We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good North Shore Accommodation”
Review of Amrock Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amrock Guest House
Ranked #81 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good North Shore Accommodation”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Good place to stay, nice bright room, lots of space to 'put things' Very, very clean everthing needed for a comfortable stay. Nice welcome from Nicola and Andy who were helpfull when needed. Good breakfast with varied choice for veggies delicious fresh fruit and yogurt.. The dining room was really pleasant and we didnt have to sit at table with strangers (a pet hate!) The Amrock has a good parking system providing guests with a permit for on street parking, this is great as the North Bay area is very busy all the summer. Anyone in Scarborough for the cricket would love this place as its just a couple of streets from the ground. Great location for Peasholm park and the great walk allong the re furbished prom into town.

Room Tip: Our front room had a bay window and was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prune_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    19
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
35
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This place is cheap but really nice: they should charge more. The hosts were lovely, the twin room was freshly and tastefully decorated and furnished, the shower was brilliant and there was oodles of storage in the room. The b&b is a minute from the lake in Peasholm Park in one direction and a minute from the coastal walk in the other. We've already booked for next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Amrock Guest House for four nights in August and can highly recommend it. Our room was very comfortable, clean and felt 'homely'. The couple who run the guesthouse were very friendly and helpful and the cooked breakfast was lovely and cooked to your own requests (cereal was also available).

The location is excellent. Within 5 minutes walk, you are overlooking the North Bay and a not too long walk to the South Bay and Castle. Literally a few minutes walk from the Guesthouse is a lovely fish and chip shop (take away only) which I would strongly recommend as well as a restaurant with a large choice of meals at very reasonable prices (they do say it's cheaper up north!).

A 30 minute walk away is Scarborough Train Station and Scarborough town centre. You can get a bus into Whitby and the train to York (50 minute ride).

I would highly recommend Amrock Guesthouse for a restful and comfortable stay, with welcoming owners, great food, great location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dabberdabberdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke On Trent, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights. Comfy clean room, nicely decorated and furnished with king size bed. En suite a bit small but adequate. Nice toiletries , tea, coffee bisuits. Good breakfast - including delicious fresh fruit, yoghurt, selection of cereals and some cooked options - nicely presented.Friendly and helpful hosts. Well placed for various things to do arouns teh town and we managed to get parking right outside the door. Recommended and would stay agai. Thanks to Nicola and Andy...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Booked at short notice and me and hubby stayed in the twin room which was very nice. Seems to be quite newly decorated with very nice furniture. Bathroom was very clean and shower was good.

Breakfast was very nice with plenty to choose from and a lovely English breakfast.

Situation is very good near Peasholm park and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Very friendly, clean and comfortable. Would stayed here again without a doubt. Cannot fault anything.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo-019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We have just returned from a three day break mainly going for the Elton John concert, when we booked the holiday it was the perfect accommodation for the venue the open air theatre. The Amrock was the icing on the cake really friendly helpful people, we have not stopped in a cleaner place and the service was superb with a breakfast to set you up for the day. I would definately stay there again when we go back and would reccomend any one looking for somewhere to stay to book the Amrock you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenfingers1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Manor Heath Hotel
Manor Heath Hotel
#13 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rivelyn Hotel
Rivelyn Hotel
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#39 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Meltham Guesthouse
The Meltham Guesthouse
#49 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Dogs Guest House
Sea Dogs Guest House
#120 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kenton
The Kenton
#117 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amrock Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrock Guest House

Property: Amrock Guest House
Address: 11 Victoria Park Avenue, Scarborough YO12 7TR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrock Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amrock Guest House is situated in the North Bay area of Scarborough. We offer a friendly, informal, clean en-suite guest accommodation. Our Guest House offers a range of individual letting rooms, each aimed at individual users. All rooms have full en suite facilities, tea and coffee making facilities and colour TV with Freeview and DVD capabilities. We offer free WiFi access. We are strictly 100% non smoking. We regret that we are unable to take pets (guide dogs excepted).Amrock Guest House is the ideal place to stay whether you are enjoying a superb Yorkshire holiday, a short break or if you are looking for clean and comfortable accommodation during a business trip.Our Edwardian guest house was built in 1906 and has three upper floors and a basement. The 8 front steps with handrails either side lead to the entrance porch, and entrance hall. On this floor is the Breakfast room and kitchen.Our first floor has rooms 1, 2 & 3, the top floor has our family room and a single room. As you can appreciate several small suitcases/bags are preferable to one large one.If you come by car our guests' have to park on the street for which we can provide you with a parking permit or disk. We cannot guarantee you a space but there is a public car park a few minutes walk away.We are located in the North Bay area of Scarborough, and is ideally located for Peasholm Park, the Alexandra indoor and outdoor bowls centre, the North Bay 'blue flag' beaches, Scarborough Cricket Ground and the now completed outdoor theatre.The town centre and the South Bay area with its amusements and entertainment venues are both a comfortable 15 minutes stroll away.We are unable to take bookings for stag or hen parties.Children under 12 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Amrock Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing