We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stay here every October for our Annervarsary, always have a lovely time and relax in the spa. We have a light stroll down the front and order midnight room service. Very romantic place for us and would reccomend to anyone.

Restaurant serves nice food and not that overpriced for the quality your getting.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you and your partner have enjoyed your recent stay with us and we would like to congratulate you both on your anniversary! I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. The Hotel is renowned for its good food. Using the very best of local produce the Taste Restaurant offers fine dining and quality cuisine ranging from smart casual to formal.


We do hope that you continue to return to the hotel as we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I recommend booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the advantage offer. May I also advise viewing our spa and romance packages which include many added benefits and ensure that your experience is extra special.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,413
    1,563
    563
    193
    137
See reviews for
733
3,084
145
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Hotel in ideal position for walking in Scarborough. Parking (as usual) can be a problem unless you book and reserve a place at the hotel for an expensive £10 per night. Staff very friendly and helpful (except for 1 grumpy breakfast room manager). Hotel clean and well equipped. Rooms are well furnished and you get super bay views if you are on the front. Beds comfy and bathrooms with mood lighting are quirky. Hotel could do with some ventilation on the upper floors as it does get quite warm and stuffy with no air flow.

Room Tip: gtry and get one on the front, you'll appreciate the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your recent stay with us. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. We are extremely lucky to be in such a lovely location, being able to park your car at The Hotel and visit the centre and foreshore being a five minute walk away. There are many activities for all ages including miniature golf, amusements, Peasholm boating lake, museums and more. In addition to the private car park we can supply you with a complimentary permit; this covers the local area and ensures that you can leave your car in the same space for your full stay.


We do hope that you return to the hotel as we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I recommend booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the advantage offer.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Returned after 3 years away and we weren't disappointed. The room was perfect for the 3 of us, the beds were comfy and you can't beat the sea views. The pool was nice and warm in the spa and the buffet breakfast did the job. My only quibble would be the £195 for 1 night which to be honest is a bit toppy for what is a 4 * hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank davehelen1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are extremely lucky to be in such a fantastic location, there is plenty to do for all ages in the local area. The hotel is only five minutes from the town centre, foreshore and is surrounded by beautiful scenery and walking routes.


I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. We do hope that you continue to return as we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I recommend booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the advantage offer. This includes unlimited wifi, a noon checkout, 10% discount from your food and more.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel July 2014 and really enjoyed our stay. The room and hotel facilities were excellent and the staff were cheerful and always happy to help.

The spa facilities were a real highlight including an excellent gym, swimming pool, sauna, hot spa, steam room etc. The use of this added to an extremely pleasant few days.

The hotel is close to the town centre and promenade so all in all an excellent choice of hotel for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you and your wife have enjoyed your recent stay with us. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. May I recommend viewing the spa and romance packages which include many added benefits and ensure that your experience is extra special.


We do hope that you return as we would look forward to welcoming you back. I advise booking through the direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the advantage offer. This includes unlimited wifi, a noon checkout, 10% discount from your food and more.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Me and my husband came and stayed at the start of July for 3 nights and we weren't disappointed clean comfortable and very large room. Stunning views. Staff were friendly and would do anything to make ur stay enjoyable. We had a treatment in the spar and used the ice room sauna n steam room it was bliss would recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you and your partner have enjoyed your recent stay with us. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. We do hope that you return as we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I advise viewing our spa and romance packages which include many added benefits and ensure that your experience is extra special. I would also advise booking through the direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the advantage offer. This includes unlimited wifi, a noon checkout, 10% discount from your food, treatments and more.


Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have stayed here once before (which we loved) and visited here again for my partner's birthday weekend. On the whole had a very good stay. The positive points about the stay are as follows:
The spa is probably the best of any for a hotel with plenty to keep you going such as swimming pool, a huge jacuzzi, two different saunas, a steam room and foot spas. Simply great.
The second room we were in (room 355) was very spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable.
Continental breakfast had a wide selection of foods that you could help yourself too and it was of a high quality.
The service at the hotel was also a stand out and they really helped us out with the issues experienced over the course of our stay. This will certainly make us want to go back.
However, there were a couple of low-points to the stay, which were as follows:
We checked in early and were initially offered room 103. This room is extremely small and the tv did not face in the direction of the bed and could not move. We did not want to spend our weekend here and so were able to change rooms straight away. I would refuse it if offered it.
Our second room (room 355) was so much larger than the first room but it had one really bad problem. The bathroom absolutley stank and was made worse every time the toilet was flushed. The door to the bathroom had to remain closed at all time and when we alerted reception, who sent up someone to inspect it, they simply left the windows wide open. Clearly this issue needs resolving and if offered this room then check the bathroom first before you accept it.
As a result of our second issue we were compensated accordingly, which we will certainly make use of when we go back for our anniversary later this year.
On the whole we really enjoyed our stay, but it would have been much better if we did not have to experience the issues with the two rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid room 103. It is tiny and the tv faces the wrong direction to the bed. If you are offered room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
May I first of all say thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am always disappointed when any customer has any part of their stay spoilt and will always do our best to remedy the issue. I have since been to room 355 with the maintenance team and believe that the issue has now been sorted but do hope that you continue to visit the Crown and bring any issues you may have to our attention.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review as we do read and respond to all reviews and use them to enable us to improve the experience for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Staff were great - stay was very comfortable - got a free room upgrade - thanks very much. The only small down side was no aircon in the rom - it was a hot and humid night - only a ceiling fan. The location is very convenient for the town (for me ) and I guess if you want to walk or enjoy the coast the hotel would be ideal too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FleetJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. We do hope that you return as we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I advise booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the advantage offer. This includes unlimited wifi, a noon checkout, 10% discount from your food and more. May I also advise making the reception aware of any issues at the time of your stay as we would like to make your experience as comfortable as possible.


We are lucky to be in such a fabulous location, there is much to see and many activities to do for all ages in the local area. May you require a private room for a business meeting; the well-equipped suites can cater for 2 to 260 persons. With listed architectural features and cliff top locations, the suites make the perfect sophisticated back drop that will leave the right impression for any conference, function, event or meeting.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to im-prove the hotel for future guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
895 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,874 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,401 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing