We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Nearby Hotels
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
$198
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
$180
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
$125
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mount Hotel(Scarborough)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
$109
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,595)
Filter reviews
2,595 results
Traveler rating
297
707
558
427
606
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
707
558
427
606
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplenty of hot waterplenty of choicesea fronttown centrefull englishseafront
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,953 - 1,958 of 2,595 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Don't pay until you have seen you're room. The higher the floor you are,the dirtier it gets according to other people staying. Staff nice..... Friendly.... Good breakfast. WILL NOT BE STAYING THERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nevets45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a well placed hotel in the centre of Scarborough.
It is owned by Britannia Hotels who also own the Grand Hotel which is about 100yards away.Of the two hotels I prefer the Royal as it has a better atmosphere. The first impression that you find on entering is a magnificent staircase.
The rooms are adequate. The rooms at the front, which have a sea view, can be quite noisy at night so if you have good hearing or a light sleeper ask for a room at the back.
The restaurant serves very good food by waiter service. It is unusual as all the waiting staff are British. The buffet style breakfast is also very good. The waiting staff are all very friendly if you take the time to talk to them
The hotel does have several coach loads of people arriving so avoid eating at the same time as them. Reception will let you know the best time.
The hotel has a happy hour, from 12.00pm to 6.00pm (yes it is 6 hours) when beer, sprits and wine are reduced prices, just over £2. If you want to save a few pence the Grand Hotel's Happy Hour is slightly cheaper but only by about 20p.
The white and rose wine is a little tasteless but the red wine (Merlot), spirits and beer (Tetley's Smooth) is OK.
The rooms are good but not all the floors are level so you can feel that you have had too much too drink when you haven't. You soon get used to it though.
The pool is interesting as it is quite small and looks like a grotto.Would I go back and stay, yes I would but I would have a room at the rear of the hotel in one of the corridors, avoid the rooms that overlook the stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back for quietness and ensure that is is not too near to the main staircase
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank purpletravelat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

just a quick review of the royal hotel after reading many negative reviews my wife and i were a bit wary of this hotel but we were very pleasantly surprised at the warm welcome we received and our room which had a sea view was lovely with a settee and the food was very good as was the staff especially in the restaurant they were all attentative and friendly the hotel is wearing out a bit and the owners will have to renovate soon but over all we really enjoyed our stay there and would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: we had room 311
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 89maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have just returned from a two night Travelzoo deal at The Royal Hotel, Scarborough. The first thing you see as you enter is the wonderful 'Cinderella' like double staircase. Looking up, you find yourself in the atrium immediately. You can see how lavish it was. I absolutely loved the view of the different balconies and the giant chandellier hanging down in the centre. Every time we went up and down the stairs I had to stop and take it all in. The large lounge and dining rooms were also pleasant. The food was fantastic, so much choice and beautifully presented. The staff were very pleasant and most obliging. Our room was a little tired, but spotless, as was everywhere else that we saw. I was totally fascinated by the place and will definitely go back when we get some decent weather, as it was in an excellent position, with a lovely view over the sea and the town shops accessed round the corner of the hotel.

Room Tip: We did peep into a sea view room, when it was being cleaned. This was much more to my taste, attractively furnished and more modern, but we were on a deal in a standard room. Next time I will pay for a sea view room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twoturners14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a super hotel this is. Still has all the grandeur of days gone by. Our room was spacious and clean though. Comments on trip adviser suggest rotting paintwork etc. We did have a little neglect in the room but did not affect us enough to move rooms. We liked the hotel so much we decided to book another two nights. Our new room was fabulous. Large with leather chairs, plasma tv, fire place. We negotiated this with reception - who were very helpful.
There was a gem of a room upstairs called the Prince Regent Room which led to the outside terrace. It was like out of a stately home, lovely carpet and furniture. There was damp damage on the walls but this is an old building so you must expect these things.
The restaurant and food were fabulous. Great choice and cooked well.
We spoke to someone who was not happy with their room but would not complain till their departure and said they would never return. What a shame as their stay would have been much better if they had let the company know and could have had the problem rectified. We found members of staff were great too. We cant wait to rebook next year.
The swimming pool was nice and sauna although the hot tub and steam room were not working but believe it is all due a refirb soon

Room Tip: Book direct with hotel and ask for one.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EdwinaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews