We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We decided on another pre-Christmas break at Scarborough's Crown Spa Hotel, based on two previous very happy stays. We weren't disappointed. We arrived a little early for check in, and were offered complimentary coffee in the lounge while we waited. Check in was quick and straightforward, and we were upgraded to a penthouse sea view room, which was perfect. We were also given a free parking voucher which lasted the duration of our stay. We had a courtesy call from reception after an hour or so to check if we were happy with the room. The bed was very comfortable, the room was toasty warm, the en-suite was impressive with its integral TV at the end of the bath, and the included wi-fi was faster than anything I ever experience at home! We made full and daily use of the pool & spa facilities, which were well maintained and a pleasure to experience.

Continental breakfast was included in our deal, and this was very substantial, keeping us going well through the day. We used the Taste Bar restaurant on our second evening, and this was the only slightly negative experience - an elderly couple came in after us, but before we had given our order. It appeared to us that the staff were very keen to 'look after' this couple, and, indeed, their order was taken before ours, and a great deal of fuss was made of them. My partner had a word, and our order was taken shortly afterwards. The food, when it came, was very good. I mentioned our experience on checking out, and received an apology. This might seem a minor matter, but the point is surely that our money is as good as anyone else's, and if you are paying for four star service, you should get it.

Overall, we once again enjoyed our stay very much, and hope to be back before next Christmas.

Room Tip: go for a sea view if you can!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalifaxThespian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you once again for visiting the Crown over the festive period and taking the time to write such a positive and honest review. The only thing that pleases me more than a satisfied guest is a returning satisfied guest.

I will certainly pass on your kind words to our team at our next management meeting who I know will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,907)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,168 - 4,174 of 4,907 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just had a 2 night break at the crown spa, lucky to find a free parking spot nearby. Our room was upgraded, really warm and comfy even had a small fridge. from the back windows you could see the castle. the bathroom was a surprise with t.v at end of bath! Staff friendly and helpfull, only a short walk over the bridge into town. Will look at another break there in the spring. forgot to mention the spa, tried the sauna, foot spa and jacuzzie.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynwilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and honest review. I will certainly pass on your kind words to our team at our next management meeting who I know will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just returned from a 4 day stay at the Crown Spa. Can't wait to return. We can't find any negative thing to report only positive ones. From the welcome at reception, to our room(albeit at the back of the hotel) which had beautiful views over Scarborough town, to the wow factor when entering the bathroom. The bed was so comfortable that we didn't want to get up. The food offered in the Taste restaurant, the continental breakfast - why would anyone want a cooked breakfast, when presented with such an array of choices. The staff are so friendly and helpful. I did treat myself to an afternoon with a swim and use of the leisure facilities and later had a spot of pampering, wonderful. Thank you to everyone at Crown Spa, we will certainly sing your praises and recommend you to all our friends. We will definately return.

Room Tip: Our room was classed as a king size and was brilliant. Room 357.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0915laney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing and honest review. As with most hotels we do have rear facing room but as you state there are wonderful views across the town and countryside.

I will certainly pass on your kind words to our team at our next management meeting who I know will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Had a lovely overnight stay between Christmas and new year. Lovely rooms on fifth floor with comfy beds, lovely wood furniture, coloured lights in bathroom to add ambience and a tv and radio system in the bath!, breakfast was a delight lovely fresh food, perfect poached eggs and lots of choice. All staff very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Fifth floor was great but other rooms looked lovely too.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holiday2010Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a short but positive review, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay over the christmas period and do hope that a return trip to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown.

I will certainly pass on your kind words to our team at our next management meeting who I know will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

just spent christmas at the crown spa in scarborough,it was fantastic.the staff could'nt do
enough for you everyone was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
the food was fantastic and so much choice.all in all a great christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drewery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Over the Christmas period Scarborough was hit with extremely high winds which were heard throughout the hotel, this unfortunately is somewhat of an issue when you are perched on a cliff 100 yards from the north sea.

I can assure you that the price you paid for the room was a great deal cheaper than it was on late rooms and in no way where we trying to squeeze an extra £40 out of you.

We did advertise on the internet and also informed all customers that we had a reduced menu over the festive period. I am sorry that these issues spoilt what should have been an enjoyable stay and extremely disappointed that you will be looking elsewhere for a wedding venue.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I booked a romantic break via late rooms as I was intending to propose to my partner. I booked a junior suite £97. After reading the many excellent reviews I thought I would change booking for an executive room as everyone raved bout the standard of the bath room and the tv's. I looked on late rooms and these rooms were still available at the same price. Rather than cancel first booking and book again I emailed the hotel directly and asked if they could change my reservation. I had to wait a day for a response but they said I could change booking directly with them and I could upgrade for £20 per night, happy days or so I thought. Checked in and found room 556 to be tucked away at the back facing the town, a room I could have booked via late rooms and saved the £40. As the room is next to the fire escape don't expect much sleep if it's windy as the metal parts of the railings clang and bang all night. Room service menu was reduced to a few burgers and it would have been nice if someone had let us know this when we checked in as we planned Saturday on the basis of having romantic meal in room at night, no chance if afternoon teas either which was a great shame as many reviews mention how nice it is. Room finished to very high standard and very comfortable. On the whole staff are very attentive and helpful although a couple of the bar staff looked liked they would rather be somewhere else and thought it was fine to stand a the bar moaning, maybe not where guests can hear you guys next ?? We were going to look into holding our wedding here but have decided to look else where, shame attention to detail and squeezing an extra £40 out of me let you down

Stayed weekend of 28th December 2012

Room Tip: Room 556 very noisey if it is windy
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Over the Christmas period Scarborough was hit with extremely high winds which where heard throughout the hotel, this unfortunately is somewhat of an issue when you are perched on a cliff 100 yards from the north sea.

I can assure you that the price you paid for the room was a great deal cheaper than it was on late rooms and in no way where we trying to squeeze an extra £40 out of you.

We did advertise on the internet and also informed all customers that we had a reduced menu over the festive period. I am sorry that these issues spoilt what should have been an enjoyable stay and extremely disappointed that you will be looking elsewhere for a wedding venue.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Excellent Christmas break at the Crown Spa Hotel. Service, cleanliness, comfort all outstanding. Our room on the fifth floor had spectacular views of the South Bay and harbour with a window seat from which to enjoy these views. Touches of luxury included a tv screen above the bath and fruit and chocolates in the room. Meals were first class - lots of variety and beautifully served. The spa facilities are excellent with pool, jacuzzi, saunas, steam room, chill out room, aroma room and foot spas.
We were about the youngest over Christmas 41 and 51 respectively. Mostly couples and mostly older end - however a very good atmosphere throughout.
Nice touches were Santa and his elves giving out gifts to all residents on Xmas morning and complimentary tea/coffee, mulled wine, kir royale at various points in the lounges throughout the Xmas break. Very much enjoyed the recitations from Charles Dickens by a member of the Malton Charles Dickens Society in Victorian costume on Xmas Eve accompanied by afternoon tea.
Only downsides - bedrooms far too hot. We had the windows open the entire time! Whilst in the Consort Suite, the air conditioninig was very fierce at times and had us shivering! The only other gripe was the lack of entertainment on Xmas Eve and Xmas Day after dinner. Would have expected more from a 4 star hotel over Xmas. Some guests, like ourselves were disappointed.
The hotel is a little walk from the centre of South Bay, being situated on the Esplanade and it is quite a climb up to it from the town centre. If you are at all unfit or unhealthy - suggest a taxi from the town centre or beach.
However on the whole this was a first class experience and the Crown is to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fusssybritches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a honest and mostly positive review, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and do hope that you return in the future.

We are currently looking at reviewing the Christmas package but have found that after many years in the business that after consuming a great deal of food on Christmas day most guests are happy with a quitter night.

I will pass on your positive comments to the team who I know will be delighted with your review. I do hope that a future visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as we do enjoy having guests return.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,257 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,887 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,430 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $90 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing