We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Boston Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boston Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Hi stayed at this great hotel from the 23rd of July for four nights we ha room 17 and my parents had room 16 the view was amazing !!!! its the first time we have stayed here but we will be back.
The food was fantastic and homemade and plenty of it they staff were lovely a real family run hotel.
Entertaiment was good bingo was good there was a coach full of scottish people what lovely friendly people we will back next year we have found a hidden gem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    68
    18
    6
    11
See reviews for
29
63
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was a 4night visit with a coach party and I can saywithout doubt this was the best hotel I have stayed in on a coach holiday. The room was comfortable with a superb view overlooking. North Bay. But it was the excellent dining faciities 5 course meal including some home cooked dishes and vegetables. The staff were very helpful when left my key in the room a member climbed the stairs to get the key .All in all a very good break

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank walter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Travelled with David Urquhart from East Anglia to the Boston hotel from 9th to 13th July 2012.
We had a very pleasant stay and met some nice fellow travellers.

The hotel is based in North Bay, which is very quiet, it does not take long to walk to South Bay where there is everything you need. Scarborough Harbour too is within easy walking distance.

There was entertainment 2 nights, bingo on the third. The food was good and plentiful, drinks very reasonably priced. The staff helpful and friendly.

We found nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NorfolkLassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ayrshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Me and my partner went on a mystert bargain weekend with David Urduhart,this where we ended up we had a great time done a lot of walking.Hotel,staff,food all in was good.We were in room 14 it was fab veiw of the sea,would defo go again.

Room Tip: Room 14 great veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElyandDavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterlee, Co. Durham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Returned to the Boston with our group of 50 every one totally satisfied could not fault anything a great family run hotel, nothing is too much trouble for them any thing you asked for was done without any problems, would definitely recommend and we will be returning again in the fuure

Room Tip: all rooms are nice if you have disability problems ask for a room just out of the lift they will all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geordie075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I was very impressed with the Boston Hotel. The staff, especially the manager Andrew, and Martin who waited on my table, couldn't have been more friendly or helpful if they'd tried. The food was excellent and expertly cooked.

Being a solo traveller with a coach tour, I asked for a single room, which was only an extra £15 - not the usual £70-£80+. My room(no.1) was clean and comfortable, as was the rest of the hotel.

I would certainly go back there again and recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Giu55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We travelled in a party of 36 people organised by David Urquart Tours visiting Whitby, York and staying at the Boston Hotel Scarborourgh. First impressions were not good because the hotel is located a long way from the town centre. It is on top of a hill with too many steps to negotiate at the front door. We were greeted by the hotel management and given keys at the foot of the stairs. There is no desk at reception!

We were directed to the lift which was said to carry four people. (They would have to be very slim) The lift had no internal doors - only an alarm should you go too close to the entrance whilst it is moving

Upon arrival at room 21 we entered and found that there was little room for our sutcases. During our stay, we had problems with the plumbing. Turning the taps off on the handbasin was an ordeal. Releasing water out of the handbasin caused water and an inky black slime to come up through the shower drain.

Mugs were not cleaned during the daily service. Also note that any additional coffee/tea sachets had to be paid for.

Room Tip: Avoid room 21 although the sea view was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank balmorallothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,788 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.6 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#18 of 28 in Scarborough
65 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel

Property: Boston Hotel
Address: 1-2 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing