We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Myself and my daughter and son visiyed in august very old hotel but very nice place to stay. close to everything staff friendly 3 course evening meal was very nice breakfast was also nice. Only fault was we had a lexx room which was two single beds pushed together so a camp bed could be put up for my son but to tell you truth it was awful the mattress was terrible I had to put extra covers on to plump it up and we didn't have no space to get to the dressing table.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank halfpint123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,430)
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,184 - 1,190 of 2,430 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, family of 3. Last minute break and this was one of the only hotels available. Now I know why. Paid £359 for 3 nights inc breakfast. This hotel is in very poor condition. Shabby decoration, Threadbare carpets, Filthy windows. Obnoxious, jaded staff. The lack of any investment in this place is glaringly obvious.
Our room had windows so filthy you could write your name in them. The bathroom had several smashed floor tiles, the shower head was black with filth and leaking so badly hardly any water was coming out to shower with. The floor of the bedroom was at such an angle that a football would roll from one side to the other on its own !. The bedside lights were falling off and had a melted lampshade.
Breakfast was a self service affair after a 10 min wait to be seated. Food was hot but of poor quality. Hash browns and black pudding all dried out under the heat lamps, very salty bacon, cheap sausages. The dining room had filthy windows and one was smashed next to where we sat. I cant comment on the evening meal as we did not want to dine at the hotel.
We had to pay extra to use the swimming pool in the basement leisure centre. What a joke. This strange underground place with no natural light had a tiny pool. The whole place had a mouldy damp musty smell and was awful. My 9 year old son thought it was like the penguins house at sea life centre except he was the penguin!
No way we would stay here again., the most disappointing hotel stay we have had in the UK ever. Vastly overpriced.
Wished we would have stayed at the Premier Inn a few doors away which was spotless. Guess you live and learn.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leylandlynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This trip was booked by my elderly mother in law for a family get together. She booked 4 rooms in total for 2 nights costing approx £1200. To say this hotel does not represent value for money in an understatement. Where to begin? We had 4 children in our party of 11 - apparently their breakfast was not included and had to be paid for separately. It also costs extra to use the pool or spa. Non of this would have been too much of an issue (annoying but not an issue!) apart from the shambolic state of the hotel. It is filthy and it is years of dirt, not just one cleaner that may be a bit remiss. The net curtains are grey and moldy and when you look behind them you cant see through the windows for the dirt. It was irrelevant that our sea view was almost around the corner - you couldn't see it anyway. The damp patches on the wall were a particularly attractive feature, to say nothing of the threadbare carpets, the very uncomfortable beds with springs sticking through and the towels that were the size of a tea towel and see through. The whole hotel needs closing and a complete refurbishment carrying out. The breakfast is appalling, the very cheapest of ingredients cooked badly. The only redeeming feature to this hotel was the staff as the ones I came across were very helpful - although I'm told by others in our party that their experience was not the same. It seems that the aim of this hotel is to get as much money out of the customer whilst giving zero in return. Go at your own risk!!!

Room Tip: No good rooms - don't go
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Braz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Hotel excellent, didn't realise you had to pay for the pool, glad we didn't as on inspection a complete waste of time as you couldn't swim. Ok for little kids to splash around in. Staff 1 particular receptionist very arrogant, need more staff like Philip as he was more old school and very knowledgeable and attentive, dining room staff need to know more about meals being served, but in general the staff need better training. It's supposed to be a 4 star hotel?

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a 2 night Superbreaks deal.
The good point is it's location - right on the front across the road from the steps down to the seafront. The room was ok in the way of facilities - extra pillows & blankets, ironing board, hair dryer, tv, tea & coffee facilities, massive bathroom with bath & shower. The reception area in the hotel is very impressive lovely winding staircases & chandeliers hanging, however as soon as you leave reception you reach the old worn carpets, threadbare in areas, my heel even got stuck in one part I sunk into. The corridor floors all slope off on different levels you feel like your walking up & down hill. The furnishing in the rooms was dated & worn, the room needed decorated badly damp patches on the ceiling & dirty marks on the walls. The breakfast was like stepping back in time it was help yourself buffet style, there were 2 different cereals not much if your trying to be healthy a couple of pots of yoghurt. Other than that it was just the full cooked breakfast on both mornings they ran out of plates & we had to queue up & wait. They ran out of bacon, the beans were cold as were the eggs but the toast was fine ;-)
Really this was a last minute cheap weekend away & for what we paid it was acceptable but you definitely wouldn't come here for a special occasion, it's a shame as it looks like it was a good hotel in its day but unfortunately that was some time ago.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank TinkerBell26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed here for four nights. Payed for a sea view room which was lovely, Art Deco style, large with big windows overlooking the sea front and harbour. It was called The Windsor Room.
Unfortunately the extractor fan in the internal windowless bathroom didn't work, the towel radiator which was on full heat made the bathroom and bedroom unbearably stuffy during a spell of warm weather. There was NO window which could be opened and no draft coming through paint sealed windows.The room was pleasantly sunny but unfortunately made it feel even more like an unvented greenhouse. We resorted to opening the room door which opened onto the beautiful stairwell in order to attempt to get a draft of cooler air. There was no stopper in the washbasin and two bulbs not working in the ceiling light which made the room lighting rather dim when we had the curtains closed. We reported these maintenance issues to reception as we thought they would appreciate knowing. when we left the hotel nothing had been done. To turn the bathroom radiator off we were advised to turn the spur switch off which was one of three above the bathroom door. We did this by standing on a chair. Not what you expect to have to do in a hotel
This lack of care and maintenance is echoed throughout the hotel which is such a shame. Light bulbs needing replacement, light fittings askew. Crystal chandeliers in disarray What is the matter with you Britannia? Such a beautiful place but so lacking. is it shortage of staff, funds,or bad management?
We were woken each morning just after 7am by builders refurbishing the room below. After the first noisy awakening reception assured us that the builders were not meant to start work so early and it would not happen again-well it did-every morning just after 7am!
The Prince Regent Room is a very grand beautiful lounge/ballroom room which has a large patio area off, overlooking the sea front. The table and chairs set out are unused on a daily basis because most guests do not know it is there and there is no one manning the bar to serve refreshments if you are sat in the room or on the patio. However the area is well used by the sea gulls who have peacefully built their nests in the hotel walls surrounding the patio..
In the room is beautiful glass covered wooden inlaid table. Unfortunately no one is bothered about the water which is laying between the glass and the table top. I assume the room is kept for use when there is a wedding at the hotel.
The nightly entertainment is in our opinion very good but repetitive, Perhaps Mark the singer should go on X- Factor and the Cheeky Scottish guitar singer would do well on Britain's Got Talent?
Breakfast can be a feast if you want to indulge. EVERYTHING is available, the bacon is excellent as long as you're not faced with the rejected last fatty bits in the dish before it is refilled. Evening dinner is usually a choice of starter then mains giving a choice of a fish dish, vegetarian and two meat dishes followed by a choice of deserts. All were perfectly cooked, nothing too fancy or spicy but flavoursome and of good portion size and quality. Service can be slow.
Parking is a major problem for guests. The hotel has no available parking facility at all. Drop off/pick up only. Parking can be found if available on a daily basis on selected local streets or NCP/Council car parks for a fee or purchased permit. The hotel can provide a council parking permit for £3 a day in selected street parking areas space allowing..

Room Tip: Get full details from reception before booking
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sunries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

be aware, guests have to pay to use the tiny pool, no room to swim properly;
no sun loungers around the pool as on photo on the internet;
leaking water through the ceiling in the basement pool;
2 light bulbs missing from the ceiling lights in bedroom;
thinnest toilet paper ever;
slowest shower;
ceiling wallpaper peeling off in the bedroom;
windows crumbling and the room view to the inner hotel windows is dire, what a mess;
corridor carpets ill fitted, ruffled in the centre walkways;
ate in the lounge bar which was fine but they dont serve desserts, just a main meal which disappointed my grandson;
dried egg on the breakfast plates;
all in all a shabby hotel which needs a very good refurbishment, would never stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,907 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $69 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing