We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't believe the any negative reviews this place is 'Great value for money' .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
midlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Don't believe the any negative reviews this place is 'Great value for money' .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

The Royal is a tired but has great character, the sweeping stair case in the entrance hall is breath taking and one expects 'Poirot' to trot down the stairs! Our room was one of the superior rooms with a great sea view although tired, roomy and more than adequate. The down side of being on the front was that at 2/3am (closing time for clubs) it became very noisy and we did on both nights have broken sleep, something we hadn't thought about when wanting a sea view. Meals were timely and of good quality, the restaurant service was excellent and we were impressed to say the least. The breakfast however, was very disappointing as it's described as continental, this infact consisted of cereal and toast (no cheese or cold meats) and the cereal selection was poor so too was the fruit. This also was charged at a premium rate of £10.

On the whole a great relaxing stay and one to recommend

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelorMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    647
    508
    378
    516
See reviews for
479
1,198
50
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

Booked with Late Rooms and paid £40 per head for B & B so wasn't expecting much for such a good price. Was pleasantly surprised, the rooms were not refurbished and a bit tired but were very spacious and the beds were comfortable with crisp white cotton sheets. The "single" room had a king sized bed. Huge bathrooms with plenty of good sized and good quality towels. Twin room had a balcony overlooking St Nicholas Square and the cliff lift, single faced the town hall and suffered from seagull noise, late at night and early in the morning!

Breakfast in the huge dining room was very acceptable, buffet style, good quality and contrary to a previous review , included fresh mushrooms!

Service at reception and in the restaurant was excellent, I witnessed two members of staff showing great consideration to elderly guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorkellingpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for a two night break towards the end of June, at the weekend. The hotel was busy but not too busy. We took the fact that the hotel seemed popular as a good sign and weren't disappointed. Even in this busy summer weekend the staff had time to give us a friendly welcome and answer our questions about directions and getting around Scarborough etc. On such a short stay we didn't manage to take advantage of the gym, swimming pool etc, but it all looked great and we would stay for longer next time. The rooms were gorgeous and comfortable and the views out onto the seafront were beautiful. Would definitely reccommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

I like the small collection of hotels that English Rose boast, and since i love Scarborough too, i was keen to stay in all the different hotels to see if i had a favourite. Luckily, i have a lot of time on my hands when it comes to holidaying!

The first thing i noticed about the Royal Hotel Scarbborough is the impressive staircase that welcomes you as you step inside. It really is a feature of this hotel. Our room was named after Charles Laughton and had impressive views of the sea. The bedroom was cosy, not too big, but certainly enough room in which to move around.

Price wise, i couldnt ask for anything more - superb on all counts. Great value for money. A truly 1st class stay and recommended to all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lipglossandblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

lovely lobby. Receptionist was not the most helpful of people any of of the times I asked her anything. We arrived early and asked if we could leave the bags rather than bringing the car back round again. She said she would get one of the porters to put it in a safe place, when we came back three hours later it was still lying in the lobby. I enquired about the supposed discounted tariffs on the car park to which i was rather rudely told that the rates for the car park were alrerady discounted. I have a small child in a pushchair, when I got to the third floor I then had to lift the buggy up more steps and squeeze through three narrow doors. We did not stay for the evening meal as there was nothing to our taste on the menu. Whilst at the leisure complex i had to go to our room when i tried to return to the rest of my family I had to wait 15 minutes as the bell fell off the door when i pushed it and no one answered my knocks in the end I had to go up to reception to ask someonme to let me in. Only good thing about the hotel was the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Huddersfield
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

I stayed with my partner on the 15th May for two nights and had a pleasant experience.

The down-side,
Jacuzzi was broken on the second day but sauna and steam room were in working order so wasnt really a problem as i had already used the pool, food wasnt really my cup of tea i enjoyed the fish supper the second day more to be honest!

Plus:
Excellent views, value for money, pleasant staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuddersfieldRachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

We love Scarborough and have visited the Royal on and off for 26 years and during that time have enjoyed fantastic food, courteous staff and the children having fun in the pool. The faded glory of the hotel didn't matter because it had charm and atmosphere. We revisited recently with the now adult children and their partners and will categorically never return to the Royal. The pool and sauna weren't warm enough despite it being 4 in the afternoon and the pool attendant was either disinterested or unable to understand English judging by the shrugs of the shoulders and the blank looks. We went down for our meal but none of the staff had warned us that there was a football function on in the main dining room (yes unfortunatley it was the night of England v USA) so we meandered in the direction of the pointing forefinger of the desk staff to be met by a barely English speaking waiter who on being asked about our table for 9 said ' must see supervisor' and rushed off. Once eventually sat at our table we waited interminably for a waitress but it certainly wasn't worth the wait. It is so sad to think that on one of my visits I had the most exquisite musroom risotto I've ever eaten but was now witnessing tinned mushrooms appearing in the sauce and on the breakfast menu. Since when do you order steak and nobody asks how you want it cooking and since when does 5 peoples steaks all look exactly the same size and shape? Having previously nipped across the road to another hotel to ask about using their car park and being greeted by a very helpful member of staff it looks like the Palm Court Hotel could be our next visit. It would appear that the Royal is now just a coach trip machine and the delicious cuisine and comforting atmosphere is now a thing of the past...how sad.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teapotsDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,623 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Property: Royal Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing