We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, comfy rooms, beautiful position overlooking the sea - perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have just returned home from 5 days' holiday at the Crown Spa Hotel and can't wait to return there again next year. From arriving at the hotel, we were greeted warmly by Loren, part of the reception team, who informed us we had been upgraded to a Superior Comfort room, which was a lovely surprise. She was exceptional in her kindness and helpfulness to us, both at the beginning and end of our stay, as were all of the staff, who could not do enough for us. What a lovely team!

Our room was extremely comfortable and very spacious, with a lovely soft bed which made for an excellent sleep every night. We had a massive bathroom with gorgeous mood lighting which you could adjust from soft, golden lighting to a gentle pinky-purple glow. The bathroom was immaculately clean, as was the rest of our bedroom and the hotel in general. The hospitality tray was well stocked every day with Yorkshire tea, coffee, ground coffee (a little cafetiere was provided - a nice touch), hot chocolate, and biscuits. We had a huge tv (it must have been 50 inches long), via which we could access all the Freeview channels/radio stations, and there were little, flexible reading lights built into each side of our bed, which could be adjusted so one person could read and not disturb their partner if he/she wanted to sleep.

The Crown Spa commands a prime position on the South Cliff, just above the Spa, and the views across to the town and harbour and out to sea are breathtaking. There are some beautiful walks in this area and this part of the town is peaceful on an evening. This hotel truly deserves its 4-star status. Having stayed in many hotels and guest houses over the years, we have never met such superb staff, nor enjoyed ourselves, as much as the 5 days we have just experienced at this hotel. If you want comfort, good old-fashioned, old-world courtesy, and great facilities, we would recommend this hotel as your first choice in Scarborough.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a Superior Comfort room, as you get a lovely, really spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the free upgrade and that a warm welcome was given by Lauren, she is a new member of the team and is proving to be very popular with both the staff and customers.

I will pass on your positive comments to both staff and management who I know will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Once again thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback, we do read and respond to all feedback and use it to create a better environment for future customers. I do hope that a further visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than a returning guest.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,910 - 3,916 of 4,928 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

A wonderful pleasant stay. Enjoyed the relaxation of the spa in the evening. Room was wonderful, apart from the champagne cork under the bedside cabinet. Lovely bathroom. Restuarant/bar was nice with good food and staff. Breakfast was very good, chef was happy to cater for all your requirements. Would be nice to stay for leisure for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a mostly positive review. I am delighted that the room facilities and food was to the standard you expected. I do apologise that the champagne cork under the furniture was overlooked.

Once again thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback, we do read and respond to all feedback and use it to create a better environment for future customers. I do hope that a further visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than a returning guest.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My fiancée and I stayed at the Crown Spa hotel for 3 nights, last week (1st – 3rd October 2013) in room 512.
The room was a very good size and had a large bathroom. The Shower (located in the ceiling, directly in the middle of the bath) had excellent water pressure, and as such was like being washed by a waterfall. There was a TV in the bath which was novel. The main TV was a fairly modern flat panel of decent size (37”) and had slots for external devices such as Blu-Ray player, DVD, Laptop, iPod Dock etc. There was free Wi-Fi and robes and slippers provided, which all made the stay like a home from home.
What made the room was the stunning sea view, we had viewed another room in the hotel, which although was as nice as this one, the view was worth the upgrade fee (£25 extra per night) and made our stay as we spent more time than normal in the hotel to relax.
The spa was excellent and had good amenities within its labyrinth of corridors. Everything was well maintained and clean.
We had continental breakfast as part of our stay and the food on offer was diverse and was great quality. We never tried the cooked breakfast, so cannot comment.
There were a few anomalies that knock a star off and prevent us from giving full marks. On the ground floor at reception, in the lift area, there was a very strong smell of sewage which was very off putting. We did not report this smell to the reception at the time, as we wanted to see if it was a one off, but it seemed to be constant. We will be providing feedback on this to the hotel directly. Also, upon phoning room service and then the reception, using the contact card provided, there was no answer. I had to go down personally to the reception to order room service, which despite not being that much of a problem, kind of defeats the purpose of the service. I was told upon arrival at reception that there was only 2 staff operating at the reception and they were busy, so couldn’t answer the phone. That’s not really what customers should be told, and there was no apology. The bar where I ordered the room service was much more attentive and apologetic to the lack of response and dealt with our request quickly and with a smile.
Overall a great place to stay and with a couple of tweaks would receive full marks. We love Scarborough and this must be one of the finest places to stay. Don’t hesitate.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must. Floor 5 is the premium floor, with the best views and rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogF1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a mostly positive review. I am delighted that the room facilities and food was to the standard you expected.
I am in full agreement that the fact the hotel and reception area were extremely busy was of no concern to yourself and have informed all reception staff that this is information that the customer does not need to hear.
I do wish that you had spoken to someone with regards to the smell that you describe as this would have helped us resolve what may have been an issue.
Once again thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback, we do read and respond to all feedback and use it to create a better environment for future customers. I do hope that a further visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than a returning guest.
Kind Regards
David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was a very positive experience right from the very pleasant and efficient receptionist at check in. We were given an unexpected upgrade and the room was a good size and well fitted out. Our only complaint was that it was difficult to cool it down making it difficult to get a good sleep.
Normally we would go for a cooked breakfast however the excellent spread for the continental option meant that we stayed with the "healthy option"
We ate in the restaurant on 2 occasions and were of the opinion that the food was good value and the service was first class.
In conclusion this was a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: It may be that our room was on level 5 the top floor and this might explain why it was so warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am delighted that you have had such a positive experience with the hotel its food and service, nothing pleases me more than when our customers leave satisfied.

I will pass on your positive comments to the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do read and reply to all reviews and use them to better our product for future guests.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

we visited on 22nd and 23rd september. 1st wedding anniversary treat. lovely room paid for romance package and was worth the price. gorgeous room/view and hotel. lovely facilities. cant wait to go back. we happened to go on 2 hot days for September.
The only fault was our room had a balcony... with one door and no windows so overnight was really hot and wasn't trusting enough to leave doors open all night. recommend the hotel get air conditioning. The bar was clean and comfortable. the restaurant in the evening was over priced and steak overcooked but was clean and waiters polite, so we ate at a lovely italian the next night round the corner. overall great experience. thanks

Room Tip: balcony, gorgeous views just really hot overnight. eat out if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaw-j22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

I have been at the hotel for over 13 years and have never had a problem with balcony doors being left open, however each door does have a child lock that allows the door to be left open about six inched.

I will pass on your positive comments to the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do read and reply to all reviews and use them to better our product for future guests.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Crown Spa hotel the nights of September 21 & 22 in room 502 for the same conference as has been mentioned by other reviewers. Our only minor quibble (and not quite enough to knock off a star) was having to wait until late afternoon for our room on arrival.

The (large) room was, frankly, delightful with a proportionately large and rather Continental-in-appearance bathroom - although no handheld shower for girls. Beautiful sea view encompassing the entire bay with the Castle on our left. Rather odd windows which wouldn't open beyond a few centimetres (they appeared to be the only part of the room not to have been included in a total makeover relatively recently). The corridor, incidentally, matched the room: fresh, clean and new.

Service from the reception desk (delightful, helpful, girls) to the bars was attentive and prompt. There was a problem for some guests at breakfast on Saturday morning when cups apparently ran out. Bar drinks were expensive but, honestly, for cheap drinks : supermarket and stay at home.

We didn't reach the hotel's Spa so can't comment on that.

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for our room : 502.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maisonpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am sorry that you struggled with the windows there is a sign on the window and simply pushing the child lock down allows the window to be fully opened.

We do constantly strive to be one of the best hotels in the area and do succeed more often than not unfortunately the old saying “ you cant please all the people all of the time” does often ring true, but given the opportunity we will always resolve any issues that may arise.

I will pass on your positive comments to the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do read and reply to all reviews and use them to better our product for future guests.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the Crown for 2 nights to join our friends who were on holiday in the area. It was a last minute booking and good value as a 'Smart Deal'. On arrival we were upgraded to a mini-suite which was a superb bonus. Although only continental breakfast was booked, it was nice to find a 'hot dish' included each morning. It is obvious from other reviews that some rooms have not yet been refurbished, but ours was excellent. All areas were very smart and clean, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and the service was excellent. We did not have time to use the Spa but know from members of our family that the facilities are good.
Yes - parking can be an issue - but we were given a pass which gave free parking on many of the surrounding streets and there is a large 'drop-off and pick-up' bay right outside the hotel entrance where all passengers and luggage can be offloaded - so only the driver has to do the extra bit of walking!
We shall definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Mini suite 553 is at the side but has a nice view of the castle and distant sea - it even has a tele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeBe268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. I do hope that when customers read reviews that they realise they are only the opinions of other customers and the negative points are not always correct. We have 24 rooms on our executive floor all of which were built in the 21st century and do have an extremely modern feel, however the hotel was built in 1845 and some rooms do carry some original features like the plaster casting on walls and ceilings, I do realise that some people including my own children think that this is old fashioned. All rooms have been refurbished over the past five years.

I will pass on your positive comments to the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do read and reply to all reviews and use them to better our product for future guests.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,266 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,910 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $90 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing