We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly”
Review of Sylvern House

Sylvern House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sylvern House
Ranked #64 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Spent a week at Sylvern House in Scarborough. Our first visit there and although the weather wasn't perfect we had a lovely time. Breakfast was enough to keep you going all day! Nothing too much bother for Richard and Vicky. Thanks. For a bit of fun the local bowling club is excellent and provide all the equipment you need for a game. A trip to the castle which is just up the road was good too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kandmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Sylvern House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 83 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

The hotel owner was very pleasant upon arrival. We stayed in a double room which was very clean but very small. The breakfast was lovely with a good choice. Would recommend for one or two nights but the rooms are too small for a week.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molleypot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here for a night. Just me and my dog in a single room. This b&b makes you feel at home. The room and bathroom was clean. Tv, kettle and hair dryer in your room. Great that dogs are welcome as this is hard to find. Breakfast was amazing, even had veggie sausages ;) would def use this hotel again ++++++

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beninassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My Wife and myself booked a 1 night stay at the last minute and from arriving were met with nothing but friendliness and efficiency. We got parked directly outside and were issued with a local Parking Permit. We were shown to our room and then politely left to it by the courteous owners. The room was spotlessly clean, compact but perfect for our needs. A nice touch was a tick off card ordering exactly what you required for Breakfast handed in the night before, this was perfectly executed the morning after in a very friendly manner.
Very well positioned to get to the Town Centre for Shopping, the Front or local Pubs in the evening which we did. A very friendly couple, excellent breakfast and we would have no hesitation in either recommending this to family/friends or returning ourselves the next time we are in Scarborough.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3, compact but spotlessly clean. Sink is in the room with ensuite Shower and Toile...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OZZLEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

my husband and i were made very welcome the double room we had was lovely with a nice compacked en-suite.
the breakfast was outstanding plenty to eat and quick service
very reasonable prices
we would not hesitate to book in here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trixie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
595 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#13 of 184 in Scarborough
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#15 of 184 in Scarborough
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#35 of 184 in Scarborough
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvern House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvern House

Address: 25 New Queen Street, Scarborough YO12 7HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $74 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sylvern House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome, good home cooking and a friendly atmosphere with Vicki and Richard at Sylvern House. All rooms en-suite. Children and pets welcome. Free Wi-Fi. Open all year, including Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sylvern House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing