We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Outground”

Scarborough Cricket Club
Ranked #24 of 82 things to do in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Great Outground”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Watching cricket here is like going back in time. Big crowds for county championship games; family atmosphere with children allowed to knock a ball about on the outfield in the lunch and tea intervals. A Tea Room and fresh crab and other seafood from a kiosk. Yes, much of the seating and other facilities are on the antique side but I loved it as did everyone I spoke to.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart Rhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    29
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Seating and ticket problem”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Firstly I went to Scarborough cricket club first time for 55 years. I bought tickets on the Internet and for three days paid £32.00.
When I arrived at the ground I was informed I could sit in the stand with that ticket, but no seats available.
I could have paid to go in the general seating area far cheaper as that is where I ended up anyway.
The seating, on wooden beams is not comfortable for five hours for someone with arthritis.
Obviously the club had sold too many tickets for the stand area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lets win the Championship”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lovely ground good seating great scones.Can get close to the players and get autographs etc.The club go to great lengths to put on a fantasticYorkshire fixture.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Best ground in England”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I haven't visited them all, so, a bit of a presumptive comment, but the quality of the ground, the recent up-grading of the facilities, and, of course the Yorkshire Coast weather (!!) make this place unique

Always a good match, with both teams providing ENTERTAINMENT - wish there was more of this in other popular sports - just a shame there aren'tmore first class matches to be held here, especially during the famous Cricket Festival

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PDC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pleasent afternoon”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

What a shame that Yorkshire aren't using this lovely ground more often. The atmosphere is so relaxing and the people seemed really friendly. Would prefer Scarborough to Headingly every time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough Cricket Club also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough Cricket Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing