We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - noisy guests!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel - noisy guests!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Myself and my wife stayed here with my mother in law as a treat for a Saturday night away. The hotel is a lovely old fashioned building on the outside with modern facilities inside. We found the customer service to be excellent throughout our stay with both the reception and breakfast staff being very helpful. Our only dissapointment was due to very noisy guests around us(i.e. children running up and down the corridor late at night, and the person next door having their telly on maximum which woke us up!), which although i know can not be helped, i suspect was due to the Wedding going on downstairs. Reception showed their excellent customer service skills though by ringing the noisy room to ask them to turn the telly down which they did (they wouldnt answer the door!). So overall i would highly recommend the hotel but would either visit again during the week when there was no wedding on, or ask to be placed in a room well away from their guests (something i wish all hotels would do). P.S - this is not me being a miserable old git either as when i have been at weddings i know i am also a lot noisier/drunker!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali_C7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
May i first of all say a big thank you for the positive remarks you made regarding the staff and the facilities at the Crown. it is only through feedback both positive and negative that we are able to improve the Crown for future customers.

It is also good to know that we were able to resolve the issues with noise from the adjoining room and do advise all guests to call reception if they have any issues, we do believe that if it can be fixed it will be fixed.

We hope to see you here again soon. Thank you for your kind words this review will be very helpful in explaining the services we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,377
    1,539
    550
    187
    136
See reviews for
721
3,032
144
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2010

just got back from this hotel (today), my partner booked this weekend away for my birthday and what a fabulous hotel this is...truly is a 4 star. he had booked a sea view room and we were on the 5th floor(top) in room 512... absolutely brilliant, so modern and the views were breath taking...even had a plasma tv built into the marble tiles at the bottom of the bath!!! WOW..... room cost £110 per night and we paid a little extra for the view but was worth every penny ...just a short stroll from the town centre, been a wonderful weekend and can't wait to go back again....didnt use any of the gym or spa facilities but will do next time, best scarborough hotel by far!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2010
Thank you for this wonderful review! It sounds like you had a fantastic birthday treat.

We are glad that you enjoyed the room and all the extras including the modern technology and the fantastic views over the headland.

It is very rewarding for use to receive such high praise as we pride ourselves on offering the highest levels of comfort, service and style.

We hope you will visit again soon and take advantage of the health club and spa facilities. Thanks again for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Our third time at the Crown Spa, and it gets better everytime. On this occasion we were upgraded to a penthouse floor room which was a brilliant room. Gorgeous decor and a tv in the bathroom!
We can not recommend the hotel enough, the continental breakfast is good, the spa is great and I had a facial while we were there which was very relaxing!
The one down side for me was the incredible heat in the room. I found it difficult to sleep even with the window open all night but other than that it was fab!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachandkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and add photos of your stay. It is very rewarding for us that you keep returning to the Crown for breaks and that we have managed to exceed you expectations each visit.

Sorry to hear that your room was too hot, for future reference please call reception as there are fans available by request.

Thanks once more for this fantastic review. We hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Hotel very impressive and well located. Check in was very professional and frendly, nice loby.
After reading the reviews I was expecting excellent standards but was let down by the housekeeping standards. The bathroom was nice but was not cleaned very well, previous guests soap stains in sink and bath area and loo had not been cleaned very well (toothpaste and other stains on loo seat)! Had to wash out the mugs for our tea as they had tea ring marks inside. Platform valance was stained and the shaver socket was not working. The telescope is a nice touch but that was also damaged.
Reception phoned to ask if we were settled in (nice touch) so I was sorry to have to say all these things, however the nice receptionist did offer for a cleaner to come up and see to everything.
The room was not heated on arrival and the window was wide open and as the winter temperature at the moment is chilly we duly put the small radiator on, unfortunately the heat goes off when you leave the room and lock the door, when we returned it was like an ice-box. The receptionist was very kind and had a fan heater put on when we went out for dinner so it was cosy when we returned. Noise from other guests could annoy people looking for tranquility so I agree with other comments insulation poor.
We were dissapointed with our stay as we expected more from a Hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gertrude52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2010
May I first of all thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at the Crown Spa Hotel. Our reception staff do carry out a satisfaction check as you stated in your comments, this was carried out and all issues regarding the room were resolved. I do agree that the cleanliness should be of the highest speck for a hotel of the Crowns standard and normally is, however there were issues and the head housekeeper has spoken to the room attendant concerned and these issues should not re occur and the room check procedure is now being reviewed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Booked the Crown for our second weekend break in 12 months mainly for the spa facilities. We were given a room on the 5th floor in the newly refurbished block. Absolutely superb room. The telescope was a really nice extra as was the TV on the bathroom wall.
The Spa facility is excellent with steam, sauna and a lovely pool as well as jacouzzi, scent room (did not get that) and top class gym.
Breakfast was fine but a bit mean charging an extra fiver for full english or kippers.

All in all a great weekend venue with lots to do and some lovely walking. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2010
Thanks for this fantastic review! It is great that you have come back for a second visit, it seems that we have met your expectations again.

We are glad that you enjoyed the room and the new mod cons that come with that, i.e the telescopes. It is great that you could take full advantage of the health club and spa facilities.

Thanks again for the review, we hope to see you for a third visit and hopefully we can continue to surpass your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at the Crown Spa hotel, after a wonderful visit a year ago. We decided to visit again and booked bed and breakfast online.
When we arrived we were impressed with the standard of accommodation, it was as expected and decorated to a high standard. The restaurant serves good food, although it's a bit pricey. That's the good things...

It would seem as though there a no upper limits to the heating thermostat and we were literally boiled alive in our room despite it being minus two outside with the window open all the time. I think that the higher the floor you are on, the hotter it gets. It really spoiled our trip, and we found ourselves dehydrated.
Breakfast left us disappointed and out of pocket. When you book online you are only purchasing a continental breakfast - This consists of a few slices of salami, processed cheese, a flaky croissant and toast, cereals and yoghurt. If you want a full English, you have to pay £5 extra, which is added to your room bill. It would seem as though they are trying to save money by skimping on the breakfasts and charging you extra.
We paid £300 for 3 nights - I would have expected a full English breakfast to be included in this price.
The service in the breakfast room on the Sunday was slow, but this picked up with a change of staff on Monday and Tuesday.
Our room was on the third floor and all we heard was the noise from the room above - It would seem that sound insulation does not apply here.
The spa facilities seem good, but a closer look and you realise that there are issues with maintenance and decoration - The steam room was closed for maintenance.
Despite having the reputation of being the best hotel in Scarborough, we won't be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally75England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2010
May I first of all thank you for the positive comments regarding the décor of the hotel and the restaurant food. I would also like to say how disappointed I am to hear that you wont be returning to the Crown. I have checked the managers log and unfortunately there were no reference to your issues regarding room temperature etc. When issues are pointed out and brought to the attention of the management and resolved immediately. Without the opportunity to put things right this will never happen.

I was a little bewildered to you comments regarding continental breakfast below is a list of products on offer for continental.

Orange juice
Apple juice
Cranberry juice
Tomato juice
Grapefruit juice

Salami
Ham
Brie
Ementhal

Croissants
Danish pastries
Pain au chocolate
Muffins
Homemade breads
Bread rolls
Sliced bread

A selection of fresh fruit
Stewed prunes
Grapefruit segments
Orange segments
Fresh fruit salad
Marinated apricots
Fruit compote

Natural Yoghurt
Fruit Yoghurt

Cornflakes
Weetabix
Rice crispies
Muesli
Bran flakes

Also all the usual condiments, tea coffee or hot chocolate. It does also state on the continental menu that there is a daily hot dish available. once again i am sorry to hear you will not be returning and woukd state that we do take all customer comments very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Having requested hot milk with our coffee at breakfast we were asked "would you like that really hot or just warm?". This is typical of the standard of service at this well appointed cliff top hotel. Nothing seems too much trouble to the staff.
Parking, which can be a problem in Scarborough, is on street but the hotel issues permits on arrival which allow free on street parking for up to four days. There is a temporary parking bay right outside the hotel to allow unloading and loading of luggage on arrival and departure.
The position provides great views although, with The Spa Bridge temporarily closed for renovation,getting to the shopping centre means dropping down into the Valley and a stiff walk up the other side.
The facilities in the Spa are excellent for an old hotel where the health centre is not purpose built. These include a decent sized swimming pool, sauna, steam room and aroma room.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LythamWeekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2010
Thank you for the review. It is very rewarding for the staff to receive such high praise.

We pride ourselves on offering the highest levels of service therefore it is great when a guest recognises this.

It is great that you could enjoy the facilities that we have in the health club and spa.

Thanks for taking the time to write this review and we hope to see you at the Crown again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
832 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,835 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing