We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Hotel looks lovely and modern from outside but once past the hallway everything changes. I have never paid so much for such a small poky room,where the bedroom door only just closed, I couldn't get into the wardrobe as it was too near the bed,the window frames were dirty and in desperate need of paint,the carpet had certainly seen better days. The lift seemed very temperemental as it stooped twice during our stay!..... and all this for £130 for the night! Never again!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 643 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

I have visited Scarborough nearly every year for long or short breaks, over the last 10 years the family have stayed for long weekends at the Palm Court taking my elderly father. They couldn't do enough for him and us, always friendly, great food, wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beth144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Spent a night here early January to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed here for our honeymoon more years ago than I want to say. Food was fantastic, impressive foyer and entrance. Room slightly jaded,but for what we paid it was excellent value.Certainly we will go again.Car parking a bonus.Dining experience a must

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

My boys were swimming in a swimming gala in Scarborough so we though we would have a family weekend away. Booked with hotel directly, very helpful and we got a family room for the five of us. Check in was a breeze and the staff were very helpful and attentive. Free off street parking was a real bonus and the Brunswick Shopping centre is just over the road if you have forgotten anything. We were on a full meal package and the food was out of this world. The dining room is very pleasent and service was excellent. My youngest enjoyed the pool. Afternoon tea looked to be very nice with the large lounge full on Saturday afternoon. The room was spotlessly clean with plenty of room for us all. Free Wi Fi a bonus for the four techno boys in our family (that includes dad). I can't say enough good things about our stay but well done to the hotel staff for really looking after us. Close to the centre of town but just far enough away from the hussle and bussle that is Scarborogh. Highly recommended and we'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woody1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Looks fantastic from the outside but seriously dated and need of some attention inside.

Strange really because it's 30 years since I last visited Scarborough and this hotel's interior is virtually identical to the hotel I last stayed in.

The good things are the parking and free wifi but generally It's ok but you wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The palm court not only met our expectations it exceeded them by far! From the polished receptionist to the charming bar/restaurant staff perfect!! Our meal was as good as the very best out there. Elegant/modern/uncluttered&unpretentious are words that spring to mind when describing the palm court to friends!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smudgerHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

booked a two day break at in the early part of this month. What a great choice! Terrific Hotel, ideally located in the Centre of Town yet easy access to the South Bay. BUT....What a Restaraunt! Full marks to the Chef and the Staff ---- your Meals and service are unsurpassed. An AA 3 Star .....I think not definitley a 4 or 5 in my book.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chalkiescout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,267 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
596 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $124 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years our family owned, highly rated, AA 3 star hotel is the perfect place to explore, relax and enjoy all that Scarborough and the North York Moors National Park has to offer. Currently rated the highest 3 star hotel. Commanding a wonderful central position, the elegant Palm Court Hotel boasts one of the most prestigious locations in Scarborough. Set against a backdrop of beautiful heritage coastline, the hotel venue offers an invigorating experience, whether your stay involves pure pleasure or business. Experience a high standard of service from our friendly, professional and welcoming team. Upon arrival, there is guaranteed FREE parking available to all hotel residents, which is unique for Scarborough town centre. FREE use of Internet throughout the Hotel. Also during your stay, relax in our indoor swimming pool, for the use of hotel residents only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Scarborough
Hotel Palm Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing