very very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the all at the hotel.

The sun was shining and we couldnt have asked for better service, food or accommodation.
Not the cheapest, but worth it completely !!

Look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinap732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Palm Court Hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent- great variety of cereal and pastries to choose from, with cooked breakfast freshly cooked to order - no buffet service here, which is a relief. The excellent haddock and poached egg comes highly recommended.
Our room was spotless and comfortable. The lounge and dining room were stylish and pleasant to be in. The only fault was the state of the corridors - badly in need of decoration and carpets seem grubby and need replacing. Such a shame as if it were not for this I would have given the hotel top rating in all categories. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 666alleycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH-Scarborough, Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear "666alleycat"

Thank you for taking the time to review the Palm Court Hotel. Your kind comments have been passed to all departments and we will use all feedback to continue to exceed all guests expectations when traveling to Scarborough.

Best regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The exterior of the hotel, the lounge and reception area, the fact that it had a swimming pool etc lead me to believe this is a quality hotel - it is not. The staff were not welcoming, I did not see one smile in the 2 nights we stayed. I was surprised at the receptionist asking for payment for the room upon our arrival, as usually we have paid upon leaving - then we saw the room...and realised why they take payment straight away. Its shabby, the carpet had a burn mark and stains, the sofa had stains. The ensuite was no better, cheap laminate flooring which was split, cheap bath and shower over, the seal around the bath needed sorting, the shower curtain was orange at the bottom, there was a shower screen across too, which couldn't open because of the sink so you had to climb in the bath to turn the taps on. Underneath the toilet was all stained. The toilet paper holder was loose so the toilet roll kept rolling onto the floor. There was a huge grab rail over the bath which left little space to shower in, badly designed. The room was very hot, the windows wouldn't open, we all slept with no covers on. On the first morning our breakfast was poorly cooked, the sausages where pink in the middle. The apple juice was cloudy/fermented. The mushroom was deep fried and the bacon over cooked. The butter tasted like it had taken on the smells of a fridge, fishy. On the second day the cooked breakfast was fine. The best part of the breakfast where the pastries, a lovely selection, unfortunately on the second day I asked for a croissant but the waitress said they had ran out.

The best points about this hotel are the free parking and the room was spacious, if we had seen the room before paying I would have left - this experience as taught me to check out a room before paying £180 a night.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before making the payment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2no1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH-Scarborough, Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear "Sue T",

Thank you for taking the time to review the Palm Court Hotel. Firstly I must apologise that the Hotel did not exceed your expectations on this occasion. We use all feedback to continue to improve our facilities and operations.

However on this occasion I feel that I must clarify certain points that you have stated to give readers a true synopsis of Scarborough's highest rated 3 star hotel . We do continually receive praise and compliments on how welcoming the staff are as so many other reviews state.

Our proceedure as with many Hotels throughout the country is to request a "pre-authorisation" of payment card when checking into the Hotel. However through forces outside of our control we are unable to "pre-auth" visa debit cards so it is not our intention to take payment before guests see the room.

From an internal investigation your room was one of largest family rooms which accommodates 4 guests which are priced to reflect value for money and paritied alongside incredible offers which we advertise throughout the year.

Finally we do source the finest ingredients for the restuarant within a 20 mile radius to celebrate Yorkshire "Englands Pantry" from quality suppliers which can be found listed on our "keeping it local" link on our website. As the Manager of the Hotel I do encourage all guests to inform us if any matter isnt satisfactory at the time of their stay so that we can rectify any issues immediately rather than unfortunately some time later.

If you wish to contact me directly at the Hotel I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your compalint in its entirety.

Kind regards


Mr Jay Clements
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We visited Scarborough Easter weekend, to celebrate our wedding anniversary and my husbands birthday. We had booked afternoon tea at this hotel for £11.95 per person andI ordered a small cake as a surprise - thistook the price up to £13.95 per person. I was extremely disapointed about the size of portions provided. The scone was the same size as a jaffa cake but was a little thicker. The pots of Jam and cream were the same size as the scone and not really enough for two. The puddings in the glass were minature. We were aware that the sandwiches were finger size and these were delicious, with plenty of filling. The size of the tea is presented as much larger than it actually is and we were surprised at the actual size when it arrived. Also, when I booked, I was informed that the "extra" cakewouldbemade by the chef but I was not convinced. The staff would query why we did not discuss this at the time but the waitress was sulking because I asked for a table where we could sit opposite each other and not side by side. The atmosphere was then cooled and our service was slow. Other than this, we had a lovely. I cannot comment on the rooms and/or the food intherestaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DenS839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear DenS839,

Thank you for yor review concening your experience here with us in the Lounge at the Palm Court. Firstly I must apologise that the Afternoon Tea was not to your liking. You are correct that there is a surcharge for a "Celebration Afternoon Tea" as the addtional £ 2.00 per person is for the homemade cake that Chefs prepare for guests.

After an investigation with staff your table that we set for your arrival wasnt to your liking so with no hesitation we offered you another one to your satisfaction. You also ordered Soup to begin with, which although doesnt form part of our Afternoon Tea this was served promptly for you prior to you having Afternoon Tea.

As a local business we do pride ourselves on using local produce wherever possible. Our full Afternoon Tea menu can be found listed on the Hotels website.

I also apologise if you felt that the service was slow as we continually receive so many compliments regarding our afternoon tea , with our weekend pianist Sam Jewison not being least of these compliments . Easter was very popular for our Chocolate Afternoon Tea theme but on this occasion we failed to deliver for you.

I do hope that you endeavour to give the Hotel another opportunity to impress you with what so many others regard as Scarborough's Finest Afternoon Tea. If you wish to contact me directly to discuss your review I would welcome the opportunity to invite you back to the Hotel

kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
832 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,835 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Property: Palm Court Hotel
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#12 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years our family owned, highly rated, AA 3 star hotel is the perfect place to explore, relax and enjoy all that Scarborough and the North York Moors National Park has to offer. Currently rated the highest 3 star hotel. Commanding a wonderful central position, the elegant Palm Court Hotel boasts one of the most prestigious locations in Scarborough. Set against a backdrop of beautiful heritage coastline, the hotel venue offers an invigorating experience, whether your stay involves pure pleasure or business. Experience a high standard of service from our friendly, professional and welcoming team. Upon arrival, there is guaranteed FREE parking available to all hotel residents, which is unique for Scarborough town centre. FREE use of Internet throughout the Hotel. Also during your stay, relax in our indoor swimming pool, for the use of hotel residents only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Scarborough
Hotel Palm Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing