We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived for a night stay at the hotel monday 16th and what a fantastic experience we have had. We were greeted by Dave (manwell) as we call him and how brilliant he is from beginning to end of our stay he made us feel welcome, totally went out of his way to keep us happy along with the other barman John who did the exact same! The hotel itself is fantastic all spa facillities very useful and room was spaceous, comfy and everything provided that we would need for our stay! Will definitley be back beginning of next year and would recommend to everyone maybe have to have more than 1 night next time!!! Thank you for a brilliant and welcoming stay!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hannahrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review, I am delighted that you have had such a lovely time and do hope that a future stay will be for a few a few more days. Both Dave & john have been with us for some time and are always on hand to make sure our customers have an enjoyable stay.

I will pass on your positive comments to both the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer who wants to return to the Crown.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review as we do respond to all feedback and use it to improve the experience for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,401
    1,555
    559
    189
    136
See reviews for
727
3,066
144
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here on 14th December 2013 in an Executive King room and we were extremely happy with our stay. I wish we'd had time to use more of the facilities and will definitely use them next time we stay. I'd highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review, I am delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay and I do hope that a return trip to Scarborough does bring you back to the Crown. I will pass on your positive comments to both the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer who wants to return to the Crown.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review as we do respond to all feedback and use it to improve the experience for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and have always been very pleased with the service and accommodation. We did not think that the hotel could improve on this , but our last visit we enjoyed even more. The staff are all helpful and polite, nothing is too much trouble. The added parking behind the hotel for a small charge was an added bonus. Our room was spotlessly clean with a modern flat screen TV ( TV also in bathroom!) Our breakfast was excellent and cooked exactly as requested. We had a very enjoyable stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mingandchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review, I am delighted that you have once again had an enjoyable stay and I do hope that you keep returning to and the Crown. I will pass on your positive comments to both the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer who wants to return to the Crown.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review as we do respond to all feedback and use it to improve the experience for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in October 2013. We've stayed there before and always left satisfied. This time, however we were upgraded to an executive room which was lovely and made our stay all the more pleasurable. As usual we stayed 2 nights. What can I say?
The room was fantastic and well stocked with more than you could need, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was a joy. The hotel has a welcoming atmosphere, the staff are friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is first rate and 'belly busting'. The Spa it's self is clean and relaxing with all the facilities you would expect in a 4 star hotel. We'd paid a little more and had a couple of treatments including a relaxing back massage and a “Mud Rasul” which was amazing. If you're planning on staying the night in Scarborough this is the hotel to do it in. We'll definitely be back in fact its a bit of an annual treat for us now... two nights a year in the Crown Spa, can't wait for our next visit

Room Tip: Always request an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review, I am delighted that you have once again had an enjoyable stay and I do hope that you keep returning to and the Crown. The Spa is a wonderful place to spend an afternoon relaxing when the weather is a little cold and the Rasul treatments are a real treat.

I will pass on your positive comments to both the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer who wants to return to the Crown.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review as we do respond to all feedback and use it to improve the experience for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire eee by gum
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

lovely place, shame about the food. cold turkey, " roasted potatoes " that were deep fried and tasted of old chip fat. Undercooked sprouts that you couldn't stick your fork in. A good variety of other vegetables, all under cooked and cold. Starters and puddings were all acceptable. A good after dinner disco. We paid £32.50 per head for 40 people who all complained. We were given a drink afterwards as way of apology.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank eezyrydaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
May I first of all say how disappointed I am that you were not happy with certain aspects of the food served at the party night. Having spoken to the manager Philippe who dealt with your complaint and after speaking to the bar staff who the complaint was voiced in front of it does appear that a lot of your party had no issue with the turkey and that the main issue was with the sprouts that may have been undercooked.

Philippe dealt with this in a manner that I am satisfied with and I feel that the wine that was given as recompense was adequate. On the same night we did serve over 160 other people all of whom complimented the evening’s food.
Once again I am extremely sorry that on this occasion certain aspects were not to your satisfaction.

We do thank all of our customers for taking the time to write a review and use any feedback to enable us to provide a better service for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby-de-la-zouch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed two nights at The Crown Spa Hotel. When we arrived we had a complimentary upgraded room which was a lovely surprise! The room was at the rear of the hotel and was very spacious and comfortable. It had a king size bed, flat screen tv and good coffee and tea making facilities. I loved the lighting in the bathroom.
The lounge area was very cosy with a log burning fire.
All of the staff were very helpful and pleasant which made our stay very enjoyable. We came away feeling very relaxed and will definitely be returning to this hotel again next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, I am delighted that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade something we often are able to do during the quieter months.

We do have some wonderful staff who are always delighted when we have a customer that leaves the hotel happy. I will pass on your positive comments to both the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer who wants to return to the Crown

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hotel is in a lovely lofty position, so (if you have a sea facing room) you can get quite a lovely view.

Good.
* nice rooms IF you get upgraded. The standard rooms are only just that, standard
* the breakfast has a good spread available BUT at £15, I would expect that. Is it worth £15, no
* FREE wi-fi now, they did used to charge, with a 2 hour free version, but it seems to be totally free now and the service is decent

Not so good
* the bar prices are VERY high
* if you intend to eat there, take out a 2nd mortgage. It may be OK food, but the prices are far from it. It is not bad food, just a tad expensive
* parking by the hotel can be difficult, so either get there early and squeeze in, or park round the corner after 5pm for free. If you need parking, ask for a permit, it is free anyways

Overall its a nice hotel, but I have no other reference points for Scarborough, as my company always use this one for us. Would I pay my own money to stay there, yes

Room Tip: Check what room you have before you pay and ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HunterTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a very informative review. I am in full agreement that the hotel isn’t the cheapest but do feel that we offer real value for money however we are never going to charge the prices for drinks that are available in some large franchised bars.

Our menu is extremely varied and we have menus with two courses and a large glass of wine for £23 with starters from £5 and main courses starting at £ 9.50, we also offer a light breakfast option with hot sandwiches and coffee from £4.95

I am delighted that you would return to the hotel as a tourist and hope that sometime in the future you do.

I will pass on your positive comments to both the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer who wants to return to the Crown

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
858 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,854 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,373 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing