We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great take aways”
Review of El Gringo's

El Gringo's
Ranked #98 of 355 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great take aways”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I love the take aways from here... The best in town... Would recommend tp everyone

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phornby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    103
    48
    24
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food Great portions Great prices!!”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

i visited el gringos for the first time last summer, as i never knew it was there until my friend recommened it to me. From the outside it does look a little worn and torn, but the inside is very bright lively and themed very well.
The food prices were really good, and the sizes of the portions were outstanding. Ive read some of the other reviews about food and service but the service for us has always been 1st class friendly and speedy, yes there could be room for improvement with the decor but other than that weve had no problems and will continue to make el gringos are 1st choice for a meal out in scarborough.
since our first vist me and my family and many of my friends are now regular visitors to el gringo's.
I would definately recommend el gringos 10/10
"keep it up guys"

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 666happycustomer666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester le Street
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice food, poor service”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Food was good with good portion sizes. The restaurant itself was cold and the service was very poor considering we were the only people eating there at the time.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great food, yum yum yum”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

El Gringos is very much worth a visit, the outside is a little scruffy but don't be put off by that. Inside it is brightly decorated with fairy lights and murials. The food is fantastic, presented well, and theres plenty of it too! We occasionally get take aways from there since our visit and the food it just as nice and you get the same amount but cheaper. Great place!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahrose1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food okay, service VERY slow”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Went with a group of collegues, quite large so would be good for a big group. Quite basic decor, mexican themed.
Great cocktail menu and cocktail very nice.
Good selection of mexican food, food tasted average.
Service very slow, had to go over to counter 3 times to ask for bill as nobody was bringing it to us.
Not too expensive, good value for money as portions quite large.
Would recommend for a group of students or family on a budget, not ideal for couples.
Nice and close to beach.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_DW_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gringo's also viewed

Malton, North Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to El Gringo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing