We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring into Scarborough”
Review of Boston Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boston Hotel
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We travelled in a party of 36 people organised by David Urquart Tours visiting Whitby, York and staying at the Boston Hotel Scarborourgh. First impressions were not good because the hotel is located a long way from the town centre. It is on top of a hill with too many steps to negotiate at the front door. We were greeted by the hotel management and given keys at the foot of the stairs. There is no desk at reception!

We were directed to the lift which was said to carry four people. (They would have to be very slim) The lift had no internal doors - only an alarm should you go too close to the entrance whilst it is moving

Upon arrival at room 21 we entered and found that there was little room for our sutcases. During our stay, we had problems with the plumbing. Turning the taps off on the handbasin was an ordeal. Releasing water out of the handbasin caused water and an inky black slime to come up through the shower drain.

Mugs were not cleaned during the daily service. Also note that any additional coffee/tea sachets had to be paid for.

Room Tip: Avoid room 21 although the sea view was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank balmorallothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 177 of 177 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2011

Took a group of friends for a holiday break to this hotel, every thing was great, the home made meals were really good and nothing was a trouble to any of the hotel staff, they made everyone feel at home all of our party want to go back again soon that speaks for itself

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Geordie075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

A midweek tour with Urquharts took us to the Boston Hotel, a splendid 30 bedroomed hotel. with excellent views overlooking the North Bay. Whilst our bedroom on the top (3rd) floor faced inland , it was comfotable and adequate for four days.. However, plumbing noise from adjoining bedrooms during the night was slightly disturbing. The kitchen staff worked hard to provide high class meals, which were served promptly by the waiters/waitresses. Having to provide over fifty meals in one sitting is no mean feat! Light entertainment (music or bingo) was provided on three evenings. Everyone connected with the hiotel was very friendly and we were made to feel most welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Edinburghseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Great views over the North Bay. Easy walk to South Bay and harbour, Peasholm Park and narrow gauge railway whose terminus is within a stones throw of Sea Life Centre. Room clean and comfortable with great sea view. All staff very friendly and helpful. Coped with our vegetarian requests without fuss or bother although we were part of a large coach pary. Large helpings of good home cooking . Breakfast was at 0830, not buffet but served to you. My wife and I would personally have preferred an earlier breakfast ( especially as it was 0800 on the last day of our holiday) . A good old fashioned, in the nicest possible way, family run Hotel which we would be happy to return to or recommend to friends

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank veggie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We spent 4 nights at the Boston with a group on a coach holiday. The view is magnificent from sea-view rooms. The food was excellent, with a limited choice - all hot food is piping hot, which is very rare nowadays. The dining room staff are very pleasant and attentive. Service is prompt and smooth running. We were in a small room on the third floor, accessible by lift -as are all rooms.. The only drawback was the small size of the bathroom, which can only be described as "cramped". However for a few days this is manageable. The lounge and bar area are comfortable with a large TV in the lounge and good seating in the bar. We would certainly return to this hotel for a few days in Scarborough.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view with bay window - it is one of the best views in Yorkshire
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank bagpackers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

At this hotel with family,17th December 2010, traveled with David Urquhart. Hotel is right on top of cliffs, clean, good room, and the other two rooms that the family had were great with the best sea view ever.As it was a turkey and tinsel we had a Christmas dinner,this with five other course's. The meal was great, and served promtly, and was hot. The entertainment was, ok one night ,and good on the second night. Over all the hotel was just great, and I am certainly going again. Book early as I think this one will fill up quickly.
I think prices are about £29-00 BB, and £40-00 half board, that is going private, give it a try.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank BILLYCo_Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.8 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,543 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,297 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel

Address: 1-2 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing