We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Perfect wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our Perfect wedding”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

we got married at the Crown Spa in July 2011

We are 47/50 Second Wedding

The wedding planners were amazing every detail was planned from the moment we arrived th the end of the wedding every small detail taken care off so everything flowed
throughout the day and night we just had a wondefull time

We had 44 guests stay for two days enjoying the wonderfull spa
Our wedding Ceromony on Saturday was held in a beautifull room overlooking the sea

Followed by pimms on the sun terrace again overlooking the beautiful bay

We had our wedding breakdast in a beautifull room ajoining our own private bar and terrace area

We had beef wellington calved by two chefs in the room ( and to quote our guests it was just perfection )

we had the perfect location
wonderfull facilites at the hotel the spa is very well equipped and very relaxing
The hotel rooms are beautifull from suites to family rooms
The hotel has exellent Staff nothing being too much trouble for anyone

We had the perfect wedding and weakend away for our freinds and family

If you looking for a venue small or large

I would recomend the crown spa as being perfect for any event or for a relaxing break

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGELA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
May I first of all say congratulations and thank you for your positive feedback, I am delighted that you wedding and the preparation were of the exacting standards to be expected from the crown.

Whether our customers are planning a wedding, birthday or just some special time together we feel that the Crown is certainly the place for all occasions.

I will certainly pass on your thoughts to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,286
    1,480
    536
    182
    133
See reviews for
695
2,917
135
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Great hotel, amazing hospitality, great staff, very kind and caring, great location, great swimming pool, our little man loved it! Highly recommended! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponglishkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the staff and service to be of a very high standard.

I will certainly pass on your thoughts to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chunk1985
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed here for one night on the August bank holiday. Never stayed over in Scarborough before and unfortunately it never stopped raining.....good old british weather!
We didn't arrive till late about 5.30pm and we were worried about parking but luckily enough we managed to get parked on the same road as the hotel so we were given a parking disc and didn't have to worry about paying parking. Everyone was really friendly. The room was lovely, we were at the back of the hotel but the view really doesn't bother me as I don't stay in the room looking out the window. The pink lights in the bathroom were brill.....my boyfriend now wants to put some in our bathroom :-) The room was very modern and clean.
Despite the weather we did have a walk into the town centre which was about 10-15 minute walk. Luckily there is a really nice Mexican on the hotels door step called El Gringos......gotta try it, its really nice. We had drinks in the hotel and weren't that expensive. The Spa facilities are really nice, the jacuzzi is massive!!! It got a big busy but we were still able to relax and enjoy the facilites.
Overall I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunk1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
I am absolutely delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at The Crown and I speak on behalf of myself and the team when I say thank you so much for your comments.

Most customers do find parking is quite easy even over the busy bank holiday but for those customers that prefer we do have a semi secure car park to the rear of the building that can be booked in advance.

It goes without saying that I will pass on your kind words to the staff; we endeavour to make our guests stay a pleasurable one. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

we stayed for 1 night with a 5 year old and a toddler. we had booked a family room and were upgraded to a superior seafront room. I'm not normally bothered about views, but it was lovely to open the curtains and see the sea. the room was lovely - big double bed, fluffy pillows, towels, bathrobes etc. our 5 year old slept on a sofa bed anda cot was provided for the baby. the bathroom was fantastic - looked recently refurbished with a drench shower and waterfall tap for the bath which the kids loved!

we had lunch at the hotel and it was excellent, and very generous portions for the kids meals. We also had breakfast the following morning, which was a good standard, and the buffet very plentiful - in hindsight I think i would just have that instead of pre booking the cooked breakfast.

the staff were very helpful, friendly and pleasant.

I would come back again, depending on price. we paid over £200 for the night, which was top end of our budget.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahburton30260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the bedroom, staff and service to be of a very high standard.

In the height of the season our prices are often at a premium rate but some wonderful deals will be available throughout the winter months.

I will certainly pass on your thoughts to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Not only was the hotel beautiful, clean with a gorgeous spa but for that extra touch the hotel staff were friendly and genuinely helpful.
Would definately recommend in paying that slight extra for the amazing sea view.
Bed was a little on the hard side and room a little warm but the quality of the room itself made up for these slight niggles.
These are the hotels which make you stay in England for holidays!!

Room Tip: Sea view, superior is definatley worth getting. Bed was slightly hard and room a little warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthless3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
I am absolutely delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at The Crown and I speak on behalf of myself and the team when I say thank you so much for your comments. i do agree that the seaviews are to die for and are well worth paying that little extra.

Over the winter months there will be some great bargains to be had on our website so please do keep a look out for another great break.

Thanks again and it goes without saying that I will pass on your kind words to the staff; we endeavour to make our guests stay a pleasurable one. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We have come back from this hotel today. It was an excellent hotel. We had a standard room which was well equiped and very clean with those nice little finishing touches to make your stay special. The continental breakfast was exceptionally good with everything you could wish for. The staff were polite and helpful at all times. We enjoyed the Spa Area especially the steam room. If there is just one commment to make, you need to repair the steps in the pool area although they were cornered off I still feel they were a hazard to small children. Apart from this I have no other bad comments and would advise anyone to stay here for a fully relaxing holiday. Well done to all the staff !!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueTimmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
I am absolutely delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at The Crown and I speak on behalf of myself and the team when I say thank you so much for your comments.

We have had an issue with the steps down from the pool and really need to have some down time to do the repair which we do hope can happen once the children return to school.

It goes without saying that I will pass on your kind words to the staff; we endeavour to make our guests stay a pleasurable one. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed at The Crown Spa Hotel for seven nights in August this year, having booked a superior room, which I think was well worth the little extra it cost, we had a lovely stay there. Our (much larger than average) room was at the front of the hotel, with a beautiful sea view. Our bed was very comfortable, only two nights were disturbed by noisy and inconsiderate guests, you have to expect that I guess. The bathroom was roomy with lovely quality fittings, housekeeping did an excellent job, both our room and all public areas were spotless at all times. We found the staff to be very helpful & friendly, especially John, (the bar manager maybe? If not, then he should be promoted!) We felt welcome at all times. Our deal included a continental breakfast, if you want a full English then you pay an extra £5 per person per breakfast, we didn't bother as we found plenty of choice with the continental option. The location is perfect if you prefer a slightly more 'upmarket' British seaside experience, a totally different vibe to the other end of Scarborough which is much more traditional, lots of slot machines, candy floss, fish & chips etc.
A minor issue could be parking, there is no hotel car park, you either park on one of the many side streets, or in a public car park. On check in you'll be given a parking permit to display for your stay, however if you can't find a space on the street, then you'll have to pay for the car parks.
The Crown Spa was Scarborough's first purpose bulit hotel, it opened around 1840 and is a really attractive site. All of the rooms are different sizes and shapes which adds to the character. We didn't use the spa this time, but overheard other guests positive comments about it.
Overall we had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend this hotel, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincslady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us, we're very proud of the hotel and really do appreciate hearing the great comments made. I will certainly pass on your comments regarding both service and food to the team and especially john as they strive to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay, so they'll be pleased that their efforts don't go unnoticed.

We do have a hotel car park that has 20 spaces along with 4 charging bays that are available for anyone wanting to recharge their electric vehicles.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
797 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing