We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BRILLIANT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Morecambe Bay
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT”
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We transferred here as 'refugees' from another hotel we could not recommend and were impressed by Leanne who understood our plight and distress and went out of her way to ensure we were happpy with what The Royal could offer. The second floor suite with separate sitting room was everything we could have asked for.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    650
    512
    384
    520
See reviews for
488
1,208
51
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We booked 2 rooms, as we had a partially disabled friend with us. In our room (a double) there was a bedside cabinet which had a completely detached top, it fell off on day 1. The screws for it were in the drawer! We reported this, but it was ignored during our 4 night stay.
Our friend's room (a Single) had a toilet which would not flush efficiently. This was reported on the second day - again no response. He had to use the facilities in our room.
We thought the food was excellent, though the buffet breakfast had a serious downfall, there was always a queue of guests awaiting the arrival of toast to the buffet table.
Most hotels that operate buffet style breakfast, offer toasters at the buffet table, or you order your toast at the same time as tea or coffee.
Generally the restaurant staff were surly, and we were never greeted with a 'good morning' or any pleasantries.
On top of all this there is no really convenient car parking, and as we did enjoy Scarborough and the surrounding area, we would next time look to staying in say Malton and using the excellent Park and Ride.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I was given a free night away with my car insurance so chose this hotel as it seemed an ideal location. When we arrived we were quite impressed by the grand entrance and imposing features. There was a wait for the check in and on listening to the old dear operating reception i became a little un-nerved, she was quite abrupt with a customer who was enquiring over a room she thought she had pre-booked. When we had checked in we went to our room, and looking around we noticed the hotel needed a MASSIVE update, everything seemed tired and worse for wear. Our room was clean and tidy, but the bathroom needed a little attention, shower didn't work properly and the shower screen had soap scum around it as did the taps.
Later on in the evening we went into the Theatre Bar, we had drinks which were expensive and looking at the menu the prices were ridiculous £9.00 for an omlette?? Must have been made with golden eggs!!! The decor in there and the restaurant and the bar area needed attention too! On leaving we were again met by a very rude member of the reception staff, she was very rude to 1 man who was clearly having trouble using the chip and pin machine, and then off hand to another lady who complained about her room being dirty, she was then a little rude to us after we informed her that we had no remote control in our room. I think a little staff training in manners wouldn't go amiss!! It was ok for a free night but wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMFAN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Positives
The younger staff where full of charm and positivity the older ones [however] seemed quite care-less and flippant (I was later to find that this was the mindset of the whole of Scarborough; with the elders). There was plenty of breakfast food and nicely prepared. Our room [502, the Gordon Suite] had a lovely view and we could go out on the veranda for a lovely view and a breath of fresh air. Our personal dining room and living quarters was very adequate and relaxing. My same sex partner didn’t understand what the bags were for on the cistern All in all we had a lovely time.

Negatives
The hotel needed some TLC with its’ dirty nets in the corridors. And the room we were staying in needed some repairs doing to the damp damaged wallpaper over the radiator, bath and trouser press. The swimming pool was being repaired which was acceptable as it was ready the next day. But the changing room lockers were rusty and had no keys. And the steam rooms had created a lot of damage to the building; quite frankly I think they should get rid of them, unless they can keep up with the damage that they cause. We did expect complimentary toothpaste and shaving gel which wasn’t supplied. The bars expectations [dress and behaviour code] were too grand for the place and left it empty an unpopular. There was a wardrobe knob missing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robiegoldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2010

My daughter and I spent a weekend here and the atmosphere was definitely "end of season". We had booked a twin room and were given a double, so had to wait until the beds were changed. We were only left one set of towels, the toilet seat became detached when I sat on it, the soap dish fell off the wall when I used the shower. The slot to operate the heating was broken. There were no newspapers on sale in the foyer. In the leisure complex the spa pool was not working, in the first shower cubicle I tried the tap was broken off, and in the next one I could not turn the water off.
The poblems in the room were dealt with when I reported them, but nobody seemed very interested. At £130 a night I felt it was very poor value.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobcat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

stayed 2 nights..sweet wrapers in room from previous occupants,room was not cleaned when we were there,had to ask for clean towels,they tried to charge us for a bar bill we had not run up on departure,complained to manager,was as much use as an ash tray on a motorbike,window in room was unable to open more than an inch,what if there is a fire,totally over valued hotel,dont waste your money there must be better than this.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countryscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2010

when arriving to this hotel your not told you can stay out the front in the loading bay to unload and book in, all your told is there is no parking and you have to go to a n,c,p car park up the road and walk back.
£100 a night not a good start
the room was clean and had a view of the sea
good wifi if you need the internet
we had driven a long way so when we got there we were starving
come down to the bar for some light snacks and a drink
only to be told.. go to the shop next door as they don,t have any cooks.
thanks?
having a stunning staircase don,t make a good hotel
won,t go back, but made the best of it

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,752 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Property: Royal Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing