We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Hotel is lovely, bedroom & bathroom impressive. Nice sea view.
Spa area is so relaxing & probably the best steam room I have been in ever. We ate in the restaurant and food was nice.
Staff were friendly & professional.
My only 2 complaints would be. Hotel advertised free wifi but you only get 2 hours then have to pay.
We went to the hotel bar at 10.30pm and sat next to a table that had just be vacated by a small family.
Their rubbish, empty glasses & fruit shoot container sat on the table for half an hour.
It's the little things that make perfection.
Yes I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank cinders1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a mostly positive review. Free wifi is available throughout the hotel but as you say is on a two hour daily basis, if you had used this you would have noticed that it runs for approximately three to four hours and there is no charge (free wifi) we do however offer free unlimited wifi to all customers that book direct with the hotel and receive our advantages package, this can be done by calling the hotel direct or booking on our website.

I am a little disappointed that the table next to you wasn’t cleared immediately which is normally the case but can only assume that it was the end of the shift when bar staff were finishing and night staff were taking over.
I will pass on your positive comments to both staff and management who I know will be delighted we have another customer who is happy to recommend the hotel.

I do hope that a future visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than a returning guest.

Once again thank you for the feedback as we do read and respond to both positive and negative feedback and use it to help provide a better service for future customers.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,911)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,787 - 3,793 of 4,911 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

Our stay at the Crown Spa was fabulous. The Spa treatments were just amazing, staff were so pleasant and explained everything. The penthouse suite was out of this world, room service excellent too. This was a present from my husband and was thoroughly enjoyable. Mr Chambers and his staff could not have done more to make our stay better. Massive thanks x

Room Tip: Views from all front rooms were breathtaking, how lucky to have a place like Scarborough to enjoy
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newlandspub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for leaving a positive review.


I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. I do hope your husband enjoyed his present and we do hope you will return to the hotel as we would look forward to welcoming you back. As a valued customer you are our number one priority and we will always do our upmost ensure you have a wonderful hotel experience.


May I advise booking through our direct website or over the telephone where you will benefit from our advantages offer. Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is of great importance to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.


With Kind Regards,

Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay at the Crown Spa and we decided to book a better room with a balcony, this was a lovely room but the bathroom was very disappointing, it was very small and only had the shower over the centre of the bath which is fine but if you don't want to wet your hair but need a shower, you have no chance ! There was no television in the bathroom which we had when we had the lower cost room on the top floor at back of the hotel but paid much less for,bathroom door was very dusty but room was nice and clean.Staff were all helpful and efficient. Breakfast was ok, we had full English because the continental breakfast consisted of cereals toast, a warm sausage, ham, Brie, melon and pastries, but no fresh bread or cobs !! Saying all this We will definitely stay again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susiefloosie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Customer Services at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased you have enjoyed your recent stay with us overall. We do hope you return and would very much look foreword to welcoming you back. As the hotel was built in 1845 each room varies slightly in size and shape, we are the oldest purpose built hotel in our coastal resort with many original architectural features still in their prime. The main price difference between your feature deluxe room and the executive room is due to the fact that their is a sea view and balcony.The feature rooms with a balcony are more traditional style as appose to the top floor, modern executive rooms. The executive rooms are the only rooms which include a TV over your bath, I advise booking an executive room if you wish to benefit from this technology.


May I recommend viewing our direct website for prices and availability where you shall benefit from the advantage offer when making a reservation. Thank you again for leaving feedback, it is of great importance to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.


With Kind Regards,

Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

just been to your lovely hotel for three days ,everything was perfect except for the freak weather,(not your fault)the rooms very spacious ,clean and warm, great food with lots of choice.and the staff were very attentive and helpful. will be back again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Customer Services at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for leaving a positive review.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your recent short break with us. It is a shame about the weather that you experienced, however it is the perfect excuse to return in the summer! Even a simple walk in our location is extremely satisfying when the weather is on your side.
May I recommend visiting our direct website, if you are to book directly on our website you can receive the advantage offer.


Thank you again for leaving feedback, it is of great importance to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. We do hope you return and would very much look foreword to welcoming you.


With Kind Regards,

Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed 1 night. hotel easy to find and location has lovely views of harbour. Parking on road outside hotel can be difficult to get spaces. Reception spacious and nice seating area. Staff extremely helpful, changed rooms for us and very accommodating. Room has a lovely view large bed, large flat screen TV and bathroom very clean and nice toiletries. WIFI free for 2 hrs. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marieanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel.
We do hope you return to the hotel and we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I advise booking through our direct website where you will receive the advantage offer, which includes unlimited wifi, 10% food discount and more. Also we do have the option of a space in our semi-secure car park which you can add to your reservation at a small charge, this will guarantee you an off-street space.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is of great importance and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.


With Kind Regards,

Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Obviously a huge amount of money has been spent on modernising this traditional facade . The bedrooms are beautifully appointed and reasonably sized as are the bathrooms. The lighting is very sophisticated in the rooms if a little gloomy and the lighting through the glass fridge door can be a nuisance at night. However, the overall experience is very pleasant with well trained and attentive staff. The bar and restaurant are pleasant areas and the breakfast service is very good. I can't comment on evening meals but the bar snacks were very well prepared. The basement swimming pool is modestly sized but very nice and has retained a charming Victorian ambiance

The town and it's attractions are a short, if steep, walk away but that is the nature of Scarborough. You are never far from a hill anywhere. If you want an up-market hotel experience, this hotel will not disappoint. For business users, there are useful conference rooms available too. Finally, the rooms seemed amazingly well sound proofed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for writing a positive review.


We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are extremely lucky to be in such a fabulous location, if you would like to avoid the hill towards town may I recommend the cliff lift, which is only a couple of minutes away and will take you to the foreshore of Scarborough for only a small fee.


Our conference rooms are well equipped suites, able to cater for between 2 and 260 people. Our listed architectural features and cliff top locations make a perfect backdrop that will leave the right impression for any conference, function, event or meeting.


I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. We do hope you return to the hotel and would look foreword to welcoming you back. Please feel free to view our direct website for prices and availability, there are added benefits if you book through our website. Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is of great importance to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.


With Kind Regards,

Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was the second time staying at the hotel. Our first experience was amazing so it was a no brainer deciding where to stay. The trip was to relax from work and the hotel and staff made the stay a relaxing enjoyable time.
Check in was hassle free, the girl on the desk was very welcoming and enthusiastic. We were offered assistance with our luggage. The room was lovely with a fantastic sea view and fantastic facilities including wifi and a tv in the bathroom!!
We used the room service option every night and all the staff were happy and seemed genuinely happy to help. The food was fantastic quality and tasted delicious.

Due to the time of year we chose to spend much of our time using the leisure facilities. The hotel pool and jacuzzi were immensely relaxing, adding to this the sauna facilities and there being someone in there most of the time, it goes to show what fantastic facilities these are provided by the hotel.

Checking out was simple and the receptionist enquired to how our stay had been. The whole stay was a great week. As was on our previous stay, all the staff encountered were very polite, happy and helpful and made our stay a fantastic relaxing week.

All in all a top hotel and we will look forward to staying again in the future!!
A big thank you to all the staff at the hotel!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for writing a positive review.

We are very pleased you have returned to the hotel and have managed to relax whilst taking a break from work. Visiting the Spa Health Club is a fantastic idea when the weather is not on your side. The club provides a sense of escapism and pure relaxation and as a hotel guest it is fully included. However you may wish to return when the weather is on your side as our surroundings and views are wonderful, a simple stroll is highly satisfying.


I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel, you are our number one priority and we do hope you return to the hotel in the near future. Thank you again for leaving feedback as it is of great importance to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests. We hope to welcome you back soon.


With Kind Regards,

Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,259 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,892 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,433 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $91 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing