We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Sylvern House

Sylvern House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sylvern House
Ranked #63 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights, very welcoming and lovely breakfast. Stayed in room 3 no problems with its size! Room was lovely and warm and bed was comtfy. Sylvern house is located not too far from the town so was perfect for us to go for a meal at night, overall really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derbywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    23
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
35
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The owner was very courteous. Very good location and very close to sea and amenities in Blackpool town. I did not have any problem with noise. I look forward to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fl0wers_are_nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Myself, husband, daughter and my parents have stayed at this wonderful hotel many many times!
The rooms are spotless, the welcome from Richard & Vicki is always a pleasure and the breakfasts are great! Many great choices of food and it is all freshly prepared for you. The location is good too, a short walk to the cliff top on the North Bay and a ten minute walk into the town centre.
Have never been able to say anything bad about this wonderful hotel and like i said we have stayed numerous times and will continue to do so again and again! :-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amjames71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Nice owner, clean and quiet room, good service, the location is very near the sea , free wifi, free parking, hair dryer, kettle, coffe, tea, biscuit, it is really a good value! And a delicious breakfast! If have a chance, will come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduphone11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

this b/b is a clean friendly establishment the owners are very nice people .as said on other reviews the breakfast is lovely with an extensive choice . we were put in a double room at the front and the weather was nice so we left the window open for air .this was a problem as the people living across the road and surrounding area where very noisy with a lot of bad language used and loud music playing in the daytime so an afternoon siesta on the bed was not possible if the b/b could be picked up and moved i would definetly stay there again but where it is no thanks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnythefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Pleasant and welcoming hosts.

Room a little on the small side but well appointed, well decorated and immaculately clean.
Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice including Crumpets as an alternative to toast.

We don't normally stay in small Guest Houses preferring larger hotels but we enjoyed our stay and would be happy to revisit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denbyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Clean dog friendly B&B. Excellent extensive breakfast menu.
Room 9 (up in the Gods) large family room, but very small en suite and lots of noise from sea gulls
Owners very friendly and helpful
Would I use again???? possibly

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Ainsley Court Guest House
Ainsley Court Guest House
#78 of 182 in Scarborough
61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#13 of 182 in Scarborough
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Sunnyside Guest House
#174 of 182 in Scarborough
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#37 of 182 in Scarborough
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airedale Guest House
Airedale Guest House
#48 of 182 in Scarborough
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#10 of 182 in Scarborough
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvern House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvern House

Property: Sylvern House
Address: 25 New Queen Street, Scarborough YO12 7HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sylvern House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome, good home cooking and a friendly atmosphere with Vicki and Richard at Sylvern House. All rooms en-suite. Children and pets welcome. Free Wi-Fi. Open all year, including Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sylvern House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing