We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So much character”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed at the royal 2 nights may 17/18th, wasn't,t really sure what to expect as the reviews were so much like marmite,love it or hate it! We arrived no probs, I had put a request in for some of the refurbished rooms as we had booked 4 rooms, but sadly we didn,t get them,so I was worried when we went to our family room,expect the worst and anything. Better is a bonus,we were really surprised, it was a little Art Deco,massive bed for us and a seperate little bedroom for the 2 boys, it was clean, and really roomy,had a sofa and 2 bucket chairs in as well! The hotel is the hotel itself was a little tired but the character of the hotel just totally makes your jaw drop, it was like stepping back a couple of hundred years,I loved it, Britannia haven,t started a major refurb yet(so we were told by a staff member) so when they do I hope it is sympathetic to the building, cos its wonderful,we found the prince regent room upstairs and fell for it straight away and it's roof top veranda, the staff were all friendly and helpful especially Scottish Keith in the dining room,who nothing was too much trouble,and witty with it! The food was really tasty,and well presented, the only downfall was that the bar was a little expensive,another treat was as we were checking out we asked if any of the large suites were empty if we could take a look at them, and to our delight we were given a tour of 3 suites an they were absolutley fantastic, loved the one that winston Churchill stayed in,and the gentleman that escorted us also gave us a bit of history on the royal!,so thank you royal hotel! So if ever you fancy a reasonable priced break do try the royal,book half board cos the food is really good!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janetkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    661
    523
    399
    551
See reviews for
515
1,245
51
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

At the end of the day we all stay in hotels to have a good nights sleep, and maybe breakfast. If that's what you are looking for then the Royal is for you. It has a bed, and it does breakfast.

Cleanliness is left to be desired. The hotel is very worn in and is in desperate need of a refurb.

If you have a really good immune system and are not too scared of bodily fluids take a dip in the "pool" be warned it costs £2.50 to hotel residents. And is about as big as my bath at home. (I have a small bath)

Breakfast was really average, and be warned pick your plate up with 70 napkins, or you will suffer terrible burns - I compared the plates to being as hot as the gates of hell.

All in all I feel it was an average stay but the uncleanliness and the "pool" really let the hotel down from and average mark. Poor suits it better.

Room Tip: There's a travel lodge around the corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at the Royal this year. It wasn't too bad. I think it all depends on how lucky you are with the bedroom you are given as they significantly differ in size and quality. This time we had a reasonable room, bit jaded but the price reflected this. We paid £45 per night for two with a very hearty breakfast. It was a lot cheaper than the neighbouring Travelodge and Premier Inn and their prices did not include breakfast.I wish Brittania Hotels good luck with the project and hope that they have the financial capacity to fully refurbish this beautiful building. I will stay again as I am sentimental about "The Royal"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eap1186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Been here many times before, ended up with a really good room, the staff are fantastic nothing ever too much trouble, so helpful made me feel at home! The meals are really good and I can only say that it is getting better every time I visit. What a lovely hotel to stay in, full of grandeur with an excellent homely feel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonikb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

after reading reviews we were a bit dubious about this hotel and had decided we would not stay after making this booking but we had no need to worry. to our surprise the staff were great and friendly. the room was large with a sea view over the bay, large bathroom,big tv,and even a trouser press and fridge.breakfast was adequate you would not go hungry something for everone. we went sat. and sunday night, there was entertainment on the sat. only, was quite good. the lounge was spacious clean and comfortable. overall the hotel is in need of a bit of TLC but for the price we paid it was excellent value for money,we booked through britainnia and travelled on 20th april. we will definitely return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p_smithie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

A tired exterior belies the sweeping staircase that greats the guest when entering the hotel. Sadly close inspection reveals that the stair carpet is quite warn in places. Our room was a great disappointment as it was obviously a single room (confirmed by a single size headboard) into which they had squeezed a double bed. It was difficult to move around the room and I was puzzled as to why they had put an ironing board in the room as it would have been impossible to put it up and use it. Had we being staying more that 2 nights we would have had to ask for a bigger room. I would guess that the shortage of staff was an attempt to balance the books and service was, as a consequence, slow. Breakfast is buffet style and both mornings guests were waiting by the hotplates for the food dishes to be refilled. The two coach loads guests added to the strain on the staff in the dining room and there were many discontented guests at dinner. I overheard a few say that they would not be returning. Sad but so many English hotels have a lot to learn about service

Room Tip: If you want a double make sure it is a proper double not a single with a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JANICE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotelstaff were friendly and helpful however in the dinning room it was very understaffed and you had long wait between courses.Hotel is old but very attractive. Arrived 4pm no heat in room and it was cold they brought portable heater which did help,the room heating was turned on 5 hours later and was on for only 90 mins then off all night again. In a hotel of this class heating shoud be available when cold outside as required. Room was ok but very worn and shower badley stained chair filthy not up to a decent standard. It is ok if you pay a low rate but as it is usually quite expensive you can find much better value for money with all the hotels in scarborough and keep warm.Overall not the best.

Room Tip: many room face inward with terrable depressing view and room that face road can be noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scooby211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,869 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
895 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Property: Royal Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing