We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fawlty towers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed May 9, 2013

just had 2 days in the royal after being over booked at the clifton was supposed to have a sea view if you have a neck like a giraffe your ok which i paid extra for at the clifton.the night porter a little bald man was moaning about serving behind the bar and took it out on the customers rudest person ive ever met.breakfast was like fawlty towers they run out of everything from clean plates to bread there is no organisation at all my 3 year old grandson cud do better and to top it all you have to pay £2,50 pp to use the pool disgusting i ll never go bk there

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mick1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,432)
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,606 - 1,612 of 2,432 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

we have stayed several times over the years at this hotel. when under English Rose. Our room was very nice and clean. The downside was the breakfast. We had to wait to be shown to our tables for a good 5 minutes. no staff to be seen. We had to queue for a while for the self service breakfast due to 5 bus tours staying .Had to wait for milk both mornings. Weetabix were unwrapped and uncovered in a bowl ,no tongs with the bread or toast, and the jam was in a margarine tub with one spoon for everyone to touch... most unhygienic. Standards seem to have slipped since changeover to Britannia. You need to ask at reception for a 10% discount car parking card for the NCP car park.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RROBERTS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just returned from a two night B/H weekend break at the Royal.
Wasn't what I would call spectacular.
However fantastic stair case on entry very oldie worldly.
The hotel is very tired and could with a bit of a make over, can not complain about the size of our room, requested a sea view and we got a sea view. Very difficult to get into our room as the lock was very dodgy, had to really jiggle the key and was in fear the key would snap every time we entered the room. Beds very uncomfortable but adequate, shower head was very rusty and the bath was rusty around the plug hole, bathroom sink plug hole broken, my husband fixed it. Amenities in the room very adequate flat screen TV, iron and board, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities, so can't complain about that.
Breakfast was plentiful and very hot, coffee was awful but that is personal choice.
Spa facilities YUK and even as a paying guest you have to pay admission, doesn't break the bank at £2.50 but leaves a lot to be desired enough said.
Staff, not enough them and they are over worked, in particular the bar staff, only one person serving and he was covering two bars, poor lad. Didn't feel that this hotel was value for more, but it is in a very good position close to all the amenities for the south bay.
Would I stay again???? only if the price was reduced thought £133.00 was a bit much after staying there as the web site paints a different picture, as we have stayed in cheaper in hotels in Scarborough that have been a lot more modern.

Room Tip: ask for sea view and on the corner and high floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesley0360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We visited in April 2013 for a weekend. It was a Groupon deal and we worked out that it cost us £42 each for bed and breakfast and evening meal for one of the nights. The hotel looks quite grand when you walk in and we had no complaints except we ran out of hot water on night two. The service in the restaurant was poor. Otherwise all was fine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueC023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break at The Royal Hotel in Scarborough. First impressions of this Hotel were very promising. It has a lovely 1930's style sweeping staircase. The check in was very efficient, however, when we got to room we were very disapointed. The bed was pushed up against the wall and this was obviously a single room with a double bed. The decoration was very poor and shabby. We requested an upgrade (for which were willing to pay) but were told that the hotel was full. On the plus side the bar staff were very good. The food in the resturant was quite good but the service was very slow. The bed was very uncomfortable which was not helped by being pushed against the wall. We decided to check out after the first night. When asked by the receptionist why we were checking out early I told her I was disappointed with the room. She said she was sorry but did not ask what the problem was with the room.
* The bedhead attached to the wall was for a single bed
* The pelmet for the curtains was not attached properly and the curtains were not hung properly
* The fabric on the easy chair in the room was torn
* The border for the wallpaper was torn in two places
* The wallpaper was clearly very old and had not been replaced for a number of years

In summary, my wife and I have enjoyed many weekends away at various hotels in the UK and this is the first time we have had to cut short our stay. We have been married for 45 years - need I say more!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skmfltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed overnight on a travelzoo promotional offer of £69 for two, b&b and evening meal with a bottle of wine and free use of leisure facilities.
It all sounded too good to be true, what would be the catch?
When we arrived, the hotel looked faded from the outside, so we thought that's it, it is past its best. Wrong! On entering we were confronted with a magnificent staircase, complete with sparkling chandelier overhead and to the sides were modern, roomy bar lounges.
So we thought, the room will be pokey. Wrong again! It was extremely spacious and included a sofa opposite the flat screen tv. The decor was smart and modern and clearly the room had been recently refurbished. The bed could have slept 4 in comfort, it was so large.
After my wife's free swim that just left the food where things could go wrong, but they didn't. There was ample choice from the main menu and everything was very tasty, particularly when considering the numbers being catered for. Nor was the wine the "plonk" we half expected, it was a good standard Pinot Grigio.
After a good night's sleep we knew by this time that breakfast would be fine, and it was; a typical buffet with plenty of choice.
Service throughout was friendly and attentive and efficient despite it being very busy (at these prices it's hardly surprising!).
All in all, a terrific deal, with no catch at all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikebutler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

when you walk in you can see the place needs some T L C . stayed 3 nights in a family room with our 3 yr old granson room was a good size bed matteris was very poor cheap did not get much sleep. had a broken window with pane of glass one side with nothing holding it in and was very worried with small child it would come out and hurt him , told two staff about the problem did not seem to care.apart from that the food was good in the evening and at breakfast ,drinks were a good price. so i would say if you can get this hotel at a good price and are not expecting the world at a nock down price you will be ok.stayed in room 528 family room had a good view of harbour.I WAS LIKE A LOT OF PEOPLE AND NEARLY LET REVIEWS PUT ME OFF THIS IS THE SECOND HOTEL IN THIS CHAIN I HAVE BEEN TO AND HAVE BEEN HAPPY WITH BOTH

Room Tip: room 528 good for family view of harbour
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arthur144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,909 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $66 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing