We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but lacklustre customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We originally had a booking with the Grand Hotel, Scarborough but they "upgraded" us to the Royal Hotel due to non-availability of rooms. Not much of an upgrade with regards to room quality. It seemed like they had partial renovations on and the passageway between our room and the main stairway had a weird smell.
The rooms were spacious, but a few things in the bathroom wouldn't work like the shower needed quite a bit of working-on before they got running and the toilet roll holder was located on the floor. The buffet dinner and breakfast was decent though the long queues really tested one's patience.
The location is what saves it since it overlooks the sea side and is close to the pick=up point for the hop-on-hop-off bus services on the beach.

Room Tip: Call ahead to confirm the room booking since the hotels in the area seem to over book and shuffle cu...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NihalM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for your time in posting your comments,
Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,432)
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,423 - 1,429 of 2,432 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We booked into this hotel for 2 nights on 27th October to celebrate our wedding anniversary. When we arrived, we were told that there was a 'problem' with our room and that we had been transferred to the Mount Hotel. I asked what the 'problem' was but the receptionist did not answer my question. We were sent off in the direction of the Mount Hotel, no map was provided and we were unable to find the hotel. We returned to the Royal Hotel to complain about the poor customer service and the fact that they had not provided a map to help us find the alternative hotel. We told the receptionist that we did not want to be trailing round Scarborough with our luggage trying to find a hotel and that we wanted assistance from a porter. The receptionist replied with 'Oh, I did not realise that you had any luggage'. Very strange response, considering we were on a weekend break. The only thing this hotel did right was to provide a porter who took us on foot to the Mount Hotel and helped us with our luggage. Our move to the Mount Hotel turned out to be a blessing in disguise as it was much nicer than the Royal Hotel. We later found out that the Royal Hotel have a policy of overbooking their rooms, and then transferring guests to other hotels. So you need to be aware of this if you decide to book this hotel - you may find that you are staying somewhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback. I would like to sincerely apologise for the service you received in the hotel and will address this with our team. I was sorry too, that not everything went according to plan during your experience at the hotel and will certainly investigate the issues raised with our team.

Please be assured that this is not our usual standard of customer service and look forward to having the opportunity of restoring your faith in our hotel once again.

Please contact me personally when booking your next stay and I will certainly do what I can to enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

It's quite a few years since we last stayed here, and were looking forward to returning.
Our room was on the third floor, and quite spacious, we also visited other rooms that people in our group were staying in , and they too had decent sized rooms. At first glance the rooms looked very nice, however on closer inspection, lots of things needed attention, we couldn't get the shower to work, the loo roll holder was in the cupboard under the sink, managed to get the t.v on once .
Because we were in quite a large group, it had been arranged for us to have our evening meal at 6.00 pm . There was also an even larger group of people staying here as well , and they should have been in at 6.30 pm, but they decided to enter the dining room at the same time as us , which caused utter chaos, as all the food was serve yourself , there were queues all over the place, and it took ages for us to get our meals, however the manager spoke to us later and apologised for the dining room disaster, and assured us it would not happen the following night. It didn't, we entered the dining room at our allotted time, and although a small group of people also decided to enter, they were told that their time was 6.30 and to come back then, and this time, things ran like clockwork....so thanks for that . As for the food , there were 3 or more choices, hot , and plenty of, breakfast was the same. The staff that we encountered were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirecherub_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at The Royal for two nights and found reception awash with angry grandads as there seemed to have been a glitch with the central booking system....it was complaint carnage...and made us wonder how the poor reception staff cope with such verbal lashings from dissatisfied customers on a daily basis? We were allocated a room by the calm and cheerful Lyndsay and true, we looked at three different rooms before we settled for one on the top floor but at least we asked politely for something better...the first room had scaffolding directly outside the window (not mentioned at time of booking), the second only had a shower and a bed wedged against a wall but the third felt much more up to date and clean, with views over the rooftops of Scarborough. The two day stay was characterised by angry elderly residents haranguing the reception staff at all hours - clearly if you come to The Royal you have to be in complaint mode in order to fit in...but we had a nice time. Great lounge area, comfortable room and much hilarity watching OAPS complain about literally everything...our only gripe was breakfast bedlam on day two. If you want something cheap, slightly jaded and long for raised voices in reception, then The Royal is the hotel for you...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mulmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

If, like me , you booked through a booking agent and paid less than £30 for a night bed and breakfast whilst away on business you did OK -- even though in my room (232) the ceiling was dropping in and the toilet seemed to slowly flush all night !
Any more than that, or more than one night, then it would have been "goodnight Vienna".
I came down to the bar at 6.25pm to find about 40 people waiting for the dining room to open. Looking at the age i took advantage of one of the two Italian restaurants 150 yards either side of the hotel.
The staff try hard but this place needs a fortune spending to bring it into the 20th century, let alone the 21st !
Perhaps i am too young to stay there, but if you are 75 or over you will probably be happy enough

Room Tip: screw them down for a good deal
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The location was great, staff are excellent - however both the decor and menu seem to be out of the 1970's, if you like sucking your "grey" veg through a straw you will get on great here, this could be due to the average age of 70+ and the need for dentures. Spa walls are a must see. Have been put off Frank Sinatra for life - its all thats piped ALL day aaaaghhh.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We were due to visit this hotel with 3 other couples in August to celebrate a 60th birthday. The booking was cancelled the day before we were going to go and transferred to the Grand hotel. A plumbing problem!! This seems to be a regular excuse to overbook the Royal and transfer guests at short notice to the Grand. Beware!! We said we did not wish to transfer and wanted our money back. Despite an email and a formal letter to the manager at the hotel we got nothing back and did not even get the courtesy of a reply to the email or letter. Eventually I spoke to Groupon who were excellent and gave us a refund immediately and a full apology.
I was so disgusted with the lack of response from the Royal that I wrote to Britannia hotels head office and was amazed I did not even get a response from them. I have never known a major company behave in this way and would advise extreme care when dealing with them. Their customer service is beyond belief.

Stayed: August 2013
2  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback. I would like to sincerely apologise for the service you received in the hotel and will address this with our team. I was sorry too, that not everything went according to plan during your experience at the hotel and will certainly investigate the issues raised with our team.

Please be assured that this is not our usual standard of customer service and look forward to having the opportunity of restoring your faith in our hotel once again.

Please contact me personally when booking your next stay and I will certainly do what I can to enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,909 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $66 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing