We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here twice now and the hotel is a lovely treat. We were upgraded to a sea view superior by the very lovely receptionist that checked us in. The room was lovely and I felt like a princess!

We used the pool and spa and was welcomed in by the friendliest lady on the welcome desk- this lady is an asset to your team!

The pool clean and tidy, the sauna lovely and warm and the steam room
Was lovely too. The only thing is the aroma room didn't smell of anything and was not very warm. The jacuzzi was out of service whilst we were in there but we did not mind- we understand that everything needs maintaining

We did not have breakfast on out recent visit as we had it before and we're not too bothered as it was continental and had to pay extra for full English.

Car parking- on road parking, not really an issue for us but can pay to use their own private car park but believe this is quite small.

We will be back when we need a little pick me up treat- as it is pricey but lovely for a break!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Truthonlythanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. I am always delighted when a customer has had an enjoyable stay, I will pass on your positive comments to both staff and management who I know will be pleased we have another satisfied customer.

once again thank to for taking the time to leave a review as we do read and respond to all reviews to enable us to improve our service for future guests.

Kind regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,907)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,826 - 3,832 of 4,908 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

Gutted.
We have paid over £230 for 1 night at the hotel with Christmas lunch. The welcome was ok, room was upgraded to superior...... Really......... We had to move the bed to see the TV, under the bed was disgusting. The Christmas lunch was poor, herded through faster than a cattle market!! Main course was sparse with cold veg, my other half had to ask 3 different waiters for cutlery and we have just been told there is no room service!!! The luxury mood bathroom...... Took hours to run (cold by the time I got in) rant, rant, rant........ What a complete waste of money and our 2013 Christmas Day.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoCo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

May I first of all say how disappointed I am when any of our customers are not happy with the food and service we provide, what is even more frustrating is when we hand out a welcome letter to all customers asking them to bring any issues they may have to my attention what becomes even more frustrating is that a customer would write a negative review whilst still in the hotel and without asking to speak to a member of the management team. Over the festive period I was on duty every day from early morning until early evening and feel extremely disappointed that we were not given the opportunity to resolve these problems.

This year was the first year we have sold hotel rooms on a room only basis and do feel that in the future we may need to offer an alternative food offer on Christmas day, this is being looked into and will be advertised on all websites that we sell on.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we do read all reviews and respond and use the information to help us improve the hotel for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We arrived at The Crown Spa on Saturday the 14th December for our works Christmas Party, the Lobby had a warm welcoming and bubbly atmosphere. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We all really enjoyed the meal the food was great!! The atmosphere in the food hall was very lively and lots of people having a great time and really kicked off the night. Would Definatley come back again next year! Compliments to the Chef's and all the kitchen staff for for making the night happen!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StepneyHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a positive review, over the festive period we have had a lot of local companies enjoy their company parties at the Crown and all feedback has been excellent. I do hope that the Crown in at the top of your list for the next years festivities.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we do read all reviews and respond and use the information to help us improve the hotel for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is probably the best hotel in Scarborough, being the only 4* it has fabulous views across the town from the Esplanade. There is a big choice of room types available, we opted for a more contemporary executive room as these are the newest, being added to the top floor as part of a revamp a few years ago. The older rooms are more traditional but benefit from bigger windows and some fantastic views.

We did not dine here but enjoyed drinks in the busy bar by the log fire, very cosy, There is also a decent spa and small pool if you get time to use them.

Room Tip: Look on the website and check prices, they do vary and may reduce the nearer you get to your arrival...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s9mgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review I will pass on your positive comments to all of the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review as we do respond to all feedback and use it to improve the experience for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived for a night stay at the hotel monday 16th and what a fantastic experience we have had. We were greeted by Dave (manwell) as we call him and how brilliant he is from beginning to end of our stay he made us feel welcome, totally went out of his way to keep us happy along with the other barman John who did the exact same! The hotel itself is fantastic all spa facillities very useful and room was spaceous, comfy and everything provided that we would need for our stay! Will definitley be back beginning of next year and would recommend to everyone maybe have to have more than 1 night next time!!! Thank you for a brilliant and welcoming stay!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank hannahrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review, I am delighted that you have had such a lovely time and do hope that a future stay will be for a few a few more days. Both Dave & john have been with us for some time and are always on hand to make sure our customers have an enjoyable stay.

I will pass on your positive comments to both the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer who wants to return to the Crown.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review as we do respond to all feedback and use it to improve the experience for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here on 14th December 2013 in an Executive King room and we were extremely happy with our stay. I wish we'd had time to use more of the facilities and will definitely use them next time we stay. I'd highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review, I am delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay and I do hope that a return trip to Scarborough does bring you back to the Crown. I will pass on your positive comments to both the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer who wants to return to the Crown.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review as we do respond to all feedback and use it to improve the experience for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and have always been very pleased with the service and accommodation. We did not think that the hotel could improve on this , but our last visit we enjoyed even more. The staff are all helpful and polite, nothing is too much trouble. The added parking behind the hotel for a small charge was an added bonus. Our room was spotlessly clean with a modern flat screen TV ( TV also in bathroom!) Our breakfast was excellent and cooked exactly as requested. We had a very enjoyable stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mingandchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review, I am delighted that you have once again had an enjoyable stay and I do hope that you keep returning to and the Crown. I will pass on your positive comments to both the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer who wants to return to the Crown.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review as we do respond to all feedback and use it to improve the experience for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,257 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,887 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,430 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $89 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing