We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference GCSE Maths/English Revision”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Absolutely outstanding !. It happened to be the wettest day of the year and from the moment we (we being 72 student aged16 plus staff) arrived, the hotel could not have been more welcoming and understanding. Due to the cancellation of our booking at a competitor hotel 7 days prior to the planned event the staff at the Crown Spa made it possible for us go ahead with our planned GCSE Maths/ English Intervention weekend turning our booking for 80+ around in just 5 days including conferencing facilities, accomodation and food. The students could not believe the venue and thought it was truly inspirational changing the aspirations of all of them. They especially remarked on the contemporary UV lighting in the bathrooms. All the staff were exceedingly courteous and importantly VERY understanding when travelling with 72 teenagers who had never stayed in a 4 Star Hotel previously.Nothing was too much trouble. The buffet style food both for dinner and breakfast was excellent meeting the needs of all the students. As a Conference venue the room we were given was certainly a hidden gem and would have been an excellent venue for function from wedding to school prom. We, as an Academy are endebted to the hotel staff for making this happen and wish to say a big thank you in helping us to avoid the disaapointment of what would have been 72 students. A truly remarkable hotel and I look forward now to being able to return as someone on holiday or for a relaxing weekend break. Thank you 72 times!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mulder51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2010

Wow! What a wonderful review.

It is very rewarding to receive such high praise, we are so glad that our staff were very friendly, approachable and accommodating. Customer service is something we take very seriously here and we are always striving to go that step further with our service levels.

We are glad that you have appreciated the décor and ambience of the hotel and the Conference suites you used were fitting for your GCSE Maths and English Intervention Weekend.

Thanks again for taking your time to write this wonderful review, we are extremely glad that you were able to deliver the weekend you had planned for and we hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,909)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,737 - 4,743 of 4,909 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2010

Overall i really enjoyed this hotel. The superior sea view room with balcony was spot on. The room was very spacious, nicely decorated. The bathroom was excellent and clean with special mood lighting and a great powerfull overhead shower. As for location again this was great. I parked opposite the hotel and was given a parking pass for 4 days so no worries there.

Only problem was with staff who didnt seem bothered, a couple of instances in particular:

Firstly i rang down to say the TV was not working - Receptionist told me to put the key in the slot near the door. I told her there was no slot. She replies "ALL THE ROOMS HAVE ONE". "Well my doesnt have a slot near the door". receptionist then says "ILL SEND SOMEONE UP TO SHOW YOU WHERE IT IS". The chap came and fixed the TV (this chap was excellent i must had) but to the no it all receptionist room 114 dont have a slot so stick that one!

breakfast was also a pain in the fact i had to ask 3 times for some tea and the waitress got the hump!

Overall though the miserable staff are a small price to pay for a very nice room and location.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lcfc_eu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2010

May i first of all thank you for the positive remarks made regarding your recent stay at the Crown. we do pride ourselves on the location and high standards of housekeeping.

we have 116 bedrooms and beleive it or not all but two rooms have electric slots for key cards.

im dissapointed that you comment on the staff being a bit ropey as it seems the only issue you had was with 1 receptionist and actually mention that the porter was excellent.the receptionist was new and hadnt been told two rooms had not been fitted with keycards.

we always encourage feedback both positive and negative as it does offer future customers a varied opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Just returned from spending 2 luxurious nights here (only booked one night but extented our stay because one night is not enough). This was our fourth stay here and as ever it was excellent. All staff are polite and friendly and go out of their way to help.
The room was wonderful, since they put in the top floor we have stayed in a top floor room and though the other rooms are great the top floor has that special someting. The tv over the bath is just great and the subdued lighting makes the ambience right. Lovely thick carpet and curtains add to the luxury and the bed is really comfy. Could have just stayed in the room, as my husband said its better than home.
Used the spa facilities which were excellent too. Great relaxation room, saunas, steam room and aroma room. The were bigger than other places we have stayed so never felt overcrowded. Nice pool and lovely jacuzzui, again good size so plenty of space.
Didn't eat in the hotel as it is a little expensive but on previous visits when we have eaten in it has been good.
Nice relaxing bar area for drinks and when the bar staff get to know you they have a little banter with you which is nice, it all makes it a bit more personalised.
One tiny critisism the fire door next to our room kind of double banged everytime it was used and early hours of the morning it was quite annoying as the bed was just the other side of the wall, maybe there could be some way of stopping that.
Anyway would recommend this hotel if you want to get away from it all.
Came back relaxed and refreshed and will be returning in the future when we need a bit of a rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C_GNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2010

Thank you for taking your time to write this wonderful, it sounds like you have had a wonderful time. We are glad that you have appreciated the décor and ambience of the hotel.

Over the past few years the hotel has undergone major refurbishments throughout including the Penthouse floor. It is great to know that you have been able to enjoy the room, especially the bathroom with the TV, which is definitely a special feature.

It is great that you took full advantage of all the facilities here, it is extremely rewarding to receive such high praise. We hope to see you here again, next time why not treat yourself to a full spa experience.

We will look into the loudness of the fire door and see if there is something we can do to prevent it disturbing guests in future.

Thank you once more for your kind words; this review will be very helpful in explaining the services we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We've just returned from a wonderful three night break at The Crown. We've had several breaks in the past and this time we came with our daughter's in-laws who had been curious about our "bracing" stays in Scarborough. They were thrilled to find that they had an upgrade to a Fifth floor room, and loved the luxury provided - especially the TV at the end of the bath! Our room was very nice but not quite as luxurious - we didn't mind as we had an exceptional room last time we stayed (February 2009). Our daughter, son-in-law and grandson joined us on the Saturday and now they too are converts to The Crown!
We really appreciated the service from all the staff, it's almost an impossibility to single out any one person - the dining room staff were so friendly and obliging, the reception staff were so helpful - a real credit to the hotel, true assets! The one person who we all appreciated but never saw was the chef - though it will now take us some time to remove the evidence of his wonderful meals!! We did try to burn some calories in the pool but not enough!
Needless to say we'll be back again, and again - the next time it might have to be a group booking!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisGG1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Myself and my wife stayed here with my mother in law as a treat for a Saturday night away. The hotel is a lovely old fashioned building on the outside with modern facilities inside. We found the customer service to be excellent throughout our stay with both the reception and breakfast staff being very helpful. Our only dissapointment was due to very noisy guests around us(i.e. children running up and down the corridor late at night, and the person next door having their telly on maximum which woke us up!), which although i know can not be helped, i suspect was due to the Wedding going on downstairs. Reception showed their excellent customer service skills though by ringing the noisy room to ask them to turn the telly down which they did (they wouldnt answer the door!). So overall i would highly recommend the hotel but would either visit again during the week when there was no wedding on, or ask to be placed in a room well away from their guests (something i wish all hotels would do). P.S - this is not me being a miserable old git either as when i have been at weddings i know i am also a lot noisier/drunker!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali_C7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2010

May i first of all say a big thank you for the positive remarks you made regarding the staff and the facilities at the Crown. it is only through feedback both positive and negative that we are able to improve the Crown for future customers.

It is also good to know that we were able to resolve the issues with noise from the adjoining room and do advise all guests to call reception if they have any issues, we do believe that if it can be fixed it will be fixed.

We hope to see you here again soon. Thank you for your kind words this review will be very helpful in explaining the services we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

just got back from this hotel (today), my partner booked this weekend away for my birthday and what a fabulous hotel this is...truly is a 4 star. he had booked a sea view room and we were on the 5th floor(top) in room 512... absolutely brilliant, so modern and the views were breath taking...even had a plasma tv built into the marble tiles at the bottom of the bath!!! WOW..... room cost £110 per night and we paid a little extra for the view but was worth every penny ...just a short stroll from the town centre, been a wonderful weekend and can't wait to go back again....didnt use any of the gym or spa facilities but will do next time, best scarborough hotel by far!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2010

Thank you for this wonderful review! It sounds like you had a fantastic birthday treat.

We are glad that you enjoyed the room and all the extras including the modern technology and the fantastic views over the headland.

It is very rewarding for use to receive such high praise as we pride ourselves on offering the highest levels of comfort, service and style.

We hope you will visit again soon and take advantage of the health club and spa facilities. Thanks again for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Our third time at the Crown Spa, and it gets better everytime. On this occasion we were upgraded to a penthouse floor room which was a brilliant room. Gorgeous decor and a tv in the bathroom!
We can not recommend the hotel enough, the continental breakfast is good, the spa is great and I had a facial while we were there which was very relaxing!
The one down side for me was the incredible heat in the room. I found it difficult to sleep even with the window open all night but other than that it was fab!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachandkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and add photos of your stay. It is very rewarding for us that you keep returning to the Crown for breaks and that we have managed to exceed you expectations each visit.

Sorry to hear that your room was too hot, for future reference please call reception as there are fans available by request.

Thanks once more for this fantastic review. We hope that you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,258 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,891 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,432 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $91 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing